Customer Reviews for

The Belly Fat Cure: Discover the New Carb Swap System and Lose 4 to 9 lbs. Every Week

Average Rating 3
( 358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Concise, practical Information

I was dreading reading another diet book but was happy that this book was not so much reading and more practical ideas for recipes and shopping lists. The actual information on the diet logistics and the research and explanation behind this way of eating took one chapt...
I was dreading reading another diet book but was happy that this book was not so much reading and more practical ideas for recipes and shopping lists. The actual information on the diet logistics and the research and explanation behind this way of eating took one chapter. The majority of the book is dedicated to comparison recipes. The author places a restaurant meal and photo of the meal on one page listing it's nutritional value, points ratio according to the belly fat cure and then on the opposite page pictures the meal and recipe for a carb swap "belly good" meal. All the recipes are easy to reproduce and ingredients are not exotic or hard to find as long as you have access to a good whole foods or equivalent super market. Most of the hard to find products were available at Sprouts instead of Whole Foods so if you are lucky enough to have a Sprouts in your area that is where I found the Clemmy's ice cream or you will have to make your own. I did find the number of burger, pizza and salad recipes redundant. You really only need about 2 or three recipes for burgers. This book gives you nine, plus eleven different taco/burrito/wraps variations. If you really want recipes for sandwiches, burgers and pizza you will enjoy the recipe section. If you are wanting something more rounded you'll have to come up with your own recipes by "belly gooding" your current repertoire. If recipes are not what you're looking for the shopping list section was not disappointing. Again it follows the format of one side of the page being "belly bad" with a list of products and the opposite page being "belly good" with a corresponding list of products. This section alone was worth the price of the book for me. I was instantly gratified to learn there is an Omega Swirl in chocolate/raspberry flavor from Barlean's. There were a ton of products I was not aware of so this was a great way to be introduced to some new "belly good" products as well as to learn which products were "belly good" that I was already familiar with. I took the book with me to the grocery store the first few times. Now I can remember just by looking at down the grocery aisles which are "belly bad". It's also nice to be armed with new information for reading nutrition labels. Overall this book is a good buy. The program is easy to follow. I didn't even follow the exact ratio and still lost weight just by switching products and shopping carefully and making adjustments to portions of carbs and sugars in my diet. My only complaint about this book is the binder format. I flip pages so frequently, the book did not stay in tact and didn't stand up to my amount of referencing and frequent use. I keep this book in my purse when I go to store or know when I'm going to be eating out. It's like a little security blanket for eating right. A glued spine would have worked better. The size is perfect for my big handbag, it's like a wide planner. I'm looking forward to future editions. You will not be hungry on this program.

The author also has companion website which is nice and interactive but not necessary to follow the program.

posted by 3483088 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I was hoping for lots of food ideas, swaps and menus. He only offers a one day menu that has food items on it that can be bought most anywhere. His other five weekly menus include obscure foods are speciality items that you would only find in a specialty store in a la...
I was hoping for lots of food ideas, swaps and menus. He only offers a one day menu that has food items on it that can be bought most anywhere. His other five weekly menus include obscure foods are speciality items that you would only find in a specialty store in a large city - otherwise you have to order them online. That means you have to order in quantity before you even know if you like it. His website says he makes money from these "recommendations", so he doesn't offer any alternatives. For instance, I could not find the specific mayonnaise he recommended, but there were others that had 0% sugar in them. If you read nutritional labels carefully, you don't really need the book. He also doesn't cover quantities that you can eat nor how to cook the item. His daily "go-to" menu says chicken or steak for supper, but doesn't say how much to cook or any details about it's preparation. I was pretty much left to develop my own program.

posted by GAJo on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Concise, practical Information

