Customer Reviews for

The Beekeeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Wanted So Badly to Love It

    I am a big fan of Tori and will generally buy it if she sings it- but not this. Thank God I heard American Doll Posse before I heard this or i might have thought that she lost her touch. I don't know what it is; The music is fuzzy around the edges. it seems dull. maybe it's bad production; maybe she was trying something different, but I just can't force myself to like this CD (and i really want to!) The songwriting isn't bad. Her vocals aren't bad. If you hear this CD in concert some of the songs sound awesome. Out of 19 songs, I like 2 - the title track and Sleeps with Butterflies, both of which i could live wihout. I can't put my finger on the problem, but this recording just doesn't work for me. Such a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    miss the old Tori

    Beginning with 'Venus', Tori has spiraled into boring. Her albums, especially this one, have become monotonus, punchless affairs where most of the songs are indistinguishable and lack tempo, beat and interest--she's practically Sarah McLachlan. The music on 'Beekeeper' is unvaried, soft and uncreative--of course its only purpose is to (barely) let you know you've switched from one song to another. The lyrics, which take up almost every second of every song (no wonder she's not spending any time coming up with interesting music--no one would get to hear it anyway) have become self-absorbed, droning, babble, annoying in that they never go anywhere--she's dropped all effort at being self-revealing, or even just interesting. Convinced of her own brilliance she's content to just roll anything out there. From the genius who mastered confessional songs in the 90's we are now getting elevator music--like Sting, she seems so convinced of her depth and complexity that we're supposed worship her every utterance leaving her free to produce nothing more than unemotional singing of pointless, painlessly forgettable lyrics. The last time she put out anything with any urgency, intensity, feeling, energy (or even variety) was Strange Little Girls--a cover album. Left to her own devices she has become nothing more than a creator of valium on disc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Whole New Originality

    When I was younger, and I heard some of her tracks before, like Cornflake girl, I liked them. But I always thought Tori's music was a little too alternative for my style. I'm more of a McLachlan girl. But when she came out with Scarlet's Walk, I heard Crazy, and I knew I had to by the album. Now, with The Beekeeper, I can really enjoy Tori's wonderful, unique voice, but in a more conservative tone. The album is awesome, filled with emotion. But personal favorites are Ribbons Undone, and of course, Sleeps With Butterflies. If your a fan of Tori, you can see her in a slightly different light. And if you're a fan of Sarah McLachlan, you're sure to love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Queen Bee of Artsy Pop Concocts a Sweet Album

    Once the angry darling of yesterday's innovative, piano driven alternative rock now strangely belongs with the likes of adult contemporary alumni, John Mayer and Sarah McLachlan. The softer side of Tori began a few years ago with her last album, "Scarlet's Walk," and perhaps it comes with age, too. Despite this, Ms. Amos offers a delicate but delectable album with, "The Beekeeper." The concept may not gel together as well as it did with the travelogue on "Scarlet's Walk," but on lush soundscapes like, "Jamaica Inn," "Martha's Foolish Ginger," "Goodbye Pisces," and "Marys of the Sea," Tori hasn't sounded more stunning since "Under the Pink." A few other gems include, "Mother Revolution," the catchy and fun, "Cars and Guitars", and the title track, a techno tinged, seven minute trip to the underground. And who can resist the typical Tori quirkiness of "The Power of Orange Knickers," a duet with Damien Rice? Overall, the album feels bloated at 19 songs and could have been more effective if pared down to a dozen instead. Most notably, the sentimental, "Ribbons Undone," the light-hearted, "Ireland", and the throwaway bar song, "Hoochie Woman," could have been left as B-sides. With that said, it leaves the album feeling uneven. This is certainly not Tori's best, but it's not her worst either. Lyrically, she hasn't been this direct since "Little Earthquakes" but maintains enough mystery to please die-hard fans. Her fascination with Mary Magdalene continues as she frequently peppers songs with Biblical references, approaching it from her unique feminist viewpoint. No longer the confessional, victimized priestess of dark pop, Tori burns bright with a newfound maturity and contentment that probably can be attributed to her marriage with sound engineer, Mark Hawley, the birth of her now four year old daughter, Natashya, and the fact that she is over 40. Despite this, she is still an acquired and original taste, which brings me to the conclusion that you can't guzzle "The Beekeeper" down in one gulp. You need to sip it and let it simmer inside you before you can fully enjoy it. Bottomline is, you'll want to be stung again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori, the ever-evolving

    Although different from her first 2, (they all were), The Beekeeper is another point in the journey of Tori's existence, and one that I've enjoyed following for a dozen years. As with all of her creations, they are mostly reflections of what is in her world in the now. She has been through a lot through the last 12 years, and each CD has a different flavor, LE being a musically delicious and raw view into her psyche, BFP, called "the breakup" album, Choirgirl after the tragic miscarriage, et cetera. I've aged with Tori, and this CD certainly has a more grown-up, softer, and polished feel, but she has succeded in rocking my world, as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ever-changing, ever-evolving, ever-Tori

    I have been a Tori fan since her album 'Little Earthquakes' and I have seen her style change, adapt and go through many musical as well as emotional phases, and this is what makes her so easy for me to relate to in her music. She delves into her music on a very personal level with 'The Beekeeper' and takes a look into the "gardens" that it is to be human, each one very deep, different and personal. This album varies in sound from her more "traditional" stylings, but then again, each album is a complete rebirth of her style, which makes Tori an artist you can relate to no matter what point in life you are at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wonderful adventure, again!

    This album takes you on a journey with a surprise around every corner. I've been a devoted fan for 12 years and I am not dissapointed at all. I like her first 2 albums, but have really been taken with her since Boys for Pele. Keep up the good work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1