Customer Reviews for

The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems: Sleeping, Feeding, and Behavior--Beyond the Basics from Infancy Through Toddlerhood

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    Thank you, Baby Whisperer!

    Tracy was a genius! Her methods of teaching baby to sleep are a great compromise between "let 'em cry it out" and attachment parenting. I'm so grateful I found this book. For the first 7 months of her life, our baby had to be sleeping very soundly before I could put her in her crib, and then gently sneak my arms out from under her. After less than a week of following Tracy's recommendations, our baby is falling asleep in her crib without crying. And, waking us up less at night because now she knows how to soothe herself back to sleep. The best part is that it does not involve "crying it out". Her ideas on routines and feeding are also extremely helpful. This book has literally changed our lives. This is a great book for any parent of young children. Thank you, Tracy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Very informative

    The author is very knowledgeable and brings up points that we as parents may want to consider. He makes it seem so easy to parent however,we sll know sll kids sre unique in their own way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just one more great book from the Baby Whisperer

    I loved Tracy Hogg's first book and this one is just as good. While it does have some review of the previous two books, I still suggest buying all three. I have read, without exageration, at least a dozen baby books cover to cover. Tracy's books have been the most helpful, logical, and easiest to apply. I enjoy her case senarios, her sense of humor, and her British "tone". Every mother should know the "secrets of baby whispering". How very sad that we lost Tracy too soon. She has given us such a gift, and yet she had so much more to give. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Highly recommended!

    I've read many books on parenting especially since my baby was colicky, this was the best one. It included much of what 'the happiest baby on the block' said but with so much more information past the colic stage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Response to Best Solution to MOST problems review

    I read the first Baby Whisperer book before reading this follow up book. As I am 8 months pregnant, I haven't put these methods into practice yet though I can't wait to try them out.

    I have just finished chapter 6 in this book. If there's regression just continue to do the same technique again as baby will remember and will go back to sleep faster than if you go back to props or an alternative technique. I'm not sure how much time has passed. You may need to start the next age group technique of Pick up/Put down instead of the shush pat.

    I hope this helps. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Comprehensive Guide

    This book has so much information about babies and toddlers! The only difficulty is finding the time to read it all and remember it. Although I'd like to read it through once, for now I'm using it as a guide for specific topics as they become relevant. I find Tracy's advice extremely helpful, especially as a first-time mom. This is the second book of hers' that I've read-my son was a newborn when I read "Secrets of the Baby Whisperer," which is focused on younger infants. (Frankly, I don't think I could have handled all the information in this book back then! I was already overwhelmed just learning about newborns and infants!) This one goes more in-depth, so it's great for the stage my son is in (he's ten months). The most noteworthy chapter in this book, besides the sleeping, eating and behavior sections, is a lengthy chapter on early potty training. I hadn't considered potty training before age two until I read this book, but now I'm about to try it because I'm so inspired by the idea. Overall, this book will give you lots of advice about handling whatever stage your child is going through. It's a great tool for parents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    The best solution to MOST problems

    I have used every thing that occured to me to get my son to sleep during the night. I walked him, jolted him, gave him my breast, put him in the stroller, and nothing seemed to work! I was out of props and I was desperate!!! Two weeks ago, I started searching the web and found this book. It is such a sad thing to hear that Tracy passed away, because she is a brilliant woman! Such as her book. Anyway, I've got to tell you that ever since I bought this book, my baby sleeps in his crib, and I don't have to walk him, put him in the stroller, nor the play-pen, and certainly not give him my breast!!! I am using a technique that is on the book called the 'shhh-pat technique'. My baby isn't sleeping through the night yet, but, at least my back doesn't hurt anymore (from walking and jolting him), and he falls asleep quicker every day. I started using the E.A.S.Y. routine about a week and a half ago. The first 3 days were terrible, but then by the 4th he was sleeping through the night... Even 10 hours!!! but the 6th night, he started waking up EVERY hour!!! Has someone had the same problem as me??? HELP ME, cause I don't know what to do! Is this just a regression that will go away???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2