Customer Reviews for

The Best Damn Thing

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WOW

She went from good girl to bad A never thought she would have parental Advisory on one of her albums especially one that said strong language

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Punk, Pop

The first two albums could be considered punk, on some levels, but this is so far from punk it's unbelieveable. It's good as a pop album, but if it ever were to be considered a rock album I'd be the first to condem it. Innocence, and When You're Gone are some of the bet...
The first two albums could be considered punk, on some levels, but this is so far from punk it's unbelieveable. It's good as a pop album, but if it ever were to be considered a rock album I'd be the first to condem it. Innocence, and When You're Gone are some of the better songs. Everything Back But You is good too.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    She went from good girl to bad A never thought she would have parental Advisory on one of her albums especially one that said strong language

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She can do better, but this isn't bad.

    Now, before I begin, don't get me wrong: this album is nowhere near as good as Let Go (my personal favorite) or even Under My Skin. I'm not thrilled with the direction Avril has chosen to steer her career, and I continue to hope that her next album will return to her roots. With that said, The Best Damn Thing may not live up to it's title, but it's still a pretty damn good album. p Girlfriend - 6/10 - Don't judge the entire album based on this track. Girlfriend is quite grating on the ears, but, while other songs fall into the same vein musically, the lyrics aren't quite as contrived. p I Can Do Better - 8/10 - The title of this song speaks volumes. She may have meant it to refer to the many guys who have apparently crossed her, but I see it as a reflection of her musical abilities. Still a good, fast song. p Runaway - 10/10 - This song is probably the closest to "old" Avril you'll get on this album. It has catchy drums (she even played drums on this song in concert) and some of the best vocals you'll find here. Great track. p The Best Damn Thing - 9/10 - Ah, the title track. It kicks off with a bit of Avril's Gwen Stefani rip-off (think Hollaback Girl), but it manages to save itself with its extremely catchy pop chorus and hooks. This song will keep you dancing, that's for sure. p When You're Gone - 7/10 - Everyone seems to like this song, but it seems like a bit of a drag to me. Avril's vocal talents shine on this track, and the lyrics are more complex than "hey hey you you, I don't like your girlfriend". Not great, but not half bad either. p Everything Back But You - 7/10 - This song sounds strikingly similar to something Sum 41 would do - maybe due to Avril's marriage to Sum's Deryck Whibley? Either way, this is another tribute to every girl who's been ditched by her two-timing man. Great for letting your temper out with it's shouted chorus. p Hot - 6/10 - I must admit, this is probably my least favorite song on the album. I love the verses, but the slowdown of the chorus and the general message of the song just weigh it down in my book. Still, not a bad effort, just not great. p Innocence - 8/10 - Avril has, in the past, shown herself capable of producing beautiful ballads. Innocence does not disappoint in this regard. This track allows the listener to take a break from the angry pop and enjoy a simple tribute to, well, innocence. This song really shows what Avril could be capable of. p I Don't Have to Try - 6/10 - I must admit, this is one of the weirdest songs in the bunch. It certainly doesn't require much singing talent to chant "I wear the pants!". This song's title seems to reflect her stance on her music these days - just put together a couple catchy hooks and send the album out. Again, the song isn't bad, but it shows that maybe Avril DOES have to try.. p One of Those Girls - 9/10 - I really enjoyed this song as a tribute to the days of Sk8er Boi. It's a quick blast of a song, clocking in at under 3 minutes, but it's got a fun message and sing-along capability. One of my favorites off this album. p Contagious - 9/10 - It seems like these late-album songs get forgotten, maybe because they are each only 2 minutes and change. But Contagious is another great old-Avril-like song. It's poppy and simple, she's fallen in love and it's "contagious". Good track. p Keep Holding On - 8/10 - Everyone had heard this track long before the release of this album. It isn't half bad, but it seems to get lost in the shuffle. I get the feeling this song was tacked to the end of the album as an afterthought when it became popular. Still not a song to forget. p Overall, the album is neither perfect nor is it up to Avril's potential. However, it's still a necessary piece in a good music collection - it will hold us listeners over while we wait for another CD to capture the spirit of Let Go, at least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was pretty good

    This CD, like her others, was a pretty good CD. But on her CD, the types of songs differ, which makes it amazing for you because you know that the work came from her. I like her because of that. But some of her songs I didn't like that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Seems Pretty Good

    Avril is a pretty good singer. The song Girlfriend is my 2nd favorite. But the title has a bad word in it. Still, its gonna be OK. I probably won't get it. If I got any of her new stuff, it would be Girlfriend on my iPod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1