Customer Reviews for

The Azalea Assault (Garden Society Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I like it. This is a great read. The execution of this well-p


    I like it. This is a great read. The execution of this well-pruned plot quickly became a page-turner, as I could not put this book down. The mystery was good as it offered plenty of suspects to choose from and it was fun watching Cam and her friends narrow down the field. Cam is a great protagonist who knows how to dig for dirt and bring a killer to justice. This lighthearted whodunit boasts a great cast that includes Cam, Rob and Annie; entertaining dialogue and beautifully defined luscious gardens as a backdrop. You are going to love Annie who brings comedic interludes to this delightfully appealing new series and I look forward to my next visit with Cam and her friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I truly enjoyed this book. It was fun and the character's were v

    I truly enjoyed this book. It was fun and the character's were very likeable. I think my favorite character's are all the main women, because they are all relate-able in some way. I wasn't sure if I would enjoy anything to do with a garden society, but it was really quite an amusing little read. I think that Alyse Carlson has written a very good first book and will gladly look for her next in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cam Harris loves her job as public relations manager for the Roa

    Cam Harris loves her job as public relations manager for the Roanoke Garden Society. It allows her to combine her three loves, spinning the press, showing off her favorite town, and promoting her favorite activity. She's just achieved a huge coup by enlisting Garden Delights, the country's premiere gardening magazine, to feature the exquisite garden of RGS founder, Neil Patrick. She's even managed to enlist world-famous photographer Jean-Jacques Georges. Unfortunately, Jean-Jacques is a first-rate cad—insulting the RGS members and gardening, goosing every woman in the room, and drinking like a lush. It is hardly a surprise when he turns up dead. But when Cam's brother-in-law is accused and her sister begs her to solve the crime, that is when things really get prickly.


    This is a wonderful debut.

    Carlson has created some fantastic characters that we quickly fall for. Cam is quick witted and smart, the perfect protagonist. Petunia is lovable, funny and set in her ways. Nick, the reformed ex-con, loves his wife and is her great protector. Her friend Annie bakes cupcakes, need I say more. Cam's father makes women swoon and Rob has eyes for just one woman. Jean-Jacques was the perfect victim, if he goosed me I may have done him in myself!

    The story is delightful with a mystery that keeps us tip toeing through the azaleas to pick up all the clues. Nancy Drew has nothing on Miss Camille Harris. Take some time to stop of smell the flowers for this first installment of what I know will be a very fragrant series. The Begonia Bribe will be coming soon!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Seth

    *hides and makes base camp here*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE AZALEA ASSAULT by Alyse Carlson is a blossoming debut in the

    THE AZALEA ASSAULT by Alyse Carlson is a blossoming debut in the cozy mystery scene.

    Camellia Harris works PR for the Roanoke Garden Society. When RGS achieves the huge coup in some national gardening magazine exposure, Cam’s PR skills will be put to the test, especially since their internationally renowned photographer winds up dead in the azalea bushes. As the suspect list continues to bloom, Cam takes it upon herself to prune the list and solve the crime before the murderer gets away smelling like roses.

    THE AZALEA ASSAULT charms with its quaint city backdrop of Roanoke, Virginia. As a native Roanoker, I had fun reading about my hometown. Even with the large cast of characters, Carlson did an excellent job weaving in backstories and giving each character unique personalities. My favorite character was Annie, hands down. She’s delightfully quirky and spunky. I loved the complexity of the plot, even though I had my suspicions proven with who committed the crime. Carlson definitely writes a great mystery.

    Alyse Carlson’s THE AZALEA ASSAULT plants a brilliant start for a great series. I’m looking forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Azaleas, Jasmine, and. . .Murder. The Azalea Assault: A Garden

    Azaleas, Jasmine, and. . .Murder.

    The Azalea Assault: A Garden Society Mystery
    by Alyse Carlson
    A Berkley Prime Crime Book/2012 Penguin Group(USA) Inc.

    Look out, Savannah--Roanoke, Virginia may well be the new hot spot for readers who like to visit the setting used in a book. The description of the La Fontaine and Samantha Hollister gardens are lovely, and the Azalea in the title actually is a clue in a murder scene. Alyse Carlson has skillfully combined interesting characters, a "flower-y" plot line, as well as descriptions of gardens which add to the enjoyment of the reader. Camellia Harris, or Cam, and her sister Petunia are working as a press representative of the Roanoke Garden Society and restaurant caterer, respectively. The discovery of the body of the world-famous photographer who was on a press-junket assignment, and the subsequent eye of the law being focused on her sister's husband, makes Cam determined to resolve the mystery herself. Complications arise with Cam's reporter boyfriend Rob wanting to get a "scoop," and her nonconformist friend Annie falling for the investigative officer, Jake. Undeterred, Cam finds out that there were plenty of people with grudges against the now-dead photographer. Red herrings are strewn throughout the story, so that by the end of the book, the reader has been taken on several "adventures" with Cam, Annie, and Rob. Alyse Carlson has done a masterful job of weaving all the ingredients of an engrossing mystery together, as well as promoting Roanoke, Virginia. I look forward to the next book in this new series. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1