Customer Reviews for

The Bet

Average Rating 4
( 351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great Find!

I am so happy I found this book. (It was around 220 pages) I laughed out loud several times as well as teared up a few times too. The characters and their banter were perfect and truly made this book what it was! I can't wait to read more from this author.

posted by TristanKY on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Awful

There is not one thing I actually liked about this book. The characters have no personality or depth, the plot is boring and highly unbelievable, and I cannot believe how poorly written it was. Half of the time I did not even know who was speaking! The story's main char...
There is not one thing I actually liked about this book. The characters have no personality or depth, the plot is boring and highly unbelievable, and I cannot believe how poorly written it was. Half of the time I did not even know who was speaking! The story's main characters are 22 and 23, but they act like high school students, so immature the entire time. I am in my early twenties and this is a book written for high school girls wth poor vocabulary and literally skills. Pass on this book! Lucky for me I only paid $0.99 for it!

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 351 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I had thought that after reading her historical books that I kne

    I had thought that after reading her historical books that I knew what I was getting. Seriously....wrong! Rachel is one of those authors who can write contemporary as well as historical, and still make me love the story. I was captivated by the connection between Travis and Kasey right from the beginning. Loved this cute, sweet, and romantic story. I will  purchase her contemporary stories again without hesitation. Loved this book!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Horrible

    THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!! I WISH I COULD GIVE IT 0 STARS.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Poorly written

    Poorly written

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Choppy

    Im not sure why this gets such great reviews. It reads like a rough draft. Some of the plot points are weak and predictable. While there are funny moments they are disjointed or ridiculously over the top. Heavy on the dialogue with too much jumping between viewpoints. I liked Travis and the grandmother, but the rest of the characters were either two dimensional or so flawed as to be unlikeable. A really frustrating read since there are some good ideas here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Fantastic

    Omg, I laughed so much that it brougjt tears. Amazing writing, amazing, atory, anf amazing romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    F.u.c.k.ing bad book

    A.s.s face book

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    I just finished reading The Bet and The Wager.  These two books

    I just finished reading The Bet and The Wager.  These two books are awesome.  I agree with another review that you will laugh out loud as well as tear up.  I will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    4 STARS??? ARE YOU KIDDING? We all love a good love triangle, bu

    4 STARS??? ARE YOU KIDDING? We all love a good love triangle, but this is a very thrown together story in my opinion. Also Kacey is the most annoying character, always crying and the male characters are ALWAYS "cursing under their breathe" in almost every paragraph, even where is doesn't make sense...WHY?? Don't waist your time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Such a good story with great characters! I laughed so many times

    Such a good story with great characters! I laughed so many times while reading and couldn't put it down until I finished! The only thing that I didn't find so great was the fact that it was written from a 3rd person point of view. To me, the story seems more real & truly makes me feel like I am pulled in the book through one of the character's thoughts. Even though I prefer 1st person, I still loved the book! It was my first Rachel Van Dyken read and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Read something else. Not worth your time or money.

    Sorry Rachel Van Dyken! But this book was bad. After reading the synopsis and then the sample I thought it had promise. I was wrong. The characters said and did things that we just don't do and say. Long story short (haha) read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Ok

    Hero comes off inexplicably shy and a little stalker-y. His brother will, apparently, be the hero of a future book in the series. But he is so unlikeable that I won't be investing my time to see if his character can be redeemed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Hilarious! Loved the interactions between Kacey, Jake, Travis an

    Hilarious! Loved the interactions between Kacey, Jake, Travis and Grandma Nadine. Kacey, Jake and Travis grew up together and Jake and Kacey have always been best friends ... well, until a fateful night a few years ago and then their relationship fell apart. Jake needs Kacey's help and uses Grandma Nadine as blackmail to get her to return home with him and pretend to be his fiance. Travis is the older brother and has always been in love with Kacey. As kids he tried to do heroic things for Kacey but his planned good intentions always backfired. As they all get reunited as adults, Grandma Nadine intervenes and the sparks fly. I had several laugh out loud moments and times where I could picture people I knew doing/saying some of the same things so this felt very real and hones to me. Great book to read and escape with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Must read

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    I've had this one in my review pile for quite some time, but I j

    I've had this one in my review pile for quite some time, but I just hadn't had a chance to read. But, I also read Van Dyken's RUIN recently and it made me eager to try more of her books. The Bet was a really sweet story. I enjoyed it. 




    Kacey and the Titus boys have been friends since they were kids. As they got older, Kacey and Jake started dating. Their relationship didn't end well and as a result it damaged their friendship. But now, Jake needs a favor and he's turned to Kacey for help. So, they head back to Jake's family home. 




    Here's where things get interesting. Jake's older brother, Travis, and Kacey have never gotten along. Travis used to pick on Kacey relentlessly as kids. But, his reason was because he had a wicked crush on Kacey. Then and now. Kacey never knew his feelings for her though. She always thought he hated her. So, now that Kacey is back, she runs into Travis and is surprised to realize that she may have feelings for him. I loved their banter and I loved their history. As things progress, we learn more about Travis's long term feelings for Kacey and he truly won me over. They are such a great couple. 




    Then there was Jake. Jake is a player and not real interested in commitment. He enjoys his bachelor lifestyle. I do think he cares about Kacey though and I'm glad that their friendship was somewhat healed. I'm anxious to see who he falls for and I'm glad that I have The Wager on hand already!




    Overall, The Bet was a fun and sweet read. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and their history. I look forward to seeing them again in Jake's book. If you're looking for something light and sweet, check this on out. 




    Quotes:
    ~"Where have you been all my life?" she said, watery-eyed.
    "Home," Travis answered a note of seriousness in his voice. "I've been home, waiting for you."-Loc 2794




    ~"Does that mean you'll stay?"




    "If you ask nicely and promise not to throw things or pull my hair."




    "You know I can't promise those things. I'll probably pull your hair, jump on you, and push you against the wall. And I'm pretty sure in a few minutes you'll be screaming my name."




    Kacey felt her knees turn to jelly.




    "But..." He placed her back on her feet. "...I can promise to love you forever."-Loc 3196 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Worst Book I've Ever Read

    Never in my life have I read a book this ridiculous. Characters and plot line were unbelievable. The dialog was awful, people don't talk like that! I only finished it to see how much more awful it could get and guess what... it DID!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Best Book Ever

    One of the best books I have ever read. Story line was great and was truly a funny story. Just absolutely loved grandma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Funny and light...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Love

    Love love love this...funny and heartwarming...cant wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Great Book!!  Recommend Highly!!

    Great Book!!  Recommend Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Finished readibg since I paid

    Sloppy writing. Hard to read. Annoying characters. Comes across to stupid to be amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 351 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18