Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Daray Hall #1)

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. Though there were some necessary similarities

I loved this book. Though there were some necessary similarities between this and The House of Night series, the characters were real, and the plot moved along at a steady pace–not too fast and not too slow–and it was full of drama and mystery. The main char...
I loved this book. Though there were some necessary similarities between this and The House of Night series, the characters were real, and the plot moved along at a steady pace–not too fast and not too slow–and it was full of drama and mystery. The main character’s inner conflict through the story was interesting and it sounded real and believable. Though I quickly guessed who the evil person was, it was still a great book and I enjoyed reading it. The ending came as a huge shock to me, and now I can’t wait to read the sequel.

posted by 16895030 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

it was good but

I just couldn't relate with the bisexuall thing because i am strait.the whole time i was ruting for he guy.i get that she learns to be herself but... i just could not imagene feeling that way for the oppasit sex. When i say this i DO NOT mean to sound homophobic,or juge...
I just couldn't relate with the bisexuall thing because i am strait.the whole time i was ruting for he guy.i get that she learns to be herself but... i just could not imagene feeling that way for the oppasit sex. When i say this i DO NOT mean to sound homophobic,or jugementle. Its just when i read i imagne i am the main haracter, and get lost in the book,and with his book i could not do that. But overall it was a well written book.

posted by 13061807 on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I loved this book. Though there were some necessary similarities

    I loved this book. Though there were some necessary similarities between this and The House of Night series, the characters were real, and the plot moved along at a steady pace–not too fast and not too slow–and it was full of drama and mystery. The main character’s inner conflict through the story was interesting and it sounded real and believable. Though I quickly guessed who the evil person was, it was still a great book and I enjoyed reading it. The ending came as a huge shock to me, and now I can’t wait to read the sequel.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    AriAsh

    This is a great book! I cant put it down! Samantha hoffman is a great author. I am a 13 old girl and i love it. It would be good for teens and adults. Coming from a preteen, i think samantha is better than stephanie myer in a way. With all the vampires.. she just makes the charaters great!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I loved this book. I found all of the characters to be very real

    I loved this book. I found all of the characters to be very realatable and the fact that the main character was bisexual is good showing that all people can be expressed in a book. I can't wait for the next. I would easily pay for this book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great start to a series

    I really enjoyed this free book. I have a gay son and a gay sister, but I really had a hard time relating to the "bi-sexual" angle. I kept rooting for Kaven to be the one that makes Kylie see she's straight but that didn't happen. The ending was not what I figured it would be, but I still enjoyed it.
    I still hope that Kylie can find her true love in Kaven. I HAVE TO BELIEVE IN TRUE LOVE?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Impressive

    Honestly, I came into this unsure of what I would think. There has just been a major influx of Vampire or Werewolf movies, and books, and it honestly was just getting tiring.

    However, when I actually got into the story, I found I couldn't stop reading! I've already read both the first and second books, and the plot, and the characters all drew me in. Kylie has a beautiful soul, and heart, and I feel for her deeply. She went through so much, and my heart was wrenched in so many directions through out the books. Your style is actually rather unique, and though at the start, and really only the first few chapters very small details struck me as similar to House of Night, I didn't let myself compare them because that, to me, isn't really fair.

    I wasn't disappointed. The story took a whole new sort of direction, and none of the romance was overdone like in some of the other known series. Beautiful, is all I can say. The only thing that threw me off at first was really the fact that in the beginning of the book, things seemed to happen way too fast, but you seemed to get a hold of that as you went.

    Oh, and I especially loved that you actually put her struggle with who she was, and it was amusing to see how she figured it out. Once againg, lovely books, and I will most definitely be giving your other books a read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    This book was so amazing. It was kind of similar to the House of

    This book was so amazing. It was kind of similar to the House of Night series-vampires serve a goddess, and those with special talents have bodyguards-but those are pretty common storylines for a story, and they happen to make sense here. They worship Selene the moon Goddess because in Greek mythology, she is considered the mother of all vampires. And anyone with special talents in the real world has a bodyguard, so it makes sense they do too. Other than that, I found the two series very different. HoN was much darker and way more sexual, while this one had more mature writing and less sterotypical characters. Overall, I loved this book and the sequel. Both kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Best. Book. Series. EVA.

    I absilutely love this series. I coulnt stop reading. I first read Zombie Island. It was my fave. Then I read the Arean Wars series. I was DETERMINED it was the best. Then i read this series. I know for a fact.. Thes are my fave series. It keeps you reading. It makes you laugh.cry.wonder. EVERYTHING. It is an excellent book.. Excellent story.. Excellent. Samantha Hoffman is my ALL TIME FAVORITE AUTHOR!!! I would hope to someday meet her.. But for noe.. I hope for a 3rd Daray Hall.. Lol

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    This book was very similar to the House of Night series in some

    This book was very similar to the House of Night series in some ways, but they were kind of unavoidable. Like the author stated, sometimes things need to be done a certain way for the story to happen. Anyways, this book was awesome and I loved it. The main character was caring and brave and skilled, and I loved her relationship with Tara. It was my favorite thing about the book. That and there was very little romance. The writing was fluid and detailed and in first person, which is always a bonus. The ending was amazing and was perfect.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    The idea behind this book (vampire bodyguards, vampire goddesses

    The idea behind this book (vampire bodyguards, vampire goddesses, and vampires with special powers) has been done many times before, like with House of Night and Vampire Academy, but I still really loved it. The main character felt real and likeable, and I couldn’t help but love her. Her relationship with the person she’s sworn to protect was different because she was in love with her. The main character is bisexual, and I really liked that. She had a hard time figuring out who she was, and it made me relate to her all the more. There wasn’t much romance in this book, which I really liked, since most paranormal romance books seem to be love stories with a bit of plot mixed in. The action in this book is well-written (action scenes seem to be a specialty of this author) and the twist ending had me in shock.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Fantastic read loved it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    Loved this book read it in a day cant wait for the others

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Loved

    Great story lil bit of advaned ym

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!!

    Read it!!!!!!!!! Couldent stop!! Best book ever i loved it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    While reading this book, it's hard not to notice the few similar

    While reading this book, it's hard not to notice the few similarities between this and the House of Night series, but honestly, I liked this book more. The characters were realistic, the book was well-written, and there was plenty of drama, suspense, and action. I loved the main character and her struggles, and I always love reading a book with a main character who isn't straight. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of vampires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!! I love this dook

    This 461 page book is amazing totally a page turner.the person who wrote this book is brilliant ,magnificent.this book is now my most favorite book ever.this book is highly recommended to everybody. loving bestfriend whileing to die for her friend to protect her,books like these make me cry in a good way so emotional true loveing story.if you are to read this book i promise you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    I can't wait to read the second one haha its so freaking awesome!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    The awakening by samantha hoffman

    This book is awsome i would pay to have it in real life because it is an awsome book i would not read any other book at all i love this book and i highly recomend this bookfor people that love vampires and other stuff like that

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    I love the book but why kill the main character? She was becoming my her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Irish

    Looks well thought and researched for it... Book is very well thought out and looks promising

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5