Customer Reviews for

The Bastard

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Have Always Enjoyed John Jakes

This is the second time I've read John Jake's book, The Bastard, the first time was in the 70's. The book is well researched, well written and absolutely riveting. Not only did I enjoy this book, but I became so absorbed in the story that I went on to read the entire ...
This is the second time I've read John Jake's book, The Bastard, the first time was in the 70's. The book is well researched, well written and absolutely riveting. Not only did I enjoy this book, but I became so absorbed in the story that I went on to read the entire 8 book series of "The Kent Family Chronicles". I was left still wanting more.

Yes I would highly recommend any of Jakes' books, especially "The Bastard" to anyone with a love of American history.

posted by 18596959 on January 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start to this historical series

This book is the first in a series by John Jakes, and it is very well written, although a bit slow in spots. Very historically descriptive and many recognizable figures from pre-Revolutionary America

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Have Always Enjoyed John Jakes

    This is the second time I've read John Jake's book, The Bastard, the first time was in the 70's. The book is well researched, well written and absolutely riveting. Not only did I enjoy this book, but I became so absorbed in the story that I went on to read the entire 8 book series of "The Kent Family Chronicles". I was left still wanting more.

    Yes I would highly recommend any of Jakes' books, especially "The Bastard" to anyone with a love of American history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    An early version of historical fiction!

    If you enjoy historical fiction, romance and adventure, this book and series is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Historical Fiction

    I read this book many, many years ago and read the entire series. I bought this book for my husband to read as I couldn't find my old copy. It is an excellent historical fiction book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Fiction and non-fiction are blended beautifully here!

    In my opinion no one combines tirelessly researched history and gripping, fast paced fiction like John Jakes.The first book of an 8 book saga featuring the Kent family, this book begins with a teenage Phillip Kent growing up in France with his mother, who runs an Inn that is barely making it cash-flow wise. With drama, humor, romance, adventure and more we follow Phillip as he seeks the truth about his father and embarks on a great adventure for answers hoping to meet his father. I have read the Kent family cronicles twice and have all of Jakes books. I cannot say enough about the complete satisfaction derived from this or any of his novels. I'd give it 6-stars if possible. Just an EXCELLENT READ in all-respects!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Good start to this historical series

    This book is the first in a series by John Jakes, and it is very well written, although a bit slow in spots. Very historically descriptive and many recognizable figures from pre-Revolutionary America

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    Childhood, Adolescence, Immigration, American Revolution Soldier

    John Jakes' first novel in the Kent Family Chronicles follows the life of a young Frenchman known later in America as Phillip Kent from his humble beginning through his youth and on to America. This novel helps us to understand why Europeans left their native land and immigrated. The characters are vibrant and revealing of early American stamina and strength of character. John Jakes' has given an identity to historical America. Thank you John.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2000

    One of the best war and romance novels!!!

    I actually just started this book in August (2000). And, believe me, it is a great book so far. It's pretty easy to read too. If you are looking for a war or historical fiction book, get The Bastard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Amazing book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    This book was my favorite book of the series ( I have read 5 tim

    This book was my favorite book of the series ( I have read 5 times since 1976), best series I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Fhmvjuovn gjtutun

    Uotuutyuti t .jlda vn
    Bei yo hyuujvn
    Iyti .uiuvnfj

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    The Bastard

    Excellent historical fiction. Good for all ages, although young adults might find some of the language a little anachronistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Excellent way to learn American history

    The Kent Family Chronicles are excellent! They start just prior to the American Revolution and continue up to the turn of the 20th century. Plus Jakes carries the main characters on into the North and South trilogy. I learned more about American history reading The Kent Family Chronicles than I ever did in high school. Highly recommended reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Fantastic

    I love this entire series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2