Customer Reviews for

The Beast

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good spin

Nice version on a classic tale.

posted by 4803023 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A good idea that needs more development. The thought hearing th

A good idea that needs more development.

The thought hearing the tale through the Beast's standpoint pulled me into this freebie. Yes, this means I did misread the overview. The characters aren't developed at all. We are immediately thrown into the story. If you don't ...
A good idea that needs more development.

The thought hearing the tale through the Beast's standpoint pulled me into this freebie. Yes, this means I did misread the overview. The characters aren't developed at all. We are immediately thrown into the story. If you don't know the classic tale then go rent the Disney movie or google it. If you don't you will be lost. The author isn't clear on the timeline of everything. The reader is left pretty unclear on many details of this take on a classic tale.

The idea of the story is quirky and fun. The detailed sex scene and cursing really isn't needed. I'm so sick of stories using sex scenes for a quick cheap sell. Give me more of the story not a stupid cheap porn thrill.

The idea for a good story is there. The author seemed afraid to develop a good round story. If you have a half hour for a quick read go ahead. Just overlook the flaws. This book really could use a pulling and a rewrite.

posted by NickyDuvyrda on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good spin

    Nice version on a classic tale.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    WOW!!READ THIS!!!

    A beautiful read review by SilverFire

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Wonderful twist on an enduring Fairy Tale.

    Every rendition, be it rated G, PG or R, follows the same basic plot: Beauty hates the Beast, then feels sorry for him, then loves him as he's fallen in love with her. Beauty then redeems the Beast, brakes his curse, he becomes a handsome prince and they live Happily Ever After.

    While this author stays true to the original formula; the fresh look and new ride this author takes you on is no less than amazing.

    I absolutly enjoyed reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Best

    It amazing book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Love different takes on faery tales

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great rendition!

    I really enjoyed this... i read it all in one sitting. I definately recommend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    The beast

    They need to make this into a movie its that good. I never put it down. Best version of beauty and the beast ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Relly relly good

    I liked it alot it says yes men can be the ture beast but you have to try and get though there head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Well written

    Nice version of fairy tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Wow

    This was a great new take on beauty and the beast. Lovrd it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Read it loved it....

    Read it loved it........Gives the fairytail a new twist....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Well writen and enjoyable. This is the first book I have read by this author but it will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book. 172 pages from start to finish, it was a wonderful, short retelling of Beauty and the Beast. A little more... erotic than I like or expect in fairy tales but I still enjoyed it and highly reccomend it to anyone who loves retellings. I can't wait to read the prequel! Not reccomended for anyone under 15 at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great Retelling

    I really loved the original story and this retelling works as a more adult companion. The only part of this story that bothered me were the two sides to the beast. Is it one man with two very different personalities, or two men in the same body?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Beast

    Very clever. Loved it! Wished it lasted longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Loved it.

    Wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    so good

    awesome storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Loved it

    I really enjoyed this just could have been longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Excelent

    Action adventure and love great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Enjoyed this story

    This is a differant take of a fairy tale we have read before. I enjoyed it very much. I would read this auther again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3