Customer Reviews for

The Best Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Fun

~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

I have a confession to make: This is my very first ...
~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

I have a confession to make: This is my very first Kristan Higgins book! I’ve been meaning to read her books for so long, but didn’t have the chance to until now. I’m glad I took the leap because I love her authorial voice and hope to fall in love again in Blue Heron!

THE BEST MAN is the first book in a brand new series called Blue Heron. It features Faith Holland who has some serious man issues – and I mean, SERIOUS MAN ISSUES! This girl cannot catch a break! Her fiancé turns out to be gay, the men she dates are absolute scumbags and it’s not her fault at all! Readers are taken on a journey where there are loads of laughs and a ton of fun times. Higgins had me laughing out loud in some cases. I’ve even bookmarked some pages to refer back to just to bring a smile to my face. The wardrobe malfunction has to be my favorite though.

If you’re not reading this for the riot of laughs, then here’s another reason to read it: Levi Cooper , police chief and – get this – best friend to her former fiancé. Oooh yeah.

Levi and Faith have known each other for a very long time, so much so that they come to dislike each other. They find each other annoying and that only makes their time together that much more exciting and fun. Irritation IS foreplay in this case.

While I thought the flashbacks scenes with Jeremy from Levi’s POV did stall the story a little bit, it did give readers some much needed background information on their friendship. I just don’t know if all of it was necessary. The same goes with all the chaos that happens within Faith’s family. Readers are pushed into the Holland family room and are blasted with their crazy (but fun!) personalities. Reading about them was a hoot!

If you’re a fan of Jill Shalvis, I think you’d enjoy this series. Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this!

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good bu

Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good but I decided to see it to the end because the book received such great reviews. The premise was good and I enjoyed a few moments between the characters. I found myself frequently frustrated throughout the bo...
Disappointed, I almost put the book down a few times for good but I decided to see it to the end because the book received such great reviews. The premise was good and I enjoyed a few moments between the characters. I found myself frequently frustrated throughout the book because there would be a small development in the relationship and then the storyline would quickly divert away into a boring sub-plot. It was so drawn out and then rushed at the end. I feel terrible for writing a negative review, but I just wanted more.....

posted by 4656238 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Fun

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this! ~ Under the Covers

    I have a confession to make: This is my very first Kristan Higgins book! I’ve been meaning to read her books for so long, but didn’t have the chance to until now. I’m glad I took the leap because I love her authorial voice and hope to fall in love again in Blue Heron!

    THE BEST MAN is the first book in a brand new series called Blue Heron. It features Faith Holland who has some serious man issues – and I mean, SERIOUS MAN ISSUES! This girl cannot catch a break! Her fiancé turns out to be gay, the men she dates are absolute scumbags and it’s not her fault at all! Readers are taken on a journey where there are loads of laughs and a ton of fun times. Higgins had me laughing out loud in some cases. I’ve even bookmarked some pages to refer back to just to bring a smile to my face. The wardrobe malfunction has to be my favorite though.

    If you’re not reading this for the riot of laughs, then here’s another reason to read it: Levi Cooper , police chief and – get this – best friend to her former fiancé. Oooh yeah.

    Levi and Faith have known each other for a very long time, so much so that they come to dislike each other. They find each other annoying and that only makes their time together that much more exciting and fun. Irritation IS foreplay in this case.

    While I thought the flashbacks scenes with Jeremy from Levi’s POV did stall the story a little bit, it did give readers some much needed background information on their friendship. I just don’t know if all of it was necessary. The same goes with all the chaos that happens within Faith’s family. Readers are pushed into the Holland family room and are blasted with their crazy (but fun!) personalities. Reading about them was a hoot!

    If you’re a fan of Jill Shalvis, I think you’d enjoy this series. Fun, flirty and filled with chaos, you may need something to support your ribs from all the laughing you’ll be doing while reading this!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    This was the 1st Kristan Higgins book and I Loved it! It was fun

    This was the 1st Kristan Higgins book and I Loved it! It was funny, romantic, and at times a tear jerker too! A little bit of everything. It's about 380 pages long. Higgins does a good job of character development and you really fall in love with them. Looking forward to reading some of her other novels. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Laugh out loud

    I am a big fan and bought this without even looking at the back cover and Ms H. didn't dissappoint! Laugh out loud funny and loved the reference to Justin Timberlake (you have to read it to believe it) and the text one charachter accidently sends to her teenage son.

