Customer Reviews for

The Beginning of Everything

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Beautifully painful and funny. The description of the silent fla

    Beautifully painful and funny. The description of the silent flash mob made me cry with happiness. This book perfectly illustrates that it IS possible to go on, even after the "worst" has already happened. I LOVED this book, and am holding my breath for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Oh my goodness!!! so many feels at the end!! After finishing the

    Oh my goodness!!! so many feels at the end!! After finishing the book I held it for about 10 minutes and wept!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great

    I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Incredible book, though it wasn't quite what I expected

    Incredible book, though it wasn't quite what I expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this novel, I loved that the book is told from a

    I really liked this novel, I loved that the book is told from a male perspective and i loved Ezra and his pals. I'd love to see these characters again. Ezra's world changes drastically at the end of his junior year and when Senior year starts his world at school is vastly different but with the help of his old pal Toby and Cassidy the charming and mysterious new girl he will gradually try to figure out his new place until he learns that life is more complicated than he could have imagined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Amazing

    Must read! This book literslly made me cry. I couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Gary

    Laying in my bed. Nooking lol

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    I don't want to be a party pooper, but I just couldn't get into

    I don't want to be a party pooper, but I just couldn't get into this book and I couldn't for the life of me figure why Barnes & Noble bothered to display it. The plot is ridiculous and the characters are completely boring. Save your time and money and read something else.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Ezra Faulkner believes that everyone has a tragedy waiting to ha

    Ezra Faulkner believes that everyone has a tragedy waiting to happen. And when Ezra's tragedy happens, it turns him from the Homecoming King and Student Body president into a totally different person and into a direction that Ezra never imagined he would go. 




    I have been stewing over this one for a while. This one had SO much potential. I loved Ezra, and the story itself was great, but at the end, I just felt, blah.  I think that was why I kept putting off reviewing it.  It just really, well, missed.  I wanted to love it, but, it just didn't work for me… 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so great!! Besides that, the audio made it better

    This book was so great!! Besides that, the audio made it better for me. This book sucked me right in and held me close throughout! Starting off with a tragic accident, it instantly had my attention. I then slowly, but surely became totally wrapped up in Ezra's story and his life. I loved the friendships formed, and even the friendships lost. I felt a true sense of how it really is in high school, so it felt very real to me. This could have been anyone's story that I was reading, not a fiction tale. I actual started to feel like I really knew the characters by the time I finished this book. The audio just made it that much better. Also, a note on the title. This book was originally going to be titled Severed Heads, Broken Hearts which was fitting, but I think that The Beginning of Everything is a perfect title and fits the book really well.

    Ezra was a character that you can't help but love. Well, I couldn't anyways. I loved his humor and he was really a great guy. Yes, he made some not so great decisions, but who doesn't when you're that age. He isn't the stuck up popular guy, even when he is popular. After his accident, he isn't himself, but he doesn't let it destroy him. He still keeps his sense of self. He is still a fun person. He still wants friendships that mean something. High school is a tough place though. Trying to find his place between being Mr. Popular, and being with his old friend Toby (and new ones) is a fine line that he's not quite secure walking. He does mess up, but ultimately he knows what is right and wrong, and who is really a good friend.

    Cassidy is the other main character in this. Cassidy is like his new start. She is different, not afraid to speak what's on her mind, and still quite mysterious too. She makes him want to open up and be himself, not what other people want him to be. He isn't afraid to do that around her. He doesn't change to please her though, he just lets himself show because he feels like she lets him do that. She was his stepping stone in a way. I loved watching their relationship grow.

    The reader captured Ezra perfectly. I thought that his voice matched his character well. I wasn't a huge fan of the female voices or a few of the other male voices, but it was easy to tell each character apart. Since this is largely Ezra's story, I have to say that this reader was a great choice though. I think he really brought the book to life.

    This book had so much to offer. The plot was wonderful and the character growth was incredible. Robyn Schneider sure writes characters that you can easily relate to, connect with, become friends with. I felt like I was making friends right along with Ezra. When things weren't going well, I ached with him. I felt the story all around me. I was part of it. I thought the writing was beautiful, and even though it was emotional at times, the humor kept it from having too much of a serious feel. It was a fantastic combination of awesome! I will be looking out for more books from this author!

