Customer Reviews for

The Awakening

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

A fascinating glimpse into a world that is past -- a world that was on the brink of change. Even if this were not a gripping story in its own right (which, by all means, it is), "The Awakening" would be worth reading simply for this social-historical vision.
This editi...
A fascinating glimpse into a world that is past -- a world that was on the brink of change. Even if this were not a gripping story in its own right (which, by all means, it is), "The Awakening" would be worth reading simply for this social-historical vision.
This edition of The Awakening is a beautifully compiled work. I found it incredibly insightful as I used it for research papers in high school and college. The essays and criticism from Chopin's era are priceless. It was so helpful to have those along with the text, they really gave insight one could not find elsewhere. The Awakening continues to be my favorite book, this my favorite edition. If you are going to write a paper on this book or Chopin there is no other book that will help you more. This was a shocking novel in 1899 but today Pontellier's turmoil and dilemma would be neither unusual nor frightening and perhaps that is why modern man and woman usually succeed in handling these situations in a far better way than Pontellier.

posted by LVB4H8T on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not worth your time

I had to read this book for school. I usually like to read but this book was so bad I could barely stand it.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    Not worth your time

    I had to read this book for school. I usually like to read but this book was so bad I could barely stand it.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Boring

    This book is very slow and boring .

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Good Turn of the Century Novel, but a Slow Read

    The book is about a woman trying to find herself while bound by the constraints of society. Throughout the book she falls asleep and reawakens to realize something new about herself. I believe that the story of the book is very strong, but where it lacks is in the writing itself. I found the writing to be drawn out, and too wordy. Chopin was a turn of the century writer, and many of these writers used such a style. I believe Chopins other works such as her short story Deseree's Baby, were a little more exciting and were a bit easier to read because they were in short story form. The story of The Awakening could make a very good short story, but the novel form drags the story too much.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    an awful book

    i read a lot and i love to read but i had to read this book for mah AP english class and i literally had to force myself to read it. it is such a slow moving boring book.i wouldnt recommend it to anyone, in fact i recommend that you dont read it and spare yourself the pain.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    What a sad demoralizing book

    I found the book sad. The message of this book seems to be if you find that your life as taken you someplace you don't like - just give up. Not the message I want my daughters to get.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Recommended

    As a feminist I find it more than a little depressing that this book was so influential within the movement. Though I can sympathize with the protagonist's plight, I cannot sympathize with her. She's not terribly nice, and it's not clear that it's her circumstances that make her that way; she just seems like an incorrigible person (I could explain this further, but I'd have to give away the ending, and I don't think that's not allowed). It's no wonder she's so unhappy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    This Is BORING

    The book was to Descriptive in the first place. There Was barly anything that happened. IT's a whold describing book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Although I think Chopin is a talented writer, because she makes

    Although I think Chopin is a talented writer, because she makes the reader despise the main character, simply because of the way she writes I don't believe The Awakening is a worthwhile read. The story lacked a climax, and the majority of the characters are very one dimensional. I think the ending is predictable, and doesn't evoke any emotion from the reader. Overall, The Awakening is probably one of the boring books I've ever read. I found it difficult to finish the story, because there were only a few parts that caught my attention. Even the tone of the story is bland and uninteresting. The is definitely a book I would not recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin is an out-dated book to be read by

    The Awakening by Kate Chopin is an out-dated book to be read by an older audience. Being only 17 and from the 21st century, a time in which women have a freedom that they have never had before, this book is unrelatable. I would only recommend this book to someone of older age who might appreciate Edna's "fight" to find herself. Otherwise, this book is a painful read and I do not recommend this book to anyone.
    The Awakening put me to sleep!
    Review: 0 stars
    Scale of 1-10: 0
    ~Meaghan Blaisdell~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. This book is the mos

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. This book is the most mundane piece of drivel, and it is consistently ranked with books that actually deserve the title of "literature." Whatever gender you are, this book should offend you; it portrays men as weak and non-confrontational, and women as catty sluts. The characters are not developed, and the grammatical errors are appalling. The only good thing about this book is that it stopped Kate Chopin from ever writing again. If you're looking for a book exploring marital relations, try Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, or The Princess of Cleves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1