Customer Reviews for

Awakening

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

A fascinating glimpse into a world that is past -- a world that was on the brink of change. Even if this were not a gripping story in its own right (which, by all means, it is), "The Awakening" would be worth reading simply for this social-historical vision.
This editi...
A fascinating glimpse into a world that is past -- a world that was on the brink of change. Even if this were not a gripping story in its own right (which, by all means, it is), "The Awakening" would be worth reading simply for this social-historical vision.
This edition of The Awakening is a beautifully compiled work. I found it incredibly insightful as I used it for research papers in high school and college. The essays and criticism from Chopin's era are priceless. It was so helpful to have those along with the text, they really gave insight one could not find elsewhere. The Awakening continues to be my favorite book, this my favorite edition. If you are going to write a paper on this book or Chopin there is no other book that will help you more. This was a shocking novel in 1899 but today Pontellier's turmoil and dilemma would be neither unusual nor frightening and perhaps that is why modern man and woman usually succeed in handling these situations in a far better way than Pontellier.

posted by LVB4H8T on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not worth your time

I had to read this book for school. I usually like to read but this book was so bad I could barely stand it.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Although I think Chopin is a talented writer, because she makes

    Although I think Chopin is a talented writer, because she makes the reader despise the main character, simply because of the way she writes I don't believe The Awakening is a worthwhile read. The story lacked a climax, and the majority of the characters are very one dimensional. I think the ending is predictable, and doesn't evoke any emotion from the reader. Overall, The Awakening is probably one of the boring books I've ever read. I found it difficult to finish the story, because there were only a few parts that caught my attention. Even the tone of the story is bland and uninteresting. The is definitely a book I would not recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    At times I found The Awakening to be an ironic title, considerin

    At times I found The Awakening to be an ironic title, considering it often put me to sleep.  I can understand how at the time this novel was revolutionary in the women's right movement, but to a modern reader Edna seems selfish and careless.  I was shocked reading the final page, unaware of how desperate Edna was.  Overall I thought the writing was beautifully done, but I was not impressed with the plot.  I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin did not keep me on the edge of my s

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin did not keep me on the edge of my seat. However, the book was not supposed to keep me wondering what would happen next.  The slow-moving tale of a woman's torturous and mundane life focuses on its ideas more than its plot.  IT moves slow because it needs this time to introduce philosophies from its main character, Edna Pontellier.  Personally, Edna's eternal conflict did not grasp my attention as well as I would have liked, but that doesn't mean the novel is not well written.  There were many instances in which I marveled at the sentences Chopin wrote.  Every scene is beautifully described allowing the reader to fully appreciate the setting.  However, one minor problem with her writing was her frequent use of French.  Although it is usually only spoken in passing, there are occasions when important plot points can be missed due to a lack of understanding of the language.  While the book failed to keep me captivated, I did appreciate the work that was clearly put into it.   
    If there had been a 2 1/2 star rating I would have used it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    It truly takes talent for an author to make a reader hate a char

    It truly takes talent for an author to make a reader hate a character as much as I hated Edna Pontellier. She was a terrible, terrible woman! Challenging the way things are is one thing, but completely abandoning your very few duties in life and your family is unacceptable.  The life path she had was chosen and for that reason, I have zero pity for her. The wording of the story was easy to read and moderately enjoyable. The plot kept you interested in what horrible thing Edna would do next, and which loving and caring person in her life she would offend next.  Readers searching for a novel with a strong female lead that one can agree with should look elsewhere, as that is not the character portrayed by Chopin. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I just finished reading The Awakening, and I did not like it. I

    I just finished reading The Awakening, and I did not like it. It was very boring. I constantly found myself trying to stay awake while reading it. Although the plot isn't very exciting, I can see why it was considered controversial for the time period it was written. The only thing that kept me reading was my growing hate for the main character, Edna. The more I read the more I began to hate her. I couldn't wait to see what awful thing she'd do next. I do not recommend this book unless you want to read about an awful mother and wife who defys her role in society by putting herself first. I did not enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin was a bland novel, with flat charac