    * An audiobook copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        Loved Ezra's voice... Funny and captivating. Exactly what a

        Loved Ezra's voice... Funny and captivating. Exactly what a male protagonist should be. The first person pov works well here, and Robyn Schneider the author is a great storyteller through Ezra. Ezra was sarcastic and tragic, making heavy and light of just the right things. He was brutally honest at times, but also knows how to tell the story without being gratuitous or grusome, but still getting his point across. I just loved the writing style so much! 
        I reviewed this because I loved the synposis, the weird first name of Severed heads, broken hearts (before it changed to the Beginning of Everything) intrigued me, and especially since it was on Edelweiss, though I would have eventually bought or got from the library.
        Friendship with Toby was good too and hate they went apart for a while but story would have been different. Makes me think about all the little decisions that really effect so much. I adored Toby because he took Ezra right back into his circle without question. He gave him a hard time only in that I love you man ragging kind of way, letting him know by saying the opposite that he accepts him.
       Cassidy is the love interest in this one, and she is elusive, seems not to care what others think, just is her own person. I liked her, and wanted to know more about her, and only very little by little did it come out. I think that her and Ezra work together, and though there is a bit of insta-love it seems more at first like physical attraction and seeing a wounded part of each other's soul and connecting that way. So, it worked for me, but I can see how it might not for some others.
       I really enjoy the debate group too. What made this awesome was just that everyone was realistic. No one was perfect, and had their strengths and weaknesses. They were more than one dimensional as well, which is awesome. 
       The ending is so bittersweet, because some of the things I wanted to happen and work out didn't but ultimately we see this huge character growth and development in Ezra that somehow made it all worth it. 




    Bottom Line: Awesome witty writing style, a bittersweet character driven story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Since I've been on this deeper contemporary kick for basically t

    Since I've been on this deeper contemporary kick for basically the entire summer, I started asking for recommendations for what to read. I got a couple people that told me this doesn't have a deeper meaning, but its still a contemp that I would love because basically everyone that had read it loved it. So I decided to give it a try. In the end, it wasn't exactly what I was expecting but I did enjoy it.
         Obviously there were some things that I did enjoy so I'll start there first. I loved the characters. Ezra started out as what seemed like a douche in the beginning, but as the story went on I loved that he found himself.He grew and became such an amazing person. Seriously if he was a real life character, I'd probably have been friends with him. His humor and the way he felt about telling jokes was exactly the way I felt. I have to admit, I connected with him in more ways than one. I also loved Toby. He was also an amazing person. Even after all those years he didn't hold a grudge against Ezra and accepted him back so many times without any question. He was such a great friend.
         I also liked the romance. For it to be written in from a male POV I was expecting a lot of crude comments, but Schneider made it obvious that Ezra loved Cassidy. It was a bit insta-lovey in my opinion, but I thought when you're as broken as Ezra was, company is much needed. I also loved that it went against what I normally read and didn't provide the exact Happily Ever After that I had originally been hoping for.
         What I didn't like was the plot. It felt like it wasn't going anywhere. Not until the dance night and obviously that was the end. It felt like we were just watching his life day by day to see the few parts between him and Cassidy and that was it. If the book had been mostly like the last 20%, I probably would have loved it a whole lot more.
         This book was certainly hyped up, but in my honest opinion, they hyped it up just a little too much. Even still, this coming of age novel is filled with humor and amazing characters. They all had me hooked from the very beginning, even if it was just to see where everyone ended up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    This is one of those stories where I can honestly say I was hook

    This is one of those stories where I can honestly say I was hooked from page one. Here, let me give you a little looksie at how this story begins:




    “Sometimes I think that everyone has a tragedy waiting for them, that the people buying milk in their pajamas or picking their nose at stoplights could be only moments away from disaster. That everyone’s life, no matter how remarkable, has a moment when it will become extraordinary – a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen.”
    Yep, completely and utterly hooked.




    The Beginning of Everything is told from Ezra’s POV. Ezra has suffered a huge tragedy that has forever changed his life. As the future tennis superstar and prom king, with the prettiest girl in school on his arm, Ezra, the Golden Boy, had it all. He was the most popular guy in school, and he knew it. After the horrific event he’s forced to reevaluate himself and his future life, and accept the fact that things will be forever different.








    “The way I see it, everyone has a tragedy.”
    This story really made me think. It’s true… everyone seems to have something, a life-changing incident or “tragedy”, that really makes you who you are. I know mine. It’s nothing like what Ezra went through, but it’s a form of “tragedy” that I went through that shaped me into who I am today. Because of that, I really connected with this story on a personal level.




