Customer Reviews for

The Barsoom Series by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Classic serial adventure

If you liked "The Rocketeer", "Tarzan", or adventure serials of the past like "Buck Rogers" and "Superman", then you'll likely enjoy the Barsoom Series. While the language may be a bit clunky at times, the spirit of adventure and narrow escapes is pure genre fun.

posted by cgsean on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hard read.

I find Burroughs' writing style hard to read. This is the first book of his I've read and if this is indicative of his normal style, I don't like it. Story may be good but he tries too hard to use unnecessarily obscure wording when simpler words and/or sentence structur...
I find Burroughs' writing style hard to read. This is the first book of his I've read and if this is indicative of his normal style, I don't like it. Story may be good but he tries too hard to use unnecessarily obscure wording when simpler words and/or sentence structure would be much better.

posted by 2540249 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Classic serial adventure

    If you liked "The Rocketeer", "Tarzan", or adventure serials of the past like "Buck Rogers" and "Superman", then you'll likely enjoy the Barsoom Series. While the language may be a bit clunky at times, the spirit of adventure and narrow escapes is pure genre fun.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The series hearkens back to the era of swashbucklers who refuse to be defeated and their mates, who are all breathtakingly beautiful but have a tendency to be taken captive. That said, they are true to their genre and if you believe that good should (and will) triumph over evil, these are light reads with plenty of derring do and almost disasters to keep you on edge.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book loved them a timeless series im 13 and i just love them recommed to anyone who likes scifi stuff ..... Great book!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Awesome read for the intellectual

    Simply amazing book! I am srill amazed he wrote this before even the space race began. If thi was a hard read for you due to the sentence structure, remember he wrote this book in the early 1900s . If it was hard to read you should go to syllvan and learn to read. Excellent deserves the full 5 stars

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Stories, average presentation.

    Good!!

    Includes the first six books in the Barsoom series. Only wish the Table of Contents was linked to the page the books start on and that each book would start on the next page from the one ending the previous book.

    The stories themselves are very good. I used to read the second three, the library didn't have the first three when I was a kid.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    a welcome escape from the reality of the ordinary to a place whe

    a welcome escape from the reality of the ordinary to a place where any regular guy with virtue in his heart can briefly conquer the antagonism of a mundane life without the real risk of his mediocere existence.
    "I still live!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Hard read.

    I find Burroughs' writing style hard to read. This is the first book of his I've read and if this is indicative of his normal style, I don't like it. Story may be good but he tries too hard to use unnecessarily obscure wording when simpler words and/or sentence structure would be much better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    John Carter Classic

    This series is long. I have yet to finish it, but the first book I wanted to read due to the movie, "John Carter on Mars". I was completely intrigued and enthralled in both the movie and book and it kept me interested enough to continue to the next book in the series. I only gave it a 3-star because it does tend to get a little dry and I personally have a hard time reading the classic novelists due to the difference in the the English language of yester-year compared to today. But overall, I would recommend if you are into a pseudo Civil War era Space Science Fiction type of story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Interesting but. . .

    Not science fiction, fantasy and Edgar Rice Burroughs uses scenarios over and over, if you are on a long trip and need a read this should do it for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    To reivew nuber 14

    I am dieing to chat my name is georgia but i will not tel you my address and phone number sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Chat

    I wanna chat my name is ruby and im ten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Hey chat room peeps

    Hi. Im 12 and my name is maryam. Anybody wanna chat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Wat

    |=================|:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> this sword is for the peeps who chat here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    To vyrerufgy

    Fgttrygtyfygr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    To kk

    I do im 12so hpw arevyou im chasity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Kk

    Its kayla i am nine you guys wonna chat with me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    To3

    Im12 jasmine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Chat whith mte and you can fuck me

    Ill tell you my addrese and phone number

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Enjoyed it!

    I loved the first three...was skipping pages by #4 and chapters by #5. Didn't bother with #6.

    Which is not to disparage the series! I loved it...and will pass it on to my goddaughter and (much) younger brother. I simply got bored with it. "Man goes to Mars, kicks serious alien rump, meets, loves, offends, damsel, loses damsel, kicks more alien rump, saves damsel, pauses to kick alien rump, marries damsel..." Rinse and repeat. Repeatedly.

    It's great fun, and I LOVED it. Just...don't try to read them all in one go. Read the first three, take a break with a more serious book, then read the last three.

    ...and after that, read Heinlein's 'Number of the Beast'. As for the serious book, I HIGHLY recommend Heinlein's 'The Moon is a Harsh Mistress'. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    To nice girl

    Hi how old r u what is ur name

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4