    This book is going on my keeper shelf next to all her other books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed this romance very much. I did find the story p

    I really enjoyed this romance very much. I did find the story pretty predictable but I found myself eager to find out what was going to happen in spike of myself. I laughed out loud in several spots. Overall very enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly qualified author.

    My first book by this author. It held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    loved it warm and witty

    made me laugh out loud and feel so good highly recommend this author and her stories. I am going to order them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Faith seems to have the worst luck in relationships and is carry

    Faith seems to have the worst luck in relationships and is carrying around some guilt that she hasn't shared with anyone. We learn more about Faith and Levi as we slowly get a look into certain parts of there life and what brought them to where they are today.
    If you want a fast-paced romance this wont be for you, if you want something that is slow building, with some funny moments, family chaos, dating disasters then you'll enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Well worth your time!!

    The Best Man was the first book that I read by Kristan Higgins. I was not disappointed. It was an easy read and I found myself not wanting to put it down. Although the plot has been done before, the author did an excellent job developing the characters. I laughed as often as I teared up. Well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is one of the most delightful books I've read in a very long time. The main character, Faith, is so charming, funny and totally realistic. For an enjoyable read look to The Best Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Another charming, funny, bittersweet story from Higgins

    I have read all Kristan Higgins' books and I have loved each one - for the same and different reasons. All her books are filled with wonderful, yet flawed characters and that makes them seem so real and easy to relate to. I found this story a bit more heart wrenching than her other books, but the tears were balanced by the laugh out loud moments. Faith, Levi, Jeremy and the Hollands are great characters and I can't wait to visit them again in Kristan's next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Fun Read!

    This book was everything I expected and wanted. It reminded me of a typical romantic 90's movie staring some one like Julia Roberts.I new how the book was going to play out and end it kept me turning the page. Super light and fun, even with some tensity it didn't make my stomach ache over "love." It is the perfect book just to get out of your world for a bit :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Adorable Romantic Comedy

    I loved this book! It has several things going for it. A gay ex fiance, his completely hot straight best friend, and the gay man's former fiance back in a small town. Romance between two comedic characters who can't stand each other. Love it! I actually also felt a connection with Faith since I myself have epilepsy. I felt the author did some good research on epilepsy and was glad to see a character go through something I have to struggle with constantly. Haven't had a seizure in 6 years, but they can come from nowhere. It was nice to read a book where I share something that is scary with the character in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Great book

    What a great book! A great summer book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    recommended

    Easy flowing story.........kept your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Enjoyable

    A fun, light-hearted read with good humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    This book had me laughing out loud within just a couple chapters

    This book had me laughing out loud within just a couple chapters. I loved the characters in this book. I've read many of Higgins' previously novels, and this is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Good read.

    For me there were too many characters and flipping from past to future. It was still a good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    good

    I think this book was good but there was too much back and forth with the past. Things that really didn't matter and thus the book although 30 chapters ended too soon. You are left wondering about things in the past for him and with all the visits to the past that should have been taken care of. I would read another book about these characters though just for the finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book!

    I have ready everything Kristin Higgins has written. She never disappoints. Funny, romantic, and fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Love, love, love this book.  Kristan has  a way of drawing the r

    Love, love, love this book.  Kristan has  a way of drawing the reader in.  She writes in a way that make the reader not want to put the book
     down until it is finished.  This story is about Faith who was left at the alter and the Best Man who helped in that happening.  I love the
     interplay between he two main characters and how their romance blossoms over time.  They are sassy, passionate, funny and, most
     importantly, friends.  I laughed my way through this book's humor and funny scenes.  I was rooting Levi to win her heart and ride off
     into the sunset.  I would highly recommend this book.  Kristan Higgins rocks the house as an author.  I give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4