Customer Reviews for

The Bartender's Tale

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

When I first read the teaser, I was a bit concerned that it woul

When I first read the teaser, I was a bit concerned that it would be a pre-teen or tween book. I was quite surprised to find that although the main character is around 12 years old, it had much more to do about life and the troubles we all face. The characters were ve...
When I first read the teaser, I was a bit concerned that it would be a pre-teen or tween book. I was quite surprised to find that although the main character is around 12 years old, it had much more to do about life and the troubles we all face. The characters were very well developed, quite believable and I was able to relate to both the son and the father during the course of the book.

I had never read any of Mr. Doig's books before, but am looking forward to more of them!

posted by Dave58 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fizzles at End

This book starta with a bang and then slows to a crawl. It was not one of my favorites,

posted by Van26 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Mr Doig is always worth the read, a great story teller

    Mr Doig is always worth the read, a great story teller

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story, great writing, great ending. What more could you w

    Great story, great writing, great ending. What more could you want? A
    thoroughly enjoyable read! Don't miss it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I always feel enriched after reading one of Mr. Doig's wonderful

    I always feel enriched after reading one of Mr. Doig's wonderful books.  Charming characters, a few surprises, believable stories that make me feel close to the people.  Loved this book from page one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended/Great Doig

    I love Doig's voice, which is why I keep coming back to his writing. Doig sounds clear in this story for sure, sending readers right into his Montanan Two Medicine Country to follow the formation and redefinition of "family." If you've liked any of his other stuff, whether fiction or non, this is for you. In a way too, this develops other stories of his in interesting ways (i.e.-Bucking The Sun), though this tale stands well enough on its own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Enormous Humanity

    This spectacularly well written book tells a wonderful story about a father son relationship. The characters are vivid and unforgettable. I thought I wasn't interested in how a 12 year old boy thinks, but this book is just wonderful at evoking a specific time and place and relationship. Very western. Having been to Montana many times it resonated with the specific mindset out there, but from anywhere you can appreciate these very well drawn characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    A great down-to-earth tale with a subtle sense of humor

    I loved Doig's "The Bartender's Tale." It's convincingly told by a young boy. I grew up in Montana and could picture the people, the geographic setting, and, of course, THE bar. The author had great
    insight that made the characters believable: you understand their
    personal foibles and also are given a window to their inner goodness,
    "The Bartender's Tale" is a book that is hard to put down and one you
    will not want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    riveting

    This novel captures the essence of Montana and family relationships. Ivan Doig is talented with describing vivid word pictures and this is one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Outstanding

    Beautifully written. Doig is a favorite author, and this one does not disappoint. Hated to reach the last page and have to leave Rusty, Zoe, and Tom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Excellent new book from I. Doig--he is one of the best stry-tellers, ever.

    As always, the author weaves a great story with a definite theme and conclusion. Easy to read--hard to put down! Would help if you'd read "Bucking the Sun" first--another great story by I. Doig.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    If you have not read Doig before, this should make you a believe

    If you have not read Doig before, this should make you a believer. As compared to the much hullablooed "Canada" by Richard Ford, Doig's Bartender's Tale is real, tender and beautiful... Go out and get all his books (there are trilogies, continuing characters, all beautiful)...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    A great story, one you don't want to finish. This is a wonderfu

    A great story, one you don't want to finish. This is a wonderful package from start to end, all threads are beautifully tied together, a masterpiece really. Family is always tough to live with and write about and Mr. Doig has done an incredible job, he nails this story. The end is fabulous! Great for young adults to senior citizens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Check this one out.

    I really loved this book. His characters are always so memorable, true, and utterly believable.If you have read other books by Ivan Doig, you will remember the characters from past books. To a person who grew up in the Northeast, this is a slice of Americana not easily found elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    Wonderful classic Doig style. Great storyteller!

    I have read many of Ivan Doig's books and have found all to be highly entertaining. Doig'scharacter come alive on the pages of his books. He is able to transport the reader to the area of Montana that embraces the beauty of nature and the wholesomeness of the people who inhabit the state. The reader gets to know the 12 year old boy who has had an unsettled early childhood before coming to live with his unusual bar owning father. You will be drawn into the many adventures of his 12th summer and remember what it was like trying to understand the adult world. You will get to know the many diverse characters who reside in this part of Montana and will be entertained by the storytelling skills of the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I just gobble up his books.

    An awesome author with uncommon sensibilities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    You do not want to put it down so sit back and enjoy the read!

    Once again he writes a totally enchanting novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    A wonderful told tale. Vivid landscape and people. I am now go

    A wonderful told tale. Vivid landscape and people. I am now going back to read the other books he's written !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I've read all of Doig's books, and this is one of the best. It

    I've read all of Doig's books, and this is one of the best. It tugs at your heart strings in one line and throws you into fits of laughter the next. It's rare to find such rich language and it's interesting to be cast into Montana for a few days. I'm hoping for a few more from Doig.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    The funniest one of all his books I have read!

    Our book club did read and review this book and all enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Sky

    Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2