Customer Reviews for

The Best Damn Thing

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

To all of you thrity-some-year-olds who have no life and sit on their butts the whole day and write comments about artists who you don't even listen to are crazy! The Best Damn Thing albumn has jumped up to the tops of the Billboard charts and I can guarantee that the a...
To all of you thrity-some-year-olds who have no life and sit on their butts the whole day and write comments about artists who you don't even listen to are crazy! The Best Damn Thing albumn has jumped up to the tops of the Billboard charts and I can guarantee that the albumn will be huge. Every song on the albumn speaks truth about teens and their lives, which is exactly who its aimed at. So please, don't make any comments about the albumn unless you are a part of the directed audience and so you won't feel like a complete idiot when the albumn goes platinum. m'kay? :]]

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

I used to be an Avril Lavigne fan. But that was back when she was a different take on the teeny-bopping, extremely cheesy pop-shakes that the industry kept coming out with. But, I feel like with this album, she's gone a couple of steps backward. Her last 2 albums didn't...
I used to be an Avril Lavigne fan. But that was back when she was a different take on the teeny-bopping, extremely cheesy pop-shakes that the industry kept coming out with. But, I feel like with this album, she's gone a couple of steps backward. Her last 2 albums didn't have a mediocre song in them but this one barely has 2 songs which I would call at least mediocre. "Innocence" is perhaps the best on the album. The others are passable.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    What happened? And whats with all the cusing? All these song have a few cuse words in them why do you really have to use the f word in the song? These songs are realy good but gez I dont mi the D**n's and H**ls but the f word? She is a really great singer but stop cusing! I loved ur last 2 CD's! With normal hair being a normal gril she used to make fun of wht she is now! Just go back to wht you were kids here this stuff on the radio!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Punk, Pop

    The first two albums could be considered punk, on some levels, but this is so far from punk it's unbelieveable. It's good as a pop album, but if it ever were to be considered a rock album I'd be the first to condem it. Innocence, and When You're Gone are some of the better songs. Everything Back But You is good too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What's up Avril?

    For all you Avril fans you will be disappointed. Because I don't understand why Avril has 3 good songs. I mean all her songs are good but they are also really choppy. Like the song Hot I could pass on that one big time. The 3 songs I like aren't punk rock they are Innocence, When You're Gone, and Keep Holding On. OK fine Girlfriend is good too but it's just that those three songs are better. This album also had some good sides even though lots of songs were choppy they were also good. You could kinda hear them over and over. I mean it's good but not that good. I've listened to all her albums. And her best one is Under My Skin. The best damn thing should be called. The OK album. I really thought that The Best Damn Thing wasn't a good title.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why I'm not a huge Avril fan

    I was never the biggest Avril Lavigne fan. When she first came onto the music scene I didn't have a strong opinion on her one way or the other. When she came back in 2007 with the hit "Girlfriend" I decided I like some of her songs. "When You're Gone" is even better than "Girlfriend" and showcases Avril's true talent in singing. It's a great pop ballad...even better than her first ballad hit "With You." I like some of the songs on this album but it's still not played that often on my computer. I liked "Hot", "When You're Gone" and "I Can Do Better" the best. The bad part about this album is the parental advisory edition wasn't at the store so I had to get the "clean" version. Otherwise it's just okay. Her first album was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reviewer

    Unlike other reviewers, who are constantly bagging on Avril on her new look, I won't. She obviously happy with it, and if you were a true Avril fan, you'd be happy for her, too. I like to call her new style punky-prep. I don't see why people are also constantly bagging on this "it's pop, not punk theory". Although, yes, it's pop, it has a funky, punky vibe to it. Ok, getting to the point, this is like a mature version of "Let Go". With tunes that'll have you rocking out to, and poppy lyrics to back it up with. Face it, it's reminiscent of "Let Go". Although, this is basically her worst album yet. I don't like that she swears a lot, even though Avril has sweared, strait from "Let Go" and beyond, I never thought I'd see explicit/clean versions of her album. I was disgusted with that fact. Here's what you need to know: 1.Girlfriend 4/5- This was pretty good. It's a relateble song. It's a song that I can easily dance too. Didn't like the swearing though. 2.I Can Do Better 1/5: One of the bad songs on this album. Just a bunch of screaming that she can do better. big deal. 3.Runaway 4/5- A good song to sing in the car if you're having a cruddy day. 4.Best Da*n Thing 1/5- her voice just got so high-pitched and weird in this song. And it was sorta braggy. 5.When You're Gone 5/5- One of the best songs on the album. It's really sad and bittersweet. LUV IT! 6.Everything Back But You 3/5- It was sorta funny. An ok track. 7.Hot 2/5- Wow. She's not the best songwriter, and this really proves it. but it has a good beat. 8.Innocence 5/5- LUV IT!!! 9.I Don't Have to Try 1/5- ok, this is NOT good. 10.One of Those Girls 2/5- Not that good. A filler track. 11.Contagious 5/5- A typical Let Go song. It's contagious 12.Keep Holding On 100/5-THIS IS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's the most played song on my ipod (it's been played 215 times). If only the whole album could've been like this....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This album, along with Avril, is a good pop album, definately not punk rock by any standard. She's manufactured pop, and the only reason she has ever gotten any attention is because she has somehow cleverly marketed herself as punk without carrying it over into her music. Nothing about her music is punk: her lyrics, the lead guitars, drums, etc. in her songs are as pop as it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1