Customer Reviews for

The Bear

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A child's perspective I received an advance reader edition of t

A child's perspective

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little, Brown and Company and Net Galley for the purpose of review.

I really enjoyed this book. It is no secret that I read a lot. I have read lots of books. Because I read so many books, I o...
A child's perspective

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little, Brown and Company and Net Galley for the purpose of review.

I really enjoyed this book. It is no secret that I read a lot. I have read lots of books. Because I read so many books, I often see similarities in the book that I am reading to other books that I have read. A plot that was exciting the first time that I experienced it may not be quite as much fun the twentieth time I encounter it. That is why I liked this book so much…It was different! I do realize that other books have been told from the point of view of a young child but this is the first time that I have had the privilege to read a book written in that format.

This book starts out with 5 year old Anna camping with her family. Anna is not sure what is going on when she hears yelling. The next thing she knows she is being thrown into the cooler by her father along with her brother. After time passes and things quiet down, Anna gets the cooler open and hears her mother. Her mother tells her to get her brother in the canoe and she will catch up. Anna does as she is told and takes care of her 2 year old brother “Sticky” until they are found. This story is told in the wandering way that a 5 year old experiences life. The author was able to truly capture the innocence of childhood. The epilogue ends the story perfectly.

I would rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was well written and the main character was so realistic. Every time Anna sniffed her bear Gwen, I thought about how my own daughter would throw a fit every time I washed her pink doggie because then he smelled “funny” in her eyes. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something a little out of the ordinary.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on February 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An insightful novel

I do recommend this book, not because of a suspenseful plot, but for the insight I got into a 5 year old's mind. She's resourceful and fanciful at the same time. An excellent, quick read.

posted by 263235 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A child's perspective I received an advance reader edition of t

    A child's perspective

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little, Brown and Company and Net Galley for the purpose of review.

    I really enjoyed this book. It is no secret that I read a lot. I have read lots of books. Because I read so many books, I often see similarities in the book that I am reading to other books that I have read. A plot that was exciting the first time that I experienced it may not be quite as much fun the twentieth time I encounter it. That is why I liked this book so much…It was different! I do realize that other books have been told from the point of view of a young child but this is the first time that I have had the privilege to read a book written in that format.

    This book starts out with 5 year old Anna camping with her family. Anna is not sure what is going on when she hears yelling. The next thing she knows she is being thrown into the cooler by her father along with her brother. After time passes and things quiet down, Anna gets the cooler open and hears her mother. Her mother tells her to get her brother in the canoe and she will catch up. Anna does as she is told and takes care of her 2 year old brother “Sticky” until they are found. This story is told in the wandering way that a 5 year old experiences life. The author was able to truly capture the innocence of childhood. The epilogue ends the story perfectly.

    I would rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was well written and the main character was so realistic. Every time Anna sniffed her bear Gwen, I thought about how my own daughter would throw a fit every time I washed her pink doggie because then he smelled “funny” in her eyes. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something a little out of the ordinary.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite In The Bear by au

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    In The Bear by author Claire Cameron, we meet a young girl, who is five years old, and her two-year-old brother. The sound of her mother screaming awakened Anna. Her father grabbed her and her brother Stick, threw them in a large cooler, and told them to stay there. A black bear had attacked the campsite. The young children stayed hidden for hours but they were hungry and frightened. Anna heard the sound of teeth scraping on bone from inside their hiding place. When they called for Mommy and Daddy, no one answered. Eventually they managed to open the cooler and crawl out. The only food they found was a tin of cookies with sharp teeth marks in the metal. Anna coaxed Stick into the boat and paddled with her hands. Anna was just a child and yet she had to step into the role of protector.

    The Bear, read by Cassandra Morris, is a frightening tale surrounding a camping trip. I will never go camping again after listening to this book. This tale is loosely based on an actual bear attack that took place in 1991. Cassandra Morris’s voice was perfection in this book. The Bear is told through Anna’s eyes. While it was obvious to the reader what was actually happening, young Anna thought the bear was a large dog. Although Anna and Stick survive, there are lasting effects from the experience. I felt Anna’s terror as she walked with her makeshift spear. It was the aftermath that brought me to tears. Claire Cameron is a talented author; she demonstrated all the emotions Anna was facing - fear, loss, hunger, and anger. The action was so realistic that the reader will swear they could smell the bear’s breath. This is not a good book; it is a great book. The Bear is totally mesmerizing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Thats what she said

    XDXDXDXOLOLOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Great beach read!

    Told from the point of view of a five year old it has all the denial,grief, resonsibility and love of a person facing disaster.Well wtitten,stong finish,a book to actively discuss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Wow, don't miss this book !

    Truly fascinatiing book- one of the best books l've read in years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Proud of Nana....Great Read.

    As I read the book I felt there were many points that seemed to ramble on...areas that could have been condensed. Then I had to remember that the events were being relayed through the mind of a 5 year old little girl. The author does a great job of putting you in Anna's head.

    As you progress through the story you just want to somehow get to them and help them. As a parent my heart was breaking for them. I have kids the exact ages and I could not help but picture my daughter having to take on that role for her brother.

    The book sucks you in and there is no real point to take a reading break because you want/have to know what is going to happen next.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love to read. And I read a lot. I only choose books I know I'm

    I love to read. And I read a lot. I only choose books I know I'm going to enjoy. But every so often, there's that book that goes beyond that enjoyment feeling - one that absolutely grabs you, has you tingling with anticipation knowing there's an amazing story just waiting within the pages, one that you can't wait to tell others about.

    Well, I'm telling you - The Bear by Claire Cameron is one of those books. I literally could not put it down. Twenty pages in, I just knew I wasn't going to bed early that night.

    In October of 1991, a pair of campers was attacked by a bear in Algonquin Park, Canada. "There is no clear reason for what happened other than a hungry bear decided to take a chance on a new source of food." Author Cameron was a counsellor at a summer camp at Algonquin that year as well. "The Bear is based on my memories of and research into this bear attack. I added the kids."

    Yes, kids. The Bear is told through the eyes and voice of five year old Anna. She and her two year old brother Stick, are the survivors of an attack that kills their parents - and leaves them alone in the vast wilderness that is Algonquin.

    As adults, we know what is happening and what they should do, but Anna is only five and has limited skills, knowledge and experience to draw on. It is frightening and heartbreaking to imagine this truly happening - the confusion, the questions, the fear and the loss. Cameron does a truly fantastic job of bringing this to the page with Anna's voice. Through her memories, thoughts and senses (smell and touch are very important to Anna) we come to know the children, the family's life, the parents and their love for Anna and Stick. Anna draws on her memories time and time again as she struggles with what to do.

    The Bear is told in a 'stream-of-consciousness', non-linear format that was highly effective and heightened the tension.

    Emotional, unsettling, gripping and gut-wrenchingly good. Highly, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1