Customer Reviews for

The Belgariad, Volume 1: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit

Average Rating 5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    David Eddings is a truely talent author especially when it comes to The Belgariad and the Malloreon series. I would highly, highly recommend all 10 books of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I love the Belgariad!!!

    I simply love this series. It's AWESOME. Although it's not very new, the plot and storyline is still really good and there's not much of crappy romance in there. I've always been a big fan of fantasy and I love all fantasy books. But I feel the Belgariad is still the best among them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    This is a series I would recommend to anyone. The story is great and it flows well. Very well written, and the characters are so well done that they seem real. You feel like they are actually people that you know. This is definitely staying in my permanent library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Like this format

    This series is one of my favorites. I also like them in this format instead of all the separate books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book to read over and over again

    David Eddings has a great literary style. He can instantly pull you into his books and keep you there til the end. I think it was great when they combined the Belgariad into two volumes. Not only was it easier to buy just two books for the whole series, but it also made it easier to read. With the first three books being in one volume, I had trouble putting it down. I swear I read the entire Belgariad in less than a week due to the condensing into two volumes. His characters in the Belgariad are witty and charming. Something that isn't always found in this genre of books. There are very distinct humor types for the different characters. You instantly grow attached to the quirks of the various characters, even some of the antagonists. The plot was was great. I only wish that David and Leigh Eddings were still around to grace us with more fantastic literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    Amazing!!!! I love it!

    This book has officially made my favorites shelf, and i think that no matter how long it is until I read it again, I'll still love it just as much. Humorous, adventurous, and diverse. 6 out of 5 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite Book Series!

    I Love this series! my mom read it in college, so she read the first volume out loud to us. I have loved it ever since, and have all them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    A friend recommended this book to me. I haven't read much fantasy in the last ten years because I grew bored with the genre, so I had low expectations. But this book (Volume 1 of The Belgariad) was a major surprise. Lord of the Rings is one of my favorite books of all time, and in many respects Belgariad is derivative of Rings. Nevertheless, it's an awfully good imitation. Great writing style and characters. I'm really looking forward to reading Volume 2, which I just bought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!

    I love this series!!! Eddings gives a history rich enough to be really, and characters you could almost imagine to be your friends. The plot has to be close to the best if not the best I have ever read. Every aspect of the book is so well crafted that it engulfs you in the story. Garion is amazing, Aunt Pol is phenomenal, and the rest are equally great! I would seriously recommend this book to anyone! It is just all around incredible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    A book for all!

    I love this book! I would recomend it to anyone! This book will take you on a journey that you will never forget, The Characters are all loveable, and the plot is one of the best I've ever seen! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The headline give you a hint of the plot without telling all its secrets. You have no idea who the pawn is till close to the end.

    While there are many fantasy books based on good against evil. Eddings was the first I've read with the unique sense that this world is real. Everything from the lands masses, characters and the theological back story. Makes you feel like it is a place you can walk right into. He gives you the information you need for realism bring you into the story without boring you with endless details that some other fantasy writers tend to.<BR/><BR/>I feel this could also transfer well onto the movie screen. A movie I would even let my son watch as well as read to him when he is older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Reading this book is like watching the movie

    This book is the greatest! I couldn't put it down. It was addicting!! This book definintley puts Harry Potter second in line!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    Horrible

    Anything by Eddings is dull, shallow and boring. Lots of plodding around the country side, and little action mental or physical. Everyone and everything is superficial. If you're just starting to read SF or Fantasy, it's a good starter series. If your over 15, I'd pass on this, and anything else Eddings or his wife writes. Gag.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Okay, but not great

    I really enjoyed the start of volume 1 but as it went on it became considerably worse in my opinion. I got to like Garion, Polgara and Ce¿Nedra much less as the novel progressed. I didn¿t really mind the lack of fighting and below-average magic scenes due to the good story, but even that started becoming boring and predictable. Things were too predictable and I absolutely hated the main characters, save Belgarath.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Pawn of Prophecy

    I originally read these series of books when I was in high school. It's been a little over 10 years and I decided to pick them up again. Wow! I didn't remember much and it was like reading it for the first time. Though the theme of the ordinary farmboy rising to save the world has been used numerous times, you immediately become attracted to Garion as a character. Belgarath is the Gandalf of the book and Garion is his Frodo. Though there are alot of similarities to Lord of the Rings, this book is really amazing. Like all good fantasy it transports you to another world where you feel like you are really there. I highly recommened this book for anyone at any age. Though I think you can understand more of the emotional subleties better as an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    These books started my reading

    In school i always hated reading, tried to get out of it everytime. Until my best friend gave me 'Pawn of Prophecy' I have read hundreds of books since. Thank you David Eddings !!! For such great characters ! p.s. write a book about Silk !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    freakin' awsome! : )

    This a book series for only hard core fantasy lovers! David & Leigh Eddings are awsomely amazing! There writing skills are really fantastic, but there combination of romance, fantasy, action, and tension kept me on my toes ALL the time. The ending of Magician's Gambit is a little disappointing in my opinion though. All in all though, i absolutly adored this series, and i highly recommend! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    I read this book 8 times in one WEEK!!!

    Every time i read i couldnt stop...When your reading its as if your in the story..or just watching it..you can smell and see the place in your mind..this book was the best, it made me use my imagination alot and thats AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Love books with strong characters

    This is a good book. I've read most of his other books and enjoy books with women as strong rulers and 'get it done character.'Only book to top this is Warriors of a Distant Planet, by Carol Weston, the sci fi writer, not the Carol Weston who writes books for young girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    The best!!!!!!

    I have never read any book that allowed me to use my imagination as much as these books have. The Eddings actully bring you into the story where you can see hear and even smell everything that is going on in all his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7