BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bet

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great Find!

I am so happy I found this book. (It was around 220 pages) I laughed out loud several times as well as teared up a few times too. The characters and their banter were perfect and truly made this book what it was! I can't wait to read more from this author.

posted by TristanKY on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Awful

There is not one thing I actually liked about this book. The characters have no personality or depth, the plot is boring and highly unbelievable, and I cannot believe how poorly written it was. Half of the time I did not even know who was speaking! The story's main char...
There is not one thing I actually liked about this book. The characters have no personality or depth, the plot is boring and highly unbelievable, and I cannot believe how poorly written it was. Half of the time I did not even know who was speaking! The story's main characters are 22 and 23, but they act like high school students, so immature the entire time. I am in my early twenties and this is a book written for high school girls wth poor vocabulary and literally skills. Pass on this book! Lucky for me I only paid $0.99 for it!

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Great Find!

    I am so happy I found this book. (It was around 220 pages) I laughed out loud several times as well as teared up a few times too. The characters and their banter were perfect and truly made this book what it was! I can't wait to read more from this author.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Don't Miss This One!

    Ok, so I love a romance novel that makes me laugh, and this one had me laughing out loud, giggling like I was 12 again and rooting Travis on. My thanks go out to the author, Rachel, you write a great contemporary book and I hope there are many more to follow!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Two brothers....the girl they grew up with....the bet the brothe

    Two brothers....the girl they grew up with....the bet the brothers made as young boys...the misinterpretations of a lifetime...the meddling grandmother...the growing apart of friends...two realizing they are made for each other... All of these combine to make one AWESOME story!


    Rachel Van Dyken has a way of crafting stories that draw you in and have you rooting for her characters. You begin to care for them right from the start and The Bet is no different! What I loved about these characters was that they are not perfect -- so they seem real.

    And best of all The Bet had me not only laughing throughout the book it also left me with a couple of tears. I was sad to see this book end -- but happy to learn there will be a second book!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I love love this book.  funny and so sweet.  love Travis and Kac

    I love love this book.  funny and so sweet.  love Travis and Kacey!  Must read!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Another Great Book!

    I loved this book from start to finish. It was so funny. The characters are so down to earth. I love Rachel's books. Looking forward for the next one.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Adorably sweet and laugh-out-loud funny

    Love, love, loved this book! Such a great story... I want to be Grandma Nadine when I grow up!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great story

    Laugh, cry and romantic.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Loved

    Loved it! Loving and funny! Great read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Love a book that makes me laugh out loud....I was reading it on

    Love a book that makes me laugh out loud....I was reading it on my nook during a meeting.....not a good idea, could not wait for the meeting to be over so I could read some more. :-)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved the book!,,,

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loved it, it was a great read, kept me interested. I've read thr

    Loved it, it was a great read, kept me interested. I've read three other books from this author and i must say her writing is great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    What is this about?

    Just wondering about this book... looks interesting

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Love!

    I loved this book so much! I couldnt put it down and read it all in one night! I laughed out loud and teared up numerous times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read XOXO

    Great read XOXO

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I had thought that after reading her historical books that I kne

    I had thought that after reading her historical books that I knew what I was getting. Seriously....wrong! Rachel is one of those authors who can write contemporary as well as historical, and still make me love the story. I was captivated by the connection between Travis and Kasey right from the beginning. Loved this cute, sweet, and romantic story. I will  purchase her contemporary stories again without hesitation. Loved this book!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Fantastic

    Omg, I laughed so much that it brougjt tears. Amazing writing, amazing, atory, anf amazing romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    I just finished reading The Bet and The Wager.  These two books

    I just finished reading The Bet and The Wager.  These two books are awesome.  I agree with another review that you will laugh out loud as well as tear up.  I will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Hilarious! Loved the interactions between Kacey, Jake, Travis an

    Hilarious! Loved the