    I absolutely adored the characters in this story. Ezra, as our MC, immediately melted my heart. I felt for him, for both his loss physically and mentally. That’s a lot for a teenager to go through, and the way his feelings and his thinking were displayed through his conduct and dialog was perfect. He was so strong, yet vulnerable. He was a prime example of suffering in silence.




    Cassidy, the debate team star from another school, was so different from the other girls at Ezra’s school. There’s a mystery surrounding her, which really helped carry the story in a great direction. Toby, which we discover in the first chapter also suffered a horrifically graphic tragedy himself several years ago, proved that you can learn and grow when bad things happen, and become better because of them.




    The fact that this story was told from Ezra’s POV really brought it home for me. He had such a sarcastic and witty nature about him, I couldn’t help becoming attached to his character. His mere demeanor was laugh-out-loud funny! I wish I knew Ezra in real life… we would definitely be friends. :)




    I enjoy “real” stories. Everything’s not always rainbows and butterflies. And because of the realistic nature of this story, I loved it until the bitter end. It had all the feels. A coming-of-age story about personal growth and learning to make good things out of the bad. Fair warning – grab a few tissues!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Beginning o

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
    Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
    Publication Date: August 27, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

    No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

    But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes? 

    Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a lyrical, witty, and heart-wrenching novel about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.


    What I Liked:

    This book was totally not what I was expecting! I remember when I requested it from Edelweiss - I think it was one of the first books I requested, and one of the first books for which I was approved. So, I've had this one for quite some time! I wasn't feeling contemporary novels for a while, but eventually, I pulled myself out of my contemporary funk, buckled down, and started this book.

    I immediately found that I really liked the hero (male protagonist) of the story. This book is told in first-person point-of-view - in Ezra's point-of-view. Somehow, I missed that before I started reading, and was a tad bit confused at first. But a few pages in, the narrator is identified as "Ezra". Well, you all know how much I like reading books in the male's point-of-view. This book was written exclusively in the Ezra's point-of-view!

    The story begins with Ezra's accident, which leaves him with barely any use in his legs. At a party, his girlfriend broke up with him, and when he was leaving, a black SUV drove straight into Ezra's car. He can walk, but only with a cane. He cannot play tennis anymore. When school starts, he fins that things aren't the same between him and his tennis friends. So, he becomes friends again with a boy that he grew up with, but no longer hung out with for quite some time.

    Toby, the friend, is part of the Debate team, and so are his friends. So Ezra goes from being labeled the popular, Golden boy, to the crippled nerd. Enter Cassidy, the new girl, who was the rival school's top debater. Cassidy and Ezra slowly build a relationship, starting with both of them unknowingly signing up for the debate team.

    Cassidy and Ezra's relationship is beautiful to watch, but there was always something about Cassidy that bothered me. Ezra knew she was hiding something from him, but he can't help liking her. They enter a boyfriend-girlfriend relationship, and they go on the debate field trip, and they hang out like a normal, wonderful couple.

    The addition of Toby as Ezra's friend is perfect and awesome! I loved Toby's role in this book. All of Ezra's new friends are welcoming and nonjudgmental, and they do and don't expect much from Ezra. Ezra's old friends expected him to hang out with them like a normal day, but obviously, he couldn't play tennis with them. And don't get me started on his weird ex-girlfriend.

    The climax of this book is not surprising, as Cassidy's strange behavior merits, but the ending is slightly heartbreaking. I absolutely love the ending, but it's a bit sad. I think all the characters got what they deserved (good or bad). I'm happy with the way this one ended!


    What I Did Not Like:

    I just found this one a bit boring, but it seems like not much happens. I like seeing the progression of Cassidy and Ezra's relationship, but I feel like this book was solely based around their relationship and Cassidy's big secret. Nothing else really matters in this book, which is kind of annoying, because I wouldn't call this book contemporary romance. Contemporary, yes, romance, eh. I just wish there could have been more to the plot, you know? It seemed to simple and boring.


    Would I Recommend It:

    Sure! The "romance" part of this book isn't steamy or chemistry-filled, but this book is a great contemporary read that delivers an amazing and powerful message to its readers.


    Rating:

    4 stars. I really liked this one, and I hope you do too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1