Customer Reviews for

The Baby Bargain: A Once a Marine Series Book

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

THE BABY BARGAIN is the newest release from Jennifer Apodaca and

THE BABY BARGAIN is the newest release from Jennifer Apodaca and signals a return to her romantic suspense roots.
Jennifer write compelling paranormal romance under her Jennifer Lyon brand. This story touches on some tried and true
romance tropes--including a secret ba...
THE BABY BARGAIN is the newest release from Jennifer Apodaca and signals a return to her romantic suspense roots.
Jennifer write compelling paranormal romance under her Jennifer Lyon brand. This story touches on some tried and true
romance tropes--including a secret baby--and Jennifer handles the story with an adept hand, lots of tension, and a satisfying
conclusion that doesn't rely on the tried and true. And there are dogs. Two of them. Okay, three, but one doesn't really count.
*wink* Adam Waters is a man fighting demons. Dr. Megan Young, who has some tough emotional baggage of her own, loves
Adam but she's keeping a secret--the birth of their son, Cole. When her veterinary practice and her personal safety are threatened,
former Marine Adam steps in to fix things. I read this novella in one sitting and loved it.
The suspense, sexual tension, and final resolution are satisfying, fun, and vintage Apodaca!

posted by PenReads on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

?

Once again a potentially good book ruined by plot spoilers bragging that they got the book free from the publisher or that you can read more at their dotcom web site. Well, if you have a web site, take your plot spoilers there, please? It is so frustrating to have books...
Once again a potentially good book ruined by plot spoilers bragging that they got the book free from the publisher or that you can read more at their dotcom web site. Well, if you have a web site, take your plot spoilers there, please? It is so frustrating to have books ruined by you hateful ppl revealing every detail. Some readers like to read a book and be surprised, not know everything that happens before it happens because you plot spoilers cant keep your big mouths shut!

posted by 8888649 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    THE BABY BARGAIN is the newest release from Jennifer Apodaca and

    THE BABY BARGAIN is the newest release from Jennifer Apodaca and signals a return to her romantic suspense roots.
    Jennifer write compelling paranormal romance under her Jennifer Lyon brand. This story touches on some tried and true
    romance tropes--including a secret baby--and Jennifer handles the story with an adept hand, lots of tension, and a satisfying
    conclusion that doesn't rely on the tried and true. And there are dogs. Two of them. Okay, three, but one doesn't really count.
    *wink* Adam Waters is a man fighting demons. Dr. Megan Young, who has some tough emotional baggage of her own, loves
    Adam but she's keeping a secret--the birth of their son, Cole. When her veterinary practice and her personal safety are threatened,
    former Marine Adam steps in to fix things. I read this novella in one sitting and loved it.
    The suspense, sexual tension, and final resolution are satisfying, fun, and vintage Apodaca!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Just finished this book and it's a great,hot, quick read. Megan

    Just finished this book and it's a great,hot, quick read. Megan and Adam are both keeping secrets from each other and there are a few twists that will keep you guessing. Just when you think you have figured it out, you find out your wrong! Megan is shocked when Adam unintentionally walks back into her life and the heat that is still there for both of them. It was interesting to see Adam put his past where it belongs and move on when he really starts to see things differently. I would definately recommend this book!


    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed The Baby Bargain by Jennifer Apodaca.  Not only

    I really enjoyed The Baby Bargain by Jennifer Apodaca.  Not only was it an exceptional contemporary romance, it also had a subplot going on that  gave the book a romantic suspense flavor.  The subplot was very creative.  The book is well written, good flow, good characters, and steamy sexual chemistry.  I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    The ¿Baby Bargain¿ was such a good read, it was overall very hea

    The ‘Baby Bargain’ was such a good read, it was overall very heartwarming. The plot of this book was very intriguing. So much was happening, there were so many crazy twists and turns up until the very end that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    The book was written flawlessly. The characters were engaging, the plot intriguing, it had a good flow to the story, and the sexual chemistry and tension, oh boy, there was no shortage of that.
    I read this book in one day and couldn’t put it down from the very first scene Megan and Adam captured me. They had so much history, so many demons to battle, so many secrets; I had to know what was going to happen!

