Customer Reviews for

The Basement

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very nice little story. The character development is good. You g

Very nice little story. The character development is good. You get a general feel for Heather, the girl entering the house that is rumored to be haunted. I really enjoyed the antagonist that comes into the picture. Love the way the antagonist speaks. What really makes t...
Very nice little story. The character development is good. You get a general feel for Heather, the girl entering the house that is rumored to be haunted. I really enjoyed the antagonist that comes into the picture. Love the way the antagonist speaks. What really makes this a good story, though is that the author sticks the landing. Nice ending. 

posted by 7173998 on October 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not too bad

A great short that can be based on a Horror flick; has great potential.

posted by RaineMH on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Very nice little story. The character development is good. You g

    Very nice little story. The character development is good. You get a general feel for Heather, the girl entering the house that is rumored to be haunted. I really enjoyed the antagonist that comes into the picture. Love the way the antagonist speaks. What really makes this a good story, though is that the author sticks the landing. Nice ending. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Good

    Good story scary ending

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    good story great ending

    Would read this author again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad

    The only thing I didn't like was the fact it was too short but it was rather creepy...great book for this time of year Halloween!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad

    A great short that can be based on a Horror flick; has great potential.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Love it

    I like this story. Its creepiness is exciting and you'll love the twist at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Ok book

    Kind of boring but i have read worst.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Scary jmm 44

    Just as you think the girl is coming to terms

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Spooky

    Good one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Blah blah

    This is a good book just read it to little children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Scary good. I¿ve seen the movies. I¿ve read the books. But, I j

    Scary good.

    I’ve seen the movies. I’ve read the books. But, I just can’t say it enough. Don’t go in the basement! There’s always something bad just waiting to make you dead.

    So the story goes, Heather takes a dare and enters the Blackwell House. Everyone knows it’s haunted, and really bad things happened. But, like the foolish girl she is, I guess she figures it can’t happen to her. She’ll show her friends there’s nothing to be afraid of and that’ll be the end of it.

    Not quite. Heather doesn’t run into the Blackwell family ghosts. Instead, she’s confronted by her dead mother.

    What the author did really well was hook me in right from the beginning. This isn’t a new scenario. I’ve read many similar stories, but the author made it different. The ghost Heather thought she should be worried about isn’t the one that appeared.

    The atmosphere is set, from the door slamming shut after she enters, to the creaking and moaning of the old house settling.

    Another thing that I liked was how the author let me into Heather’s head as she tried to dispel her own fears and find logical explanations for what was occurring. It enabled me to feel her fear, her disbelief, and finally her terror.

    Kudos to Chad for his surprising ending. After I read the last sentence I said to myself, “Got ya!”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Bookworm1951

    Good short story with an unexpected twist. Plan to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Pretty good

    I read this book and being a fan of horror books and such I feel that the story for free was pretty good I agree maybe needs beefing up a little but at the same time I can't complain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Not good

    I really didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    i loved this short story and his others

    this story was like WOW...I love this story very much so...i know you horror fans will love it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Fair

    This ahort needs some work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    not bad

    not bad for a short story. not great, but a quick read. not lots of suspence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Sucks

    Theres a reason why it's free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Dnt read to little kids

    Love the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2