Customer Reviews for

The Bandit King

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

That was.....

INCREDIBLE. This sequel is everything I had hooed for. While the characters sometimes failed to rise to my expectations, I knew it was because they were battle weary. I have to say, i hope i can find a guy who loves me just as much as Tris loved Vianne... Fantastic job!...
INCREDIBLE. This sequel is everything I had hooed for. While the characters sometimes failed to rise to my expectations, I knew it was because they were battle weary. I have to say, i hope i can find a guy who loves me just as much as Tris loved Vianne... Fantastic job! The ending was just perfect!

posted by 6819541 on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An okay sequel...

The Bandit King was nowhere near as good as The Hedgewith Queen, in my opinion at least. It kind of dragged in some places, when all I wanted was in the last 3 pages! I personally think this series could have been condensed, gotten rid of most of what was in the second ...
The Bandit King was nowhere near as good as The Hedgewith Queen, in my opinion at least. It kind of dragged in some places, when all I wanted was in the last 3 pages! I personally think this series could have been condensed, gotten rid of most of what was in the second book and some of what was in the first book, blended the 2 together, and still have come out with a really great read. (:

posted by FreeLoveMary on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    An okay sequel...

    The Bandit King was nowhere near as good as The Hedgewith Queen, in my opinion at least. It kind of dragged in some places, when all I wanted was in the last 3 pages! I personally think this series could have been condensed, gotten rid of most of what was in the second book and some of what was in the first book, blended the 2 together, and still have come out with a really great read. (:

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    missing something

    I absolutely loved the first one, and i waited and waited for this one, but honestly, it's missing a little something. the story progressed and everything, but it was missing some...something. it's worth the read and all, and on its on, its fine, but comparing it to the first one, its only so-so

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    So disappointed....

    I preordered this book and then found out it would be on sale in a few months for less than half of what I paid. After finishing the book I realize that the purchase was a waste of time and money. Tristan, as the new protagonist was very weak and I could not gain any satisfaction in reading about a character that even the author has admitted to despise. Vianne was equally intolerable. My favorite Hedgewitch lost her spark and my interest. This slow moving book provided little to enthrall the reader and proved to be quite predictable.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Did Not Care For It!!!

    I really like the first book The Hedgewitch Queen and was really anticpating this book, was overly excited when it came out and I was completely disapointed...It lacked everything!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    The Bandit King is written from Tris' point of view; he idealize

    The Bandit King is written from Tris' point of view; he idealizes Vianne, and thus the portrayal of her becomes oddly one-dimensional.  Gone is the vulnerability and humor that made her so appealing in The Hedgewitch Queen.  Her rigidity and sanctimoniousness are front and stage center, and the problem is compounded by Tris' self-abnegation.  This sequel, like its' protagonists, is flawed, bit is still well written and worth reading.  And the ending is gratifying.  Personally, I think Tris' so called act of treason was somewhat heroic...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Confusing and disapointing

    This book was hard to follow, slow moving and the character it followed was weak and unappealing. Overall a disapointment when compared to the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    That was.....

    INCREDIBLE. This sequel is everything I had hooed for. While the characters sometimes failed to rise to my expectations, I knew it was because they were battle weary. I have to say, i hope i can find a guy who loves me just as much as Tris loved Vianne... Fantastic job! The ending was just perfect!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    GREAT sequel! If you liked the first one, you will like this on

    GREAT sequel!

    If you liked the first one, you will like this one even more!

    Spoiler: The story is told from Trist.'s point of view which was refreshing because Viv. got too whinny at times. In this sequel Viv finally truly becomes the Queen. We find out that Trist. isn't so noble & has risked it all for Viv. Their relationship is still stormy, & at times looks like it is over. Parts of the ending were quite surpising!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    LOVED the first one, so I was really excited about this one. Sa

    LOVED the first one, so I was really excited about this one. Sadly, it was missing something, not really sure... Maybe because it left like Vianne went totally off the deep end and dragged a willing Tristan with her, making the story feel chaotic. I still enjoyed it, but I think if it would of held better to the theme/steam of The Hedge Witch Queen, it would of been a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Dameain

    Ugh

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Takaru

    Ep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good read but not your typical Lilith Saintcrow characters

    It was a good read but totally different from the Jill Kismet of Dante Valentine books. So if you are expecting that you will be disappointed but if you like variety you won't be, also recommend the Hedgewtich Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Doesn't live up to to predecessor

    The Hedgewitch Queen is Saintcrow at her best. A strong female character with complex emotions. This sequel, from her husband's perspective, is disappointing in comparison. Also, the title refers to a character who only makes a few appearances in the book, not the narrator at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Interesting story, but with none of the magic of the first...At least I gained closure...

    I fell in love with The Hedgewitch Queen, so detailed and engaging that i couldn't put it down...twice. I wanted so badly to find out every detail of what happens to Vienne, a character I grew embarassingly attached to...only to find i was cheated. Vienne was a mysterious stranger in this sequel, and I was denied the pleasure I got from the first book of seeing into her mind as she became the queen she was destined to be. Instead I had to muddle through Tristan's often pathetic thoughts to catch glimpses of the character that stole my heart. I really wish the author had maintained the pov of Vienne in this book instead of switching to Tristan's, which made the overall story feel disjointed and unfinished, as if pieces of the end were missing. The structure and choice of words were excellent, as is the norm for this author, and it is obvious she is a talented story teller, but I couldn't help but feel as though she just wanted to wrap this sequel up by telling it in the easiest way possible and move on to something new. Still an interesting story, but with none of the magic she had so lovingly woven into the first book...and the title? Total ending spoiler! Come on! Oh well, at least i gained closure...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    An enjoyable follow up to The Hedgewitch Queen.

    An enjoyable follow up to The Hedgewitch Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Saintcrow missed with this one. I enjoyed the first one a lot, b

    Saintcrow missed with this one. I enjoyed the first one a lot, but I
    couldn't even finish this one. The first person "voice" of
    Tristan was stilted and tedious to follow. I gave up. I have read and
    enjoyed the entire Dante series and will read the Kismet ombinus if it
    is available in Nook when it comes out early next year. I hope
    Saintcrow gets her groove back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    :( I loved the Hedgewitch Queen and was so excited to read the

    :( I loved the Hedgewitch Queen and was so excited to read the Bandit King. Sadly, the book started out strong and by the mid mark it had fizzled, limping painfully into the finish line. I had to stop and start this book in order to finish it. The Dante Valentine series is still, by far, my favorite series from Saintcrow, Kismet was good and I had high expectations after reading the Hedgewitch Queen, but The Bandit King was painful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Satisfying

    It suffers a bit from being an obligatory sequel, but I really enjoyed the closure and appreciated Tristan's troubled return to grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is full of suspence and intrigue and keeps you entertained throughout the entire story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Excellent

    Five stars as always.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3