Customer Reviews for

The Best Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Fun

~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

I have a confession to make: This is my very first ...
~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

I have a confession to make: This is my very first Kristan Higgins book! I’ve been meaning to read her books for so long, but didn’t have the chance to until now. I’m glad I took the leap because I love her authorial voice and hope to fall in love again in Blue Heron!

THE BEST MAN is the first book in a brand new series called Blue Heron. It features Faith Holland who has some serious man issues – and I mean, SERIOUS MAN ISSUES! This girl cannot catch a break! Her fiancé turns out to be gay, the men she dates are absolute scumbags and it’s not her fault at all! Readers are taken on a journey where there are loads of laughs and a ton of fun times. Higgins had me laughing out loud in some cases. I’ve even bookmarked some pages to refer back to just to bring a smile to my face. The wardrobe malfunction has to be my favorite though.

If you’re not reading this for the riot of laughs, then here’s another reason to read it: Levi Cooper , police chief and – get this – best friend to her former fiancé. Oooh yeah.

Levi and Faith have known each other for a very long time, so much so that they come to dislike each other. They find each other annoying and that only makes their time together that much more exciting and fun. Irritation IS foreplay in this case.

While I thought the flashbacks scenes with Jeremy from Levi’s POV did stall the story a little bit, it did give readers some much needed background information on their friendship. I just don’t know if all of it was necessary. The same goes with all the chaos that happens within Faith’s family. Readers are pushed into the Holland family room and are blasted with their crazy (but fun!) personalities. Reading about them was a hoot!

If you’re a fan of Jill Shalvis, I think you’d enjoy this series. Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this!

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good bu

Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good but I decided to see it to the end because the book received such great reviews. The premise was good and I enjoyed a few moments between the characters. I found myself frequently frustrated throughout the bo...
Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good but I decided to see it to the end because the book received such great reviews. The premise was good and I enjoyed a few moments between the characters. I found myself frequently frustrated throughout the book because there would be a small development in the relationship and then the storyline would quickly divert away into a boring sub-plot. It was so drawn out and then rushed at the end. I feel terrible for writing a negative review, but I just wanted more.....

posted by 4656238 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Fun

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

    I have a confession to make: This is my very first Kristan Higgins book! I’ve been meaning to read her books for so long, but didn’t have the chance to until now. I’m glad I took the leap because I love her authorial voice and hope to fall in love again in Blue Heron!

    THE BEST MAN is the first book in a brand new series called Blue Heron. It features Faith Holland who has some serious man issues – and I mean, SERIOUS MAN ISSUES! This girl cannot catch a break! Her fiancé turns out to be gay, the men she dates are absolute scumbags and it’s not her fault at all! Readers are taken on a journey where there are loads of laughs and a ton of fun times. Higgins had me laughing out loud in some cases. I’ve even bookmarked some pages to refer back to just to bring a smile to my face. The wardrobe malfunction has to be my favorite though.

    If you’re not reading this for the riot of laughs, then here’s another reason to read it: Levi Cooper , police chief and – get this – best friend to her former fiancé. Oooh yeah.

    Levi and Faith have known each other for a very long time, so much so that they come to dislike each other. They find each other annoying and that only makes their time together that much more exciting and fun. Irritation IS foreplay in this case.

    While I thought the flashbacks scenes with Jeremy from Levi’s POV did stall the story a little bit, it did give readers some much needed background information on their friendship. I just don’t know if all of it was necessary. The same goes with all the chaos that happens within Faith’s family. Readers are pushed into the Holland family room and are blasted with their crazy (but fun!) personalities. Reading about them was a hoot!

    If you’re a fan of Jill Shalvis, I think you’d enjoy this series. Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Love Higgins

    I have read all her books and I have to say I have not been let down with any. By far this is my favorite though. She writes believable characters with funny plot lines and moments when you cry and laugh. Recommend this book for anyone who loves a good romance story!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good bu

    Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good but I decided to see it to the end because the book received such great reviews. The premise was good and I enjoyed a few moments between the characters. I found myself frequently frustrated throughout the book because there would be a small development in the relationship and then the storyline would quickly divert away into a boring sub-plot. It was so drawn out and then rushed at the end. I feel terrible for writing a negative review, but I just wanted more.....