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin was a bland novel, with flat characters and an uncompelling storyline. Much of the plot points were predictable, and all of the characters were incredibly one-dimensional, besides Edna herself. The author portrays Edna in such a way that you dislike her incredibly, and her personality makes the book hard to read. The writing in the book was bland and didn't flow very well. Overall I found the book to be slow and uninteresting, and I would not recommend it as a pleasure read to anyone.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin is an out-dated book to be read by

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin is an out-dated book to be read by an older audience. Being only 17 and from the 21st century, a time in which women have a freedom that they have never had before, this book is unrelatable. I would only recommend this book to someone of older age who might appreciate Edna's "fight" to find herself. Otherwise, this book is a painful read and I do not recommend this book to anyone.
    The Awakening put me to sleep!
    Review: 0 stars
    Scale of 1-10: 0
    ~Meaghan Blaisdell~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    What started out as simple classroom read for AP English turned

    What started out as simple classroom read for AP English turned into an enjoyable experience that I found insightful into the world of Creole society and the stirrings of the women's movement. Kate Chopin uses beautiful detail to bring to life each of her characters. The story of Edna finding her version of happiness, or unhappiness, was enthralling and to see a woman trying to find her own way in a society that is male dominated was very intriguing. This book may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. This book is the mos

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. This book is the most mundane piece of drivel, and it is consistently ranked with books that actually deserve the title of "literature." Whatever gender you are, this book should offend you; it portrays men as weak and non-confrontational, and women as catty sluts. The characters are not developed, and the grammatical errors are appalling. The only good thing about this book is that it stopped Kate Chopin from ever writing again. If you're looking for a book exploring marital relations, try Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, or The Princess of Cleves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Kate Chopin's The Awakening was published on April 22, 1899 by H

    Kate Chopin's The Awakening was published on April 22, 1899 by Herbert S. Stone & Company in Chicago. Chopin wrote the feminist novel in the time period when husbands had expectations that the wife must accomplish. Caring for the kids and keeping the house intact were just a few expectations among others. Chopin writes from the perspective of a trapped woman who frees herself from the ropes her husband has tied. With much detail, Chopin describes every step taken by the protagonist, Edna Pontellier, as she advances and quickly becomes the woman she has dreamt to be. Her transition from obedient wife to independent soul takes Mrs. Pontellier through an unforgettable journey. The adventure, which Mrs. Pontellier embarks on, introduces her to liberation and independence. 
    The Awakening would best fit readers who are willing to dig deeper into the novel. Readers should be willing to extract her action in order to completely understand her reasons. I would recommend this novel to high school students with moderate experience in challenging books. The pacing in this difficult novel is slow. The author wrote this story in a short time frame in order to give specific detail on her experiences with liberty. The protagonist developed her character early in the novel. As the novel began, readers could see signs of a woman taking the first steps of rebellion. Towards the end, it was evident that Mrs. Pontellier had completely transformed from a trapped soul to soaring dove, living her life to the fullest. She threw a party at her house while her husband was away to show her independence as a new woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Worth the Read

    We selected The Awakening for book club not knowing much about the book or author. I feel well read in the classics but had never read Kate Chopin. I was pleasantly surprised on how much I enjoyed this book. Knowing that it was written in 1899 added to the books appeal. A quick read and worth the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome read

    Kate chopin is a rather nice author it is a interesting look back a history and of a change in thought

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    The Awakening Review

    The book, The Awakening, is a novel about a young wife and mother of two named Edna Pontellier. As a rich New Orleans woman, she has everything she could desire, save the ability to convey her true emotions and desires. The story begins on Grand Isle, an island a bit away from New Orleans, where Mr. and Mrs. Pontellier own a vacation home. Through the course of their vacation, Edna gradually falls in love with a resort owner's son, Robert Lebrun, and realizes how she doesn't really love her husband.
    Soon, it is time to return to their home in New Orleans, but Robert decides to go to Mexico. When Edna returns to New Orleans with her husband, she finds how much she is in love with Robert, and how much she does not love her husband. Throughout her lonely days in their New Orleans home while her husband is away on business, she becomes a budding artist, sharing her sketches with her friends, Madame Ratignolle and Mademoiselle Reisz. Eventually, Robert comes back to New Orleans, giving Edna new life, and they have an adulterous affair. However, Robert says he cannot love her, as she is a married woman. In her despair, Edna goes to the beach and calmly drowns herself.
    Some of the major themes in this book included the scandalous theme of repressed sexual feelings, the suppression of a woman's intellect and emotions, and her inability to truly do what she wants to. I enjoyed this book because of Kate Chopin's writing style, (which is faintly reminiscent of F. Scott Fitzgerald) as well as the interesting Creole culture and terms used in the novel.
    I think anybody who enjoys the works of F. Scott Fitzgerald or other early American literary writers would enjoy this book, as well as anybody interested in Creole culture. I think this is an interesting book to read now, to see how much further feminist movements really have come since 1899, when this book was published. It is elegant in some parts, and raw and emotional in others.
    I would recommend other classic literary giant books like The Great Gatsby, Of Mice and Men, To Kill a Mockingbird, and any other American classics. Overall, this was a wonderful book, and I highly recommend it to anybody looking for a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BOOK...

