BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bard's Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Amazing game!

There is nothing like this on the nook. This game is like a console title, not an app. The install process takes ages... dont let it discourage you because this title is worth EVERY penny!

posted by 10355124 on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Good game, but frequently crashes.

This is the only "real" game that can be had for the Nook. I'm surprised at what a good job they did at porting it over. The graphics are nice, the controls work great and the game runs at a decent frame rate. The problem is it frequently crashes. I've only been playing...
This is the only "real" game that can be had for the Nook. I'm surprised at what a good job they did at porting it over. The graphics are nice, the controls work great and the game runs at a decent frame rate. The problem is it frequently crashes. I've only been playing for an hour or so and it has already crashed twice. My Nook is only a year old. Maybe this game was made for the newer edition Nooks. It's too bad, because otherwise it's a great game.

posted by 16996826 on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Amazing game!

    There is nothing like this on the nook. This game is like a console title, not an app. The install process takes ages... dont let it discourage you because this title is worth EVERY penny!

    56 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Fun Times!,

    Hack and slash with jiggly maidens. Luvn the fun times!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This game really is great. Full length, great battles, and hilarious sword and sheild game cliches skewered at every turn. Sample dialogue from the princess to the bard: "Y ou can't fool me, sir. I see what you're thinking. I want you to take that image in your head, picture having it thrice daily, and THEN decide whether I'm worth it to be rescued."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Great!

    This brings back a great game. Awesome to play on the Nook as well. No crashing and visually wonderful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Old school fun!

    I loved this game as a kid. It was great to find it for the nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very addicting

    Good game, funny dialog

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    A classic

    I played The Brard's tale back when it was on ps2, and this port carries over very strongly. Its the same great game, now in the palm of your hands, as cheesy as that sounds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great game

    Need to fix crashes but otherwise great(boulders gate anyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not bad.

    Crashes at times but still worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    So far so good

    Really enjoying the size if this game. More engaging than angry birds and the like

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Accidental buy

    I am pleasantly surprised to how well this game runs and plays. Even though buying this game was a complete accident.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Get it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Bard's tale for the long drive home

    Nice distraction for the passenger ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Fgg

    I like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    It's worth the money!

    A really good RPG for a mobile device.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Nice take on an familiar tale

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Same as the pc game

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Fun little adventure

    Enjoying it so far. Brings back memories of all the old originals

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Fun and addictive

    Not for young kids but very fun game to play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Great game

    The story is awesome, well thought-out and executed, the songs having power is amazing, and the Bard's lecherous rasp of a prrsonality a refreshing change of pace. It's nice not to see a bard whose tongue drips honey for a change!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2