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I'd never read this author before and I was happily surprised.

    I'd never read this author before and I was happily surprised. This was a hilarious, sweet story. The chaotic Holland family is hilarious and Faith's dating disasters were also amusing. The developing of the romance between Levi and Faith was realistic and a pleasure to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Faith Holland has bad luck with men. After an eight year relati

    Faith Holland has bad luck with men. After an eight year relationship with her perfect man, she was jilted at the altar when her fiance came out of the closet. After years away, she returns to her hometown to do some work at her family's winery.

    Levi Cooper had been the best man at her almost wedding and Faith has a hard time forgetting that he encouraged her fiance to tell her the truth at their almost wedding. Now the chief of police, Levi has mixed feelings towards Faith. He'd always though her a goody two shoes, but since her return he's getting to know the real Faith...and she's someone who's getting past the barriers he keeps around his guarded heart.

    I thought this was going to be another light and fun romance. And yes, there were some very funny characters and situations, but it was also a moving story of two people, emotionally wounded as children, who find each other after they open their hearts to love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Delightful

    I am a huge Kristan Higgins fan, and The Best Man did not disappoint. I laughed, I cried and I wondered if Justin Timberlake would ever hear about or read this book. Faith returns three years after her wedding is stopped at the altar by (in her opinion) Levi, the best man. After years of being "not friends" in a small town, the road to love for Faith and Levi is quite interesting. The town is filled with a number of lively secondary characters and friends. I just hope that Higgans will take up back to Manningsport soon.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Awesome Read

    Pre-order now! You won't regret this purchase.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    This was the 1st Kristan Higgins book and I Loved it! It was fun

    This was the 1st Kristan Higgins book and I Loved it! It was funny, romantic, and at times a tear jerker too! A little bit of everything. It's about 380 pages long. Higgins does a good job of character development and you really fall in love with them. Looking forward to reading some of her other novels. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Great book! It kept me laughing. Looking forward to more of Kris

    Great book! It kept me laughing. Looking forward to more of Kristan's books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Amazing

    Love this book....another favorite from kristan higgins. I love the humor and depth that she puts in her characters. I can piccture the story and i was captured throughout the whole novel

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Every twist and turn was sweet and romantic. Great story with the oerfect characters. Cant say enough good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    My favorite Higgins book!

    Absolutely loved EVERYTHNG about this book. The characters were likeable, the writing witty. Love, love, lovrd this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Midnightflurry

    Thanks. *Midnightflurry meowed*

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Laugh out loud

    I am a big fan and bought this without even looking at the back cover and Ms H. didn't dissappoint! Laugh out loud funny and loved the reference to Justin Timberlake (you have to read it to believe it) and the text one charachter accidently sends to her teenage son.

    This book is going on my keeper shelf next to all her other books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed this romance very much. I did find the story p

    I really enjoyed this romance very much. I did find the story pretty predictable but I found myself eager to find out what was going to happen in spike of myself. I laughed out loud in several spots. Overall very enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Good Not Great

    The characters were well developed but there were too many of them... There were two many story lines going on at the same time... I know Ms Higgins is a fine author but I can't get too excited about this book and I found it easy to put down which is unusual for me since I read 3 to 5 books a week... This book was good but not great and I found parts of the book unbelievable... Can't believe we got to the church before she found out he was gay??? After a multi year courtship???

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just love her books! Wish she would write faster!

    Just love her books! Wish she would write faster!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great Read

    I couldn't put this down and neither will you! This was my 1st book by this author and wont be my last...on way to get another on my nook now!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Kristan never disappoints!!!

    Kristan never disappoints!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great book

    Kristan higgins has done it again! Anothergreat love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13