    I was dreading reading another diet book but was happy that this book was not so much reading and more practical ideas for recipes and shopping lists. The actual information on the diet logistics and the research and explanation behind this way of eating took one chapter. The majority of the book is dedicated to comparison recipes. The author places a restaurant meal and photo of the meal on one page listing it's nutritional value, points ratio according to the belly fat cure and then on the opposite page pictures the meal and recipe for a carb swap "belly good" meal. All the recipes are easy to reproduce and ingredients are not exotic or hard to find as long as you have access to a good whole foods or equivalent super market. Most of the hard to find products were available at Sprouts instead of Whole Foods so if you are lucky enough to have a Sprouts in your area that is where I found the Clemmy's ice cream or you will have to make your own. I did find the number of burger, pizza and salad recipes redundant. You really only need about 2 or three recipes for burgers. This book gives you nine, plus eleven different taco/burrito/wraps variations. If you really want recipes for sandwiches, burgers and pizza you will enjoy the recipe section. If you are wanting something more rounded you'll have to come up with your own recipes by "belly gooding" your current repertoire. If recipes are not what you're looking for the shopping list section was not disappointing. Again it follows the format of one side of the page being "belly bad" with a list of products and the opposite page being "belly good" with a corresponding list of products. This section alone was worth the price of the book for me. I was instantly gratified to learn there is an Omega Swirl in chocolate/raspberry flavor from Barlean's. There were a ton of products I was not aware of so this was a great way to be introduced to some new "belly good" products as well as to learn which products were "belly good" that I was already familiar with. I took the book with me to the grocery store the first few times. Now I can remember just by looking at down the grocery aisles which are "belly bad". It's also nice to be armed with new information for reading nutrition labels. Overall this book is a good buy. The program is easy to follow. I didn't even follow the exact ratio and still lost weight just by switching products and shopping carefully and making adjustments to portions of carbs and sugars in my diet. My only complaint about this book is the binder format. I flip pages so frequently, the book did not stay in tact and didn't stand up to my amount of referencing and frequent use. I keep this book in my purse when I go to store or know when I'm going to be eating out. It's like a little security blanket for eating right. A glued spine would have worked better. The size is perfect for my big handbag, it's like a wide planner. I'm looking forward to future editions. You will not be hungry on this program.

    The author also has companion website which is nice and interactive but not necessary to follow the program.

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Very Disappointing

    I was hoping for lots of food ideas, swaps and menus. He only offers a one day menu that has food items on it that can be bought most anywhere. His other five weekly menus include obscure foods are speciality items that you would only find in a specialty store in a large city - otherwise you have to order them online. That means you have to order in quantity before you even know if you like it. His website says he makes money from these "recommendations", so he doesn't offer any alternatives. For instance, I could not find the specific mayonnaise he recommended, but there were others that had 0% sugar in them. If you read nutritional labels carefully, you don't really need the book. He also doesn't cover quantities that you can eat nor how to cook the item. His daily "go-to" menu says chicken or steak for supper, but doesn't say how much to cook or any details about it's preparation. I was pretty much left to develop my own program.

    25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    This is the only diet that has ever worked for me.

    I'm not overweight but over the last year I'd gained that extra 3 lbs on my belly that I just couldn't lose. Diets did nothing but make me hungry and my stomach wasn't flattening with exercise. After 1 week on this plan, I lost 3 lbs and was never hungry. I didn't follow any of the one weekly menus, but simply kept my sugar intake and carbs at the recommended levels. I know it hasn't been water weight loss because I'm drinking at least 64oz/day. I already feel as though I have more energy and am less moody.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Take it from a professional fitness trainer---this book has some excellent points! Pick it up!

    As a professional fitness trainer, I am asked (multiple times) daily, "What do you think of this book?". So, I make it part of my job to read as many fitness and diet books as I can. This is my latest book interest. And, I have to say, that there are many gems in here (such as avoiding certain sweeteners) that can really benefit someone looking to lose bodyfat. There are "gems" in every book out there, so, if you are dieting or looking to slim down, you can definitely benefit from this. I do have to mention another book that I MAKE EVERY client of mine read BEFORE they start with me (this book takes a couple of days to read). It is : BUILD YOUR MIND, YOUR BODY WILL FOLLOW. As I tell EVERY new client, you NEED to read, BUILD YOUR MIND, YOUR BODY WILL FOLLOW before you start everything having to do with diet & exercise? Why?? Because it will help you stay happy and focused while you try to lose the weight! Go get it!!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    The Belly Fat Cure By Jorge Cruise

    The Belly fat Cure is so easy to follow. It has lots of pictures that tell you belly bad and belly good. Lots of receipes and answers common guestions. Has one week meal plans and five different ones to try.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    It's Working!

