Customer Reviews for

The Best Recipe: Would You Make 38 Versions of Creme Carmel to Find the Absolute

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    This is absolutely the best cookbook I own

    For classic cookbook recipes, this is the best. Every recipe I've tried has come out perfectly and I have gotten rave reviews for these dishes every time. My friend recently bought the updated version and is very happy with it. I would highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Excellent

    I really loved this cookbook because it gives not only the 'know-how', but also the 'know-why'. It's really helped me in adapting other recipes also. It's also helpful because many times you're trying to figure out which recipe/method out of dozens are the best to try and chances are likely that they've tried it and reviewed it's drawbacks here for you. I'd recommend it for any serious home cook. However, not for the simple who just want to throw something together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    if you only have 1 cookbook this is the one!!!!

    Had this book for a few years and I turn to it very often (every week) best tips and suggestions. I have every issue of cooks illustrated magazine and they are DEFINITELY the best testers/ analystys and try until you get it right people on the planet.a Great gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    My Most Used Cookbook!

    I consider this an Absolute MUST HAVE cookbook! Who has the time or will to try recipe after recipe, only to find it doesn't turn out just how you expected? This book solves that problem. I have gone through this book so much that I will probably have to replace it within the next year or so. Every recipe I've made from this book has turned out perfectly. I recommend the apple cinnamon coffee cake and the cocoa chocolate chip cookies as they are two of my favorites so far. I strongly suggest subscribing to the magazine and buying all the other cookbooks published by Cook's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Yummy!

    I have had this book for a few years now and truly enjoy using it, most of the time. I have not been too adventurous with the recipes, but have found many to be excellent and worth preparing. I modified a few to suit my tastes, which is easily done. I recommend this to all parents looking for a gift for their adult children. I passed one on to a friend and she has used it with much success. As others mentioned, it is a great starter cookbook. The drawbacks are a lack of real variety with the meat recipes. I have tried the cookbook with various cuts of beef or pork and often find there is no recipe for the piece I have. However, their chicken recipes are good. I especially like the lemon-garlic chicken breast. I use this for just skinless, boneless breasts and it adapts well, especially when cooked on a Foreman grill. I also recommend the pecan pie recipe. My friend really loved it and asked for the recipe, she had never had a pecan pie this good. I liked it too, though I am more a fan of the apple pie. The chocolate chip cookies are the best, though I would suggest only 1 egg if you use it, not the extra egg yolk. The cookies stay soft longer without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    A Guide that Answers the Question, "Why?"

    These receipes are even better than the ones that have been in your family for generations! This book can even tell you WHY this receipe is better than the others. If you're looking for a cookbook with a lot of glossy pages and colorful illustrations that provide a step-by-step picture guide on how to cook then this probably isn't the book for you. However, this book provides a detailed explaination that answers the "why" questions when cooking. Cooks Illustrated clearly has done the testing and research behind the receipe is explained and it outlines why certain types of grains of rice are better than others in rice pudding or what the best type of peanut butter for peanut butter cookies. Improvising in the kitchen is part of the fun of cooking but when you need a receipe that is tried and true and you don't want to mess around in the kitchen this book will provide a sure thing in terms of quality. All you have to do is head to the grocery store and then follow the directions in the kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    Best Recipe Book in town!

    If you want a great basic recipe book that uses fresh ingredients, rather than canned, and instant (blah), pick this up! You'll find all the recipies you'll need to make all your favorite down home comfort foods!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Best cookbook if you had to have only one.

    This has to be the best and most unique cookbook that I have ever seen. I have been an average cook for sometime but with the help of the science and comprehensive instructions behind every receipe, I have now become a much better cook. My family gets to try new dishes and not be disappointed in the least. I love this book and I even pass them along as gifts to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    Simply the BEST

    I have been cooking for years, but I always cooked the way my parents taught me - until I got this book. It not only has great recipes, but offers different ways of cooking foods I have been making all of my life -- Who would have thought I would put away my cast iron skillet and 'bake' my bacon in the morning?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    This is incredible!!!!

    I am not much of a cook-but decided to tackle Thanksgiving dinner. This book really 'saved my giblets' (pun fully intended!) This book is really helpful and easy to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    Fantastic, Reliable Recipes

    Every recipe in this book is a dream to eat and serve to guests, but the best thing about this book is that you can learn *so* much about cooking. This is true whether you are a new cook or a culinary gourmand, because it speaks the language of both long-time cooks and also absolute beginners. Ingredient options are discussed in simple and clear language but teach difficult concepts, detailing issues of ingredient chemistry and the cause/effect relationship between ingredients that ultimately make or break a recipe. I read this one for fun (and it has no photographs, though it has lots of very good and educational drawings)! It jumps back and forth from my coffee table -where I read it and lose track of what's on TV- to the kitchen where we have established a happy co-existence. This book will treat your taste buds right. My only wish is that it included nutritional information with each recipe, though where possible, alternative low-fat versions are presented. Oh well, close enough to perfect to get the full five stars (I'd give it a 4.9).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    This is a MUST HAVE

    This is the BEST cookbook to have. It will teach you how to cook moist, succulent meat and flavorful soups, etc. I just can't say enough about it. It give you helpful hints, scientific tidbits and what kitchen gagets really work. What kind of ois, vinegar, rice, pasta, etc work best in each recipe and the best part - they tell you how they came to that conclusion!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    You need this book

    What a great idea - testing many versions, fine-tuning the recipe, then sharing it through publication. We've had the book for about 6 months, have tried at least 15 of its recipes all with absolutely outstanding results. If you're going to the work of cooking something from scratch, this book takes the risk out of it - by following these recipes you're guaranteed a great result. Plus, the descriptions of the various versions and how the different ingredients affect the outcome make fascinating reading. This book is a great one for your own kitchen - also a good gift to other 'foodies' you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    Absolutely the best cookbook I've bought.

    I can't say enough about this book, and I'm not even a subscriber to its publisher's magazine - Cook's Illustrated. Each recipe has an explanation for the use of the ingredients, the method of cooking, and applicable variations. If you're not fussy about your food, you probably won't appreciate it as much, but if you are, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1