Customer Reviews for

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

the book was so enjoyable, no wonder they made it a movie

Very enjoyable read; the characters were brought to life fully resisting the assault of everyday India on every sense. portrayed realistically and with good humor; hard to put down.

posted by 11324782 on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok read

For once I thought the movie was better than the book. The book was more a charactor study about the people who eventually ended up at the hotel. The movie brought more life to the charactors and spent more time developing the hotel itself and the surrounding area. T...
For once I thought the movie was better than the book. The book was more a charactor study about the people who eventually ended up at the hotel. The movie brought more life to the charactors and spent more time developing the hotel itself and the surrounding area. The book didn't have the textures or color that the movie developed so nicely.

posted by 13121475 on October 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    the book was so enjoyable, no wonder they made it a movie

    Very enjoyable read; the characters were brought to life fully resisting the assault of everyday India on every sense. portrayed realistically and with good humor; hard to put down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Charming simple read

    I completed this book on a flight from the us to europe. It is a perfect airplane read. Not too heavy. Delightful characters, but not too complex. The book could have a lot more depth and description but accept it as it is, a nice light read. If you have been to india, it will resonate, but if you haven't, I do not think you will learn much.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Great movie

    I saw the movie last evening and can't wait to read the book. The characters did an outstanding job of portraying the characters as described and the movie was not so deep that you had to really concentrate to keep up. I hope the book will deliver as much pleasure!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Disappointed. I bought the Nook book after several friends reco

    Disappointed. I bought the Nook book after several friends recommended the movie. Synopsis: An Indian-born doctor in London and his cousin in India to set up a “British” retirement home there. The residents come to India from various walks of life and with somewhat differing expectations – primarily they move because they are lonely and ready to try a new life. The hotel is not as updated as they expected, and the town streets are filled with poverty, but the residents’ involvement with the community begins to have an effect on them and they start to settle into a routine that works for them.
    The first half of the book felt like a REALLY long prologue, supposed to make the characters endearing, but for me, just too long and did not accomplish the purpose. I slogged through waiting for everyone to arrive in India and for the entertainment to begin, but again, I wasn’t able to identify with the residents. The information about life in Bangalore was interesting. The twist with the ex-BBC was worth the book. Also a good thread that it's never too late to start over -- Sometimes you go along to get along, and eventually you have to evaluate that decision more deeply.


    The book is fairly short and readable in a few sittings, but there is never that feeling that you just can’t put it down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Disappointing

    This book rambles on and on. It was a disappointment. Had seen movie and the book barely resembles the movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Not my favorite book !

    I read this knowing full well the movie / book versions would be different. Usually like the book better, not this time. I won't be reading anymore from this author. Did not like her and did not really get into the book at all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    ok read

    For once I thought the movie was better than the book. The book was more a charactor study about the people who eventually ended up at the hotel. The movie brought more life to the charactors and spent more time developing the hotel itself and the surrounding area. The book didn't have the textures or color that the movie developed so nicely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Disappointed

    The movie was so much better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    good read

    This book well written. It is full of adventure and some humor. I highly recomend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great summer reading

    worth buying...enjoyed very much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The movie is better

    Very dull with boring characters. The story has great potential but never really develops. The author has little flair or depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Blurb scrambled

    Check sample before down loading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book so much & have passed it on to a friend so she too can enjoy it. I had a few good laughs while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Not very good

    I dont like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Autumnleaf

    Colected marigold and left.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Welcome to exoctic hotel resorts!!

    How may i help you?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    B~H TO ALL

    BAR PARTY AT MY TIME RES 1 GO SIGN UP AT FUNK RES 1 ITS AT 9:30 TONIGHT AND WERE GANNA HAVE SPECIAL GUESTS AND WE NEED A KAROKE LEADER AND MAKE SURE TO DRESS SE?XI!!!!!!!!! XOXO H

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    HELP PLEASE

    I GOT LOCKED OUT OF LOVE RESULT TWO SO CAN ANYONE PLEASE TELL JRAKE TO GO TO LOVE RESULT TEN
    PPPPPPLLLLLEEEEEAAASSEEEEEEEEE

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Vivian

    Hi my room

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Many people dislike this.

    Read other reviews.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3