Customer Reviews for

The Beauty Book: The Lily Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    I LOVED THE BEAUTY BOOK: I chose to read “The Beauty Book&

    I LOVED THE BEAUTY BOOK: I chose to read “The Beauty Book” by Nancy Rue because I was curious as to what type of books were available to young girls besides the usual get skinny look perfect magazines I see on the shelves of some stores. As a mother I taught my daughters to understand that you can be a beautiful as you want and still be ugly. Now that I am a grandmother I find my granddaughter is faced with appearance challenges where ever she goes.
    “The Beauty Book” examines every myth young girls (7 and up) are faced with every day while revealing what the bible says about her body. I was impressed with the presentation of information, non-lecturing matter of fact stories which gave believable examples. I loved the book but would it pass the girl test?
    My granddaughter and I sat down and read the book together. After reading chapter one “You Gotta Love It” together I asked her what she thought of the book. She enjoyed it and she understood the message.
    This is an excellent book for young girls and some old one’s too! I would suggest parents purchase this book and use it as a catalyst to discuss personal image, what the bible says about our bodies and how we should look at ourselves. The book discusses every aspect, that I can think of, regarding body images including piercings, tattoos, and fashion trends.
    Of course I recommend this book.
    A complimentary eBook was provided to me by Book Sneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!

    If your a christian and you need a good song to cheer you up. Heres one. Its called Gold. Heres the first part:

    Your walkin on the moon and your feelin lo-o-o-ow
    What they said isnt true your beau-ti-fu-ul
    Sticks and stones break your bones I know what your feelin
    Words like those wont steal your glow
    YOUR ONE IN A MILLION!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This,this is for all the girls,boys all over the world
    Whatever youve been told your worth more than gold
    So put your head up high Its your time to shine
    Through the inside out it shows
    Your worth more than Go-o-o-old N'ya sho-o-o-ows
    Every body keeps score afraid ya lo-o-o-ose just ignore
    They dont know the real you
    All the rain in the sky cant put out your fi-ya
    All the stars out toni-ight (out toni-ight) YOU SHINE BRIGHTER
    This ,this is for all the girls boys all over the world
    Whatever youve been told your worth more than gold
    So put your head up high Its your time to shine
    From the inside out it shows
    Your worth more than Go-o-o-old N'ya sho-o-o-ows
    (RAP)
    So dont let anybody tell ya let your not loved
    And dont let anybody tell ya that your not enough
    Yes there are days when you can feel messed up
    We're all diamonds in the rough
    So dont be ashamed to wear your crown
    Your a queen your a king inside and out
    You glow like the moon
    You shine like the stars
    This is for you
    WEREVER YOU AAAARRREEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This this is for all the girls boys all over the world
    Whatever youve been told your worth more than gold
    So put your head up high
    Its your time to shine
    From the inside out it shows
    Your waorth more than Go-o-o-old N'ya sho-o-o-ows
    So dont be ashamed to wear your crown
    YOUR A QUEEN YOUR A KING INSIDE AND OUT!!!!!!!
    (that was actually the whole song)
    Hoped you loved it. If you can look it up on you tube.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    The beauty Book

    I loved this book! Its great if your struggling with insecurities or need to figure out how you are beautiful, especially in GOD'S eyes. Nancy Rue has written a good one again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Prize

    To all mothers who want lovely books for your child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Antomus

    Its pretty good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lily has learned that we should be proud of the gifts God gave u

    Lily has learned that we should be proud of the gifts God gave us whether it be red hair or large lips. He has made us in his image. He has given us these body to care for. Our bodies are temples of God.

    The Lily series for girls 7-11 years old is not only inspiring but pure fun. This Beauty Book is a great addition to the series. It is somewhat of a activity workbook. A companion journal would be good with this book. I raised four daughters and this would be a fun book to share with girlfriends asking each other the questions from the book. They can experiment with some of the activities like styling their hair and giving each other manicures and pedicures. This book will also help girls build there self-esteem and teach them proper hygiene.

    I recommend this book for young girls.

    Disclosure:
    I received a digital copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Every day we are bombarded with the world view of what beauty is

    Every day we are bombarded with the world view of what beauty is. Young girls are more often than not faced with themselves as “ordinary” rather than the perfect masterpieces that God has designed them to be. Rue aims to filter the truth out of the lies of the world’s fickle idea of beauty and allows young girls to see themselves through the lens of the master designer. An engaging book – young girls are given the opportunity of exploring God’s idea of their very unique beauty (no matter what they look like) in an engaging and fun way.

    Packed with scripture, specific to image issues that we face, beauty tips and interesting tips, this book keeps the reader involved and thinking. A fun read aimed at tweens and teens (and good for us older girls too). Nancy Rue keeps us entertained and thinking about the truth of beauty in God’s eyes even after we’ve closed the book. Highly recommended to keep girls believing the truth about themselves and how God made them just the way he wanted them to be.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Need a reference book to help answer the questions of curious tw

    Need a reference book to help answer the questions of curious tweens? This could be the book you need........nancy Rue has a n amazing talent (or does she have a young daughter), for identifying many of the concerns a young lady might have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    When I saw The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue, I was very curious abou

    When I saw The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue, I was very curious about how it could help my daughter. It is one of many Lily Series books. I decided to read the book first before allowing my daughter to have it just to make sure that I agreed with what was said and it would not go against what I was teaching her. It didn't. I was very impressed with the book. It reads just like a child would talk, so it's very easy to read.

    It starts with talking about ways to be happy with your body and find confidence even if you aren't the current definition of beautiful. Next it shows girls how to best take care of the temple God gave them, from their hair and nails to their skin and clothes.

    I love that the book encourages kids to respect their parent's decisions and to be patient and to earn the trust they want when asking for privileges. In fact, it's probably my favorite part because I have a hard time getting my girls to respect the decisions I make. All in all I would say this book is a great book for any girl 8-13 years old who is having trouble with self-image.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    I have to admit, the cover of The Lily Series book, The Beauty B

    I have to admit, the cover of The Lily Series book, The Beauty Book, was what made me really want to read this book and then pass it on to my younger cousin. I have red hair and my family members all have red hair, so I thought this book would be the perfect gift for my middle-school aged cousin. I am so happy I selected the book by Nancy Rue for review. The book is formatted as a Question and Answer, and it asks questions about skincare, shaving, clothing, braces, nail polish, and many other topics that are of interested to tween-aged girls. There are also quizzes, the Lily pad where you can fill in certain questions, and the “talking to God about it” section.


    I think this book will be great for girls in Middle School, as it talks about topics all girls worry about, and it does it in a Godly manner. There are also cute little drawings, and as I mentioned before, I love the cover art. J I think the tips contained in this book will help with things from clothing selection to steps on how to do a manicure and pedicure.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    Expressed in a teenage way for girls.A MUST!

    I could not wait to start filling in all the blanks and doing the quizzes and stuff.After reading this book, it made me like, more knowledgeable on nail care, hair care and lots of other stuff. I can't wait to read the other Liliy books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    This book is very helpful

    This book is good for girls. It tells them that you don't have to look like a superstar and that God loves you just the way you are. It also helps with parts of growing up. I recommend this book for any girls from about 8 to 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    A Way cool Way to Explain True Beauty

    This book is great for preteen-teen girls! It uses the Bible to help explain what true beauty is, and how to take care of your physical beauty as well. It talkes about hair, hands, feet, shaving, and more. It's similar to the American Girl book, 'The Care and Keeping of You'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1