Customer Reviews for

The Backworlds

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have confessed to having a soft spot for sci-fi. I was hooked

I have confessed to having a soft spot for sci-fi. I was hooked from the first page when I felt immediate sympathy for the main character, Craze. He's an underdog with limited material resources, but his drive and ingenuity come through loud and clear. After being betra...
I have confessed to having a soft spot for sci-fi. I was hooked from the first page when I felt immediate sympathy for the main character, Craze. He's an underdog with limited material resources, but his drive and ingenuity come through loud and clear. After being betrayed by his father and booted out of his home planet, he makes new alliances in a desperate attempt to survive. Craze is a charming character. The Backworlds is a scary place with all sorts of bioengineered beings. I loved reading the author's descriptions of the characters and setting. Although the descriptions are written with a light hand, the setting came across as very authentic and set my imagination in gear. I could picture a dark, gritty, desolate setting. Also, I admired the author's use of consistent language and "voices" for the characters. I kept turning those (digital) pages because I needed Craze to come out ahead in this dog-eat-dog world!

posted by Brinda_Berry on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Letdown

I really tried to continue reading this book ,but I couldn't finish. I love sci-fi but, I just did not care for the characters let alone finish this book,sorry.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    I don't typically read sci-fi, and especially nothing this deep

    I don't typically read sci-fi, and especially nothing this deep into the genre. I did, however, enjoy this book. I instantly empathized with Craze and was interested to see how he would overcome the predicaments placed before him. I'll say this for the fellow, he has a strong propensity for finding trouble. 

    This is definitely a book for adults, dealing with more mature subject matters and situations, but if you love sci-fi settings including other worlds and unique races, chances are you'll love this one. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    I have confessed to having a soft spot for sci-fi. I was hooked

    I have confessed to having a soft spot for sci-fi. I was hooked from the first page when I felt immediate sympathy for the main character, Craze. He's an underdog with limited material resources, but his drive and ingenuity come through loud and clear. After being betrayed by his father and booted out of his home planet, he makes new alliances in a desperate attempt to survive. Craze is a charming character. The Backworlds is a scary place with all sorts of bioengineered beings. I loved reading the author's descriptions of the characters and setting. Although the descriptions are written with a light hand, the setting came across as very authentic and set my imagination in gear. I could picture a dark, gritty, desolate setting. Also, I admired the author's use of consistent language and "voices" for the characters. I kept turning those (digital) pages because I needed Craze to come out ahead in this dog-eat-dog world!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Craze is his father, Bast's son. He's learned how to swindle wit

    Craze is his father, Bast's son. He's learned how to swindle with the best of them. Bast announces he's sending Craze off to another world to make his fortune. Craze thinks maybe his pa believes in him. But then Bast says he's sending him away from his home for good, stealing his girl, and having him declared a leecher, shamed in front of his people. Surely Craze's luck can't get worse than that? Yet as he heads off to Elstwhere, he discovers a whole universe meaner and greedier than his pa.

    This was so much fun to read. The world building, or shall I say, universe building, is incredible. Amazing planets and beings. The imagery is vivid and filled my head with so many amazing sights. It was the little details. The living hair and amazingly soft skin of the Verkinn. The gender-bending of the Jix and the bird-like aviarmen. M. Pax so easily transported me to this other world and took my breath away.

    There's edge-of-your-seat action and tension. Who to trust? Craze is immediately likable. Clever and yet naive. I found myself cheering for him and hoping he made it through in one piece. The friends and enemies he made came alive on the page, well, screen. I particularly liked Talos and Lepsi. They're fascinating and made the story all the more entertaining.

    The Backworlds (Book 1) is a fantastic piece of science-fiction. I cannot wait until the next book comes out and we can see what sort of trouble Craze gets into next!

    I'm craving chocolate now. *winks*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    M. Pax really does a fine job of introducing the reader to the b

    M. Pax really does a fine job of introducing the reader to the back worlds. His writing style is very easy to enjoy. His lead character, Craze, is shift fellow who falls in with a shifty lot to do shift things in said back worlds. A great read for any science fiction fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Just ok

    Interesting premise, but too litte story overall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Letdown

    I really tried to continue reading this book ,but I couldn't finish. I love sci-fi but, I just did not care for the characters let alone finish this book,sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    This is a quick read and an enjoyable romp through outer space.

    This is a quick read and an enjoyable romp through outer space. The ending is really just the beginning and left me wanting to know how Craze will do in the future. Fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    No good

    The storyline is no good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    MPAX IS GOOD READING

    I was surprised by this little gem. It turned out to be one of the rare type...Something very hard to put down. Even a bathroom break had me sitting to read instead of standing to p.
    .I will recomend this as a good read and also a read to any that follow M PAX.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Loved this story

    Loved story. Characters were engaging. Just started II and plan to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Interesting

    This is a good read, as far as it goes. I recomend it for pre teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Craze is wonderfully colorful character. He¿s a bit of a con art

    Craze is wonderfully colorful character. He’s a bit of a con artist. He travels to the back worlds when his father steals his girl friend and casts him out. There were a lot of unique elements in this book. I was happy to read that instead of smuggling gun or drugs, he’s smuggling chocolate. Pax is a good new voice in science fiction.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Enjoyable.

    Looking forward to reading sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Bios

    Lucky

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    :-)

    Great book! I look forward to reading more of this writer's work!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1