Customer Reviews for

The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Nice cookbook, reviewers...not so much.

Why are there so many BN customers of a troglodytic nature?

Here are my simple book review instructions, to follow next time... (These worked well for my 13 year old child, who I found leaving similar reviews. You can do it too! Feel free to print these helpful instruc...
Why are there so many BN customers of a troglodytic nature?

Here are my simple book review instructions, to follow next time... (These worked well for my 13 year old child, who I found leaving similar reviews. You can do it too! Feel free to print these helpful instructions out if you are having trouble.) First, purchase book. Entire book, not just the sample. It is considered bad form to review something you have not actually read. Next, read book and form opinion. (NOTE: I said form opinion, not form verbal diarrhea.) Last, share thoughts on actual content of book. Ah, now I can make an informed choice when purchasing! Thank you for your help!

Very nice pictures. Recipes look good and are relatively simple. Love the page perfect nookbooks. Color palette of photographs is pleasing. Drunken blondies sound great!

posted by SmarmyPants on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

False advertisement shame on bn

This is so misleading. The add says 3.99 but as i went to purchase it its 16.91!?!

posted by 2372733 on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Nice cookbook, reviewers...not so much.

    Why are there so many BN customers of a troglodytic nature?

    Here are my simple book review instructions, to follow next time... (These worked well for my 13 year old child, who I found leaving similar reviews. You can do it too! Feel free to print these helpful instructions out if you are having trouble.) First, purchase book. Entire book, not just the sample. It is considered bad form to review something you have not actually read. Next, read book and form opinion. (NOTE: I said form opinion, not form verbal diarrhea.) Last, share thoughts on actual content of book. Ah, now I can make an informed choice when purchasing! Thank you for your help!

    Very nice pictures. Recipes look good and are relatively simple. Love the page perfect nookbooks. Color palette of photographs is pleasing. Drunken blondies sound great!

    63 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Love it!

    Great photos of the recipes incorporating vintage kitchen goods. Great tips and explainations! Savannah is such a historic and unique city. This couple started a unique bakery in a well-chosen location. They stayed true to their techniques and upbringing. Definitely special recipes from a special couple.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Seems like a good cookbook

    Haven't tried recipes yet but love the many photos and recipes. Never came across a recipe before for butter mints and molasses chips. A nice buy.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    This cookbook is WONDERFUL. Nice heavy pages and the pictures a

    This cookbook is WONDERFUL. Nice heavy pages and the pictures are beautiful. Cheryl is the nicest most hard working humble person you will ever meet and you need to buy this book. Read the entire thing and already made the Red Velvet Cake with my 4 year old son today-we added sprinkles at the end ! Terra in Missouri

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Wonderful, well written and friendly book

    I bought this as soon as the 1.4 update came through on the nook color. The receipes come with great directions to achieve the best results. Most have great comfort food features and pictures to salivate to. I plan on making these receipes on weekends when I have time too savor their flavors!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Love Back in the Day Bakery

    I work down the street from Back in the Day Bakery in Savannah, GA. Cheryl and Griffith Day are wonderful people with an extremely popular local bakery. My personal favorites are the caprese sandwich, rosemary ciabatta bread, chocolate chip cookies, bananna pudding, old fashioned cupcakes, ham and cheese saviory croissants, and a special treat one day, a chocolate chip expresso cupcake (to die for!). It's a wonder I haven't gained 20 pounds. Buy this cookbook!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    False advertisement shame on bn

    This is so misleading. The add says 3.99 but as i went to purchase it its 16.91!?!