    I love all the drama that kept happening to all of these two too keep bringing them back together but most of all I loved the sexual chemistry, another hot, hot, hot couple of Jennifer’s. I love Meg and Adam ¿

    Throughout the whole book I just wanted them to be together but all the odds were against them.
    It’s was a wonderful book, beautiful characters, and fascinating plot.
    Bravo to Jennifer Apodaca!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Jennifer Apodaca is the alter-ego of Jennifer Lyon, when I heard

    Jennifer Apodaca is the alter-ego of Jennifer Lyon, when I heard she was releasing contemporary works under a different name I couldn't wait to read them and I wasn't disappointed.

    In The Baby Bargain we meet Megan Young a small town vet with a big heart, she has worked hard to get where she is and when she is confronted by her past in the form of ex-boyfriend Adam Waters she feels the walls she has built around herself start to crumble. Megan and Adam had a relationship years before, followed by a one night stand that changed her life forever. Adam left Megan to join the Marines, he's military through and thrugh and now that he is no longer in the service he is opening a security firm with some former military friends. Adam's latest contract brings him into contact with Megan, the attraction between them is still there and he can't understand why she is determined not to let him back into her life. Megan's life is about to be turned upside down in more than one way and she has no choice but to ask Adam for help this brings her past and her present together with a bang.

    This was a well written and enjoyable tale that I enjoyed from start to finish. The tension between Megan and Adam was palpable, I loved every bit of their journey and Cole was a real cutie. The little glimpses we got of Adam's friends have me eager to continue with the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    ?

    Once again a potentially good book ruined by plot spoilers bragging that they got the book free from the publisher or that you can read more at their dotcom web site. Well, if you have a web site, take your plot spoilers there, please? It is so frustrating to have books ruined by you hateful ppl revealing every detail. Some readers like to read a book and be surprised, not know everything that happens before it happens because you plot spoilers cant keep your big mouths shut!

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great

    Such a good book. Great feelbgood romance. Cant wait to read more by her

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Short but Very Good

    This was a very interesting story with just enough romance, just enough mystery and just enough realism... A beautiful two year old (the result of a one night stand), his veterinarian mom and his unknowing Marine Corp dad weave an interesting tale of first love, regret and enough suspense to keep it interesting... Read and enjoy!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    great read

    Really liked this book -- 2nd chances at a different time equal pure romance and love!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Great !

    Great read !

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Great read!

    This story had me from the very first page. Loved the writing and a great story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Sweet and sexy

    I loved this book. Meg had a lot of positive character traits. She and Adam made a loving and sexy story.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Oh so sweet

    Loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Good book

    Definitely a shorter story to enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Loved it !!!!

    I absolutely couldn't put the book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unfortunate title aside this was a wonderful read.  Megan¿s ex A

    Unfortunate title aside this was a wonderful read.  Megan’s ex Adam has returned to town after breaking her heart 3 years earlier and saying he would never return.  Needless to say he has issues.  Megan has problems of her own not the least of which is the fact that she has given birth to Adam’s son and neglected to inform him of his existence.   Seeing each other again only confirms that there are still unresolved issues between the two but there is the baby to consider as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Good book...

    This was a cute book. Short, under 200 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    It was okay

    Sweet simple read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Couldn't put down!

    I really, really enjoyed this book! This book had so much suspense I couldn't put it down. I ended up staying up late to finish reading it to see how it would end. This book did not disappoint. Great story I will definitely read more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    I am a sucker for long lost loves and this books delivers. Megan

    I am a sucker for long lost loves and this books delivers. Megan and Adam haven't seen each other in years. They haven't dates since college but they find comfort in each other when Adam was in town after his parents death. That was three years ago and Adam has no idea what that night produced because he was up and back out of town as fast as possible. He told Megan he was never coming back either. His life has been miserable since the death of his brother. There was no peace even when he tried to be a better man by joining the Marines. He has no faith in himself or his ability to be the man that Megan needs. 
    Megan has always wanted Adam but things are different now. It isn't just about her any more, she has a 3 year old son to protect. A son that Adam doesn't know he fathered. She is torn from keeping Adam away, wanting him so much and telling him about his son. 
    Now she needs him to protect them too. Someone is setting her up for stealing a dog she has taken treated. They want to ruin her business and her. This forces Megan to tell Adam immediately and he isn't happy with her or the fact he is being forced into this family. However, he soon realizes the family he grew up with wasn't a real family like the one he now has. There is no way he would let those things happen to the family he loves. 
    I highly recommend this book. It is romantic, tear-breaking and suspenseful. Jennifer Apodaca did a great job. 




    Thank you to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley for allowing me to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5