    I would recommend this book for any women to read. Its not a page turner, but there are many lessons to be learned from this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    AMAZING

    Kate Chopin is a beautiful writer and this novella is great. It's an easy read and definitely worthwhile. Her short stories are also great!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great! ... except the ending

    The entire book was wonderful! I couldn't wait to see how the romances turned out. But, when then book ends, it is as if the book just cuts off.. For some, it may be a horrible ending and for others, you may think that the protagonist deserved it... but personally, I believe that the end could have been much more romantic.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Poignant and moving: ahead of its time

    Loved this. I discovered Kate Chopin through her short stories, assigned for a literature class, and went on to read this short novel. Often cited as an early example of feminism, "The Awakening" is years ahead of its time, and presents a very real woman whose struggles are poignant and moving. Chopin never disappoints with her memorable female characters, and the main character here is considered a shocking example of womanhood as much for her attitudes towards being a mother as for the sexual awakening she experiences outside of her marriage. Yes, the ending is disappointing, I was rooting for her to transform her life and live happily ever after, but perhaps it was the most realistic ending Chopin could have come up with - it would have been difficult if not impossible for Edna Pontellier to continue living her independent life, and she couldn't bear returning to her past.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    wonderful novel and author

    I discovered Kate Chopin after my enlish professor assigned a paper on Chopin's short story "The Storm", I fell in love with "The Storm" and was interested in "The Awakening" which the professor recommended. I found The Awakening in my school library and found myself immediately engrossed in it. The relationship between Edna and Robert was very enticing and you could feel the sexual tension between the two at times. The relationship with Edna and her husband was relatable and seemed real as did alot (if not all) the characters in the story. I found it very easy to read and understandable. The first part of the novel is very flirtatious and it seems to build up for the action in the second half. However the second half is not as eventful as one would hope and the final chapter is a bit dissapointing. Nonetheless great overall and brilliantly written!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, meaningful ending.

    Some may dislike the ending of this famous novel, but there is great significance to it. Mrs. Pontellier falls in love to her vacation assistant Robert, despite being married. Constricted by society's expectations and her family responsibilities, she finds escape and inner freedom in the sea.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    Freedom to Believe J. Fisher

    In The Awakening and The Crucible, one occurring and important theme is freedom. This vital piece to the puzzle in these novels holds everything together.
    The freedom to believe is the basis of our society. If you think about it, whenever something goes wrong in the justice system freedom is always a key component. In the Awakening, Edna Pontellier has a big understanding on the term freedom. In the story, she goes through situations in life where freedom is expressed. For example, she couldn't be tied down to her husband Leonce. He kept assuming she was the motherly lady that stayed home. Edna also experienced the freedom to say and do whatever she pleased and also expressed the freedom to love. She went from guy to guy to guy and never looked back. When something wasn't looking right for her, she contemplated her options and went to the better choice. Her freedom leads the way in the novel, and eventually leads to her suicidal death.
    Reiterating from what I said earlier, freedom is the basis of our society and that's what we hold on to in our everyday lives. Mr. Proctor was in the predicament of a scandal. Luckily, for the defendant Elizabeth, she had the freedom to open her mouth and convict him. Freedom again was taken away and given back to Elizabeth. What John Proctor did was horrible, and the freedom during the trials saved her. All I know is, freedom is salvation here in the U.S. no matter the society or situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11