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    We've made three or four recipes from this book and they were al

    We've made three or four recipes from this book and they were all wonderful.  My friends think that I am a domestic goddess baker.  My family thought I purchased the cupcakes from some fancy bakery.  I follow the instructions to the t and I have always reaped wonderful results. LOVE THIS COOKBOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    This is a beautifully photographed and well written cookbook, ha

    This is a beautifully photographed and well written cookbook, have tried several recipes and looking forward to several more, the one for chocolate bread will be the next baking project. You could not possibly be disappointed with the purchase of this. I have doubled its weight with all the sticky notes for the recipes I want to try. Desserts and savory dishes both. I can feel the labor and love that went into this cookbook and so thankful that Cheryl and Griffith Day have shared with us. They would be welcomed into my kitchen anytime.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    The only reason I am leaving this review is because you can not

    The only reason I am leaving this review is because you can not open this book in the IPad nook app.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    If you love to bake this is the book for you.

    If you love to bake this is the book for you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I have an extensive collection of cookbooks, of the hundreds tha

    I have an extensive collection of cookbooks, of the hundreds that I have this is easily in the top 5 of my absolute favorite recipes. Ive made many of the recipes in this cookbook and they are all exceptional. I highly recommend this cookbook. You wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Love the book - especially the informative sections on why you u

    Love the book - especially the informative sections on why you use a particular ingredient, or a procedure. Can't wait to try the cupcakes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Trip down memory lane!

    Some of my favorite memories as a child and also with my own children, involve going to bakeries. It’s such a wonderful experience to look in the glass cases and see all the treats. I’ve enjoyed Mexican, Armenian and French bakeries, each with their own regional favorites. I haven’t had the chance to go to the Back in the Day bakery in Savannah, with its old fashioned Southern charm and delicacies, so I was thrilled to find The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook. A foreward by Paula Deen explains how special this bakery is and what a treat it is to visit. Since I don’t live close by, it was a real pleasure to leaf through it and enjoy seeing all the gorgeous foods and old timey memorabilia that make the The Back in the Day Bakery such a sought after destination.

    And then there’s the recipes! The nine chapters cover Breakfast, Breads, Cupcakes and Cakes, Pies, Pudding, Cookies, Candies, Savory and more. Each recipe has a fun description that tells about its connection with the bakery. Reading about Griff’s childhood memories picking berries at his family’s cabin brought me back, too, and made the Blackberry Cobbler extra compelling. Lots of Southern classics like ‘Nana Cream and Sweet Potato Pies are included, as well other yummy treats, like Chewy Granola Bars or Vegetable Pot Pie. Of course, I immediately had to try out a recipe and I decided on the Peach Cobbler Muffins, they sounded so good! The turbinado sugar on the top did remind me of crunchy, sweet cobblers and the almond extract made them smell and taste heavenly. The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook is an ideal example of how food is so much more than just good eating, it is most definitely memories, too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    This is a wonderful cookbook. I have read through it over an

    This is a wonderful cookbook. I have read through it over and over since I bought it (and it really was only $3.99 for a short time -- I think that day only). I just keep going back to it. I have tried two of her recipes, the carrot cake and the ham and cheese croissants. Yum, is all I can say. I will be making quite a few of the recipes from the cookbook, and I think the pictures are gorgeous and the page perfect format is wonderful. I do wish there was a way I could print out a copy of the recipe I am going to make so I don't get my Nook dirty when I'm cooking. I also wish it would work on the PC format so the print could be larger. What a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    GREAT BOOK BUT ONE MAJOR FLAW!

    This is a pretty good book my problem is 'the find a page' feature on the Nook and the actual page of the book do not match. My wish is they would fix this with an update.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I have been waiting for this book purchased it but it will not o

    I have been waiting for this book purchased it but it will not open on my iPad. Have a basic nook and it will not work there either, thought I would be ok with the iPad. Not happy that certain books will only open on a nook color or tablet.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Like it a lot.

    Like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No recipes in sample

    Again a recipe book with no recipes in the sample. When you're in the store , you pick up a cookbook and look to see how the recipes are written, how difficult etc. We need that on the Nook!! 14 pages of Paula Deen telling me what wonderful people the authors are does not entice me to buy a cookbook, sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4