    While I am not a terribly overweight person, at almost 50 I find myself holding a little more around the middle each year. After the holidays, I found my usual 10 to 15 over ideal weight became 20 to 25 overweight. My partner bought this book and in a bit over a month I've lost 15 pounds by following its plan. Last week I lost 3 pounds. I also have to admit that it seems to have focused the weight loss in my mid-section and people have noticed my face thinner too. And I have not increased my exercise plan at all. I have no association with this author and had never heard of him before this diet, but I have become a believer in what he says. Best parts for me - I can have real mayo and real salad dressing. It hate all those substitutes. It's really about sensible eating, not about extremes or unrealistic life changes you can't sustain. I like it.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I bought The Belly Fat Cure, The Perfect 10 Diet, and The 7 day surge after seeing Jorce on the View last week. I really do not need to lose weight, but wanted a plan to eat better and improve my health. I found the other 2 books to be inspirational and with a concrete plan. The Belly Fat Cure is poorly writen, includes bad food choices and it is hard to find the brands jorge recommends. It is disappointing book.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Stay away

    This is the worst book that you can ever read. It is nothing but glossy pictures and stories, and poorly written. The author is all about swaping carbs, so you eat French fries and ice cream instead of bananas.
    If this is the health you want, go for it. I am swaping for any other diet book here.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is not just about losing weight!

    This book is wonderful not just for weight loss but over all health. As a society we DO eat to much sugar and being overweight can be a consequence to sugar consumption which can also lead to diabetes. This is an excellent book to read (overweight or not) as it is very informative as to how sugars effect the body!!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good stuff to know.

    If you're wanting to lose weight, then this is a good book to read. I thought the instructions were easy to follow and the plan simple enough. Also, the food swap isn't too hard to accomplish. It's about as good or better than the other books out there, too.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Plain and Simple! IF you are already mentally prepared

    As a nutritionist and fitness consultant, I am asked daily how to "lose the weight around my belly". So, when this book came out, I figured I would pick it up and see what I could get out of it---and possibly recommend it to my clients. Jorge does a fine job in explaining what types of foods to steer clear of, and which ones will affect your weight in different ways. My only warning is that most people who will be buying this book have probably either been stuck at a weight for a while, or have been on the roller-coaster "lose weight, gain weight, lose weight, gain weight" of dieting. Most of this is caused by a lack of mental and emotional preparation of the dieter and not the failure of any one diet. SO, if you pick up this book, you can definitely walk away with less bodyfat. If you want to keep it off, you need to prepare yourself mentally for that. If you don't, you will wind up gaining the weight back and trying the next "quick fix" diet book. So, try reading a quick-read book called, "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". I see other trainers and readers on here have recommended it. Pick it up too, and you will be so much better off. My clients are, as I recommend it to them all.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Belly Fat Cure Program

    I really liked the whole idea of this book. It seems as if this is almost contrary to everything you always thought you knew about loosing weight. It is no wonder that I could never loose weight before! I lost 9 lbs the first week. After that it has been much slower to come off, but then I am within about 10 to 15 lbs. of where I would like to be so it is understandable. It would be nice if the food listing contained info on more foods, but it is a good starter book for loosing weight! I would recommend it to anyone wanting to begin to loose weight, as it has been much easier for me to loose it with this system!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Year is Here!

    Well it looks like the Personal Trainers are getting ready for 2010! Like most I try to stay on top of what's out there for my clients to read. Many books are misleading and misguiding. They give false expectations. The "Belly Fat Cure" is actually a great read...it examines the day to day foods that we all tend to forget can add on the pounds..FAST!! This book gives great suggestions on what foods to avoid and what you can easily replace them with. I have to say I am also happy to see other personal trainers out there who are a fan of "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" by Vincent Cocilovo. Another great book I like to recommend to my clients. While "The Belly Fat Cure" covers what foods to avoid/eat, "Build Your Mind" gets you mentally ready to take on an exercise program and eating regimen.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As a person trainer, this is a book that I use with my clients

    I am a full time personal fitness trainer, so I am always looking to learn the newest things about fitness and nutrition. This book provides the reader the basics to understand what choices to make in order to lose bodyfat. I have been reading this, and implementing some recommendations to my clients. And, I have to agree with a previous reviewer, "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" is a MUST HAVE for all of my clients. We (all of my trainers) highly recommend "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" to everyone in our gym. Get it, it is an easy, yet powerful read!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great change with amazing results and easy, easy to follow!

    I have always been a person concerned with overall health, body image, and fitness. I also take the time to research new ideas and programs. Now over 50 yrs old, my fitness regimen has had to change along with my body changes. Belly fat has always been a concern which I blamed on heredity. Amazingly, after just one week of counting sugars and carbs, as explained in this book, I did lose 3 inches off of my waist and 5 off of my abdomen. My waist is down to a 26 and my abdomen to a 32. I started this program a few weeks ago and even with some deviations I have maintained this loss. I do workout diligently so I am not a person who is looking for only a food modification but this program addressed a problem area, the belly, that I had no luck changing. It's very well put together, very easy to follow and incorporates "normal" food selections and options for every day maintenance. I keep this right out on my island in the kitchen and reference it every day for menus and education. I actually gave a friend my first copy after she was over for dinner and expressed and interest in the program. It is honestly worth the investment not only for bodily changes but overall health. When I did deviate significantly one weekend I felt terrible by Monday morning. I guess I'm still not too old to learn a few things!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book

    I have been following his plan now for 3 weeks. So far I have lost 10 lbs and 2 inches off my waist. (with NO exercise) I started the plan with my brother and his wife. My brother has also lost 10 lbs and 2 inches off his waist. My sister-in-law has lost 13 lbs and 3 inches off her waist. If you really understand what the book is about it's not that hard to follow. The people that are hung up on the whole eating "french fries" concept are not really understanding what he's saying. You're buying french fries that are low in sugar and organic. You eats less then 1 oz which is like 5 fries. Once you understand the book, you understand why you eat certain foods. I followed the 7 day weekly planner only the first week. Now I choose whatever I want and swap certain foods for other foods. I have tried EVERY diet out there and spent $$$$ on gym, personal trainers, etc.. with little results. In my person opinion this is the best book ever!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Another fad diet

    Jorge Cruise publishes a diet book every 4-5 months, he attacked low-carb diets in the 3 hour-diet , now he is against sugar even from fruits in the new fad diet. It is very disappointing that I shed 14 dollars to be told to avoid fruits and have pictures of glossy foods. I should have read the reviews of similar customers who gave it a very bad rating.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    The Right Diet For Me!

    The program is excellent and so easy to follow. Much of the book is about swapping foods, so there are a lot of recipes and food choices. There isn't a whole lot of reading involved since the concept is so very simple. Monitor your carbs and sugars, make sure you are getting enough fiber as well. I lost 50 lbs. on the program, before the book came out. I'm now going through it, learning the new recipes and sticking with this new lifestyle. However, it may not always be the right lifestyle for everyone, so stick with it and see how you do. If it's not working for you and doesn't fit with who you are, then move on to another diet. This one worked for me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    Belly Fat Cure Book

    I think this book is probably very good in print but it is very hard to use on the Nook. I also tried to download it to my computer and it is still hard to use. It is too hard to navigate the pages and then you are not able to print any of the recipes, so this really does not help you. I would not buy this again as an ereader.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    A satisfying way to 'diet'

    My husband & I have been following the Belly Fat Cure plan for about 4 weeks, and have both lost weight and inches (though not like the testimonials in the book claim). This way of eating makes sense to me, and although the weekly weight loss and inches claims are a little exaggerated (in my opinion), it is working for us. My husband has been diagnosed with Type II diabetes, and cutting back the sugars and carbs is necessary for him. I have become extremely good at reading labels, and there are plenty of high-fiber, low-sugar, low-carb breads, rice, and pasta available so that variety in foods is satisfied while maintaining the sugar/carb ratio described in the book. And we have not felt hungry; in fact, I was beginning to be concerned that perhaps our calorie intake was too high (calorie counting is not a part of this diet). I decided to calculate the calories for each day, and was thrilled to find that we were consistently between 1600-2000 calories/day. I've tried several of the recipes provided in the books and so far all were very good. I also find the food swap guide very helpful, although many of his suggestions are not available in a main-stream supermarket and are pricey. I've been able to find many good substitutes in regular grocery stores (bread & pasta, for example) simply by paying attention to the labels.
    Overall, I think this diet is excellent, fairly easy to follow, and very satisfying. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to decrease their sugar/carb intake.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18