Customer Reviews for

The Bard's Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Amazing game!

There is nothing like this on the nook. This game is like a console title, not an app. The install process takes ages... dont let it discourage you because this title is worth EVERY penny!

posted by 10355124 on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Good game, but frequently crashes.

This is the only "real" game that can be had for the Nook. I'm surprised at what a good job they did at porting it over. The graphics are nice, the controls work great and the game runs at a decent frame rate. The problem is it frequently crashes. I've only been playing...
This is the only "real" game that can be had for the Nook. I'm surprised at what a good job they did at porting it over. The graphics are nice, the controls work great and the game runs at a decent frame rate. The problem is it frequently crashes. I've only been playing for an hour or so and it has already crashed twice. My Nook is only a year old. Maybe this game was made for the newer edition Nooks. It's too bad, because otherwise it's a great game.

posted by 16996826 on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Pretty good

    Good but kind of annoying after a while of not getting proper instructions. But still pretty good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Old school fun!

    I loved this game as a kid. It was great to find it for the nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    The Bard'sTale

    Excellent adapatin of a great if vintage game.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome

    Never thought I would have such a quality game on the nook. I have the nook hd plus and it has never crashed and plays in hd mode smooth!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    iN One hour you be exhaulted with gameplay!

    And just after the promation. The game became even more intelligent. Good game program boys...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    ??

    How do i delete storage on the nook tablet?

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Classic!

    Great game ao far!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very addicting

    Good game, funny dialog

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Diablo-style fun

    An amazing RPG, delicately ported from console to Nook tablet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    GREAT

    Great

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Excellent

    Console quality game

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    A classic

    I played The Brard's tale back when it was on ps2, and this port carries over very strongly. Its the same great game, now in the palm of your hands, as cheesy as that sounds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    The games for Nook are really poor and very juvenile, and I wish

    The games for Nook are really poor and very juvenile, and I wish I had waited for the Kindle HD instead. So, when I saw this game, I bought it because most Nook games are so lame and designed to keep preschoolers busy. This game is cool, at first, but then it just becomes a frustrating bore. It makes you think you can go on to the next part of the game, but you'll fail if you do without first spending countless hours killing wolves (yawn) to earn enough silver to buy the weapons and maps necessary in the later areas. This game has the longest plot line I've ever seen, and I've been gaming for over 25 years. I found a walk through online, or I wouldn't have been able to play it at all, and even then it's very difficult and time consuming. The weapon tools are really awkward to use, especially on the Nook. The description says how funny this game is, and there are a few chuckles, but it's not that funny at all. As for the "Quest for Coin and Cleavage", not true. There is one scene in the beginning with the barmaid, but the rest of the game is spent in constant battle only. Don't fall for the auto save option. It only makes it impossible for you to go back and do things differently when you fail and die in battle, so you'll have to start over from the beginning. *Spoiler alert*- You get a little dog in the beginning that travels with you if you befriend it. He'll help fight, and he gets knocked out constantly, but doesn't die...until later in the game. I read ahead in the walk through that an enemy kills the dog who then comes back later...in spirit form only. You can command the dog to stay and he will remain where you left him, but if you go to a different town area of the game, the dog appears there with you anyway. So, it's not possible to avoid his death later, far as I can tell.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    B

    Great fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    IRemember this from xbox

    Great so far one hour in with no prob s on hd plus. Forgot how funny it was and looks great for a tablet game

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Great

    Totally hilarious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Great game

    Great game

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great

    Best game on the nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Lots of fun to be had here!

    Great fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Well made

    Good looking game, cute banter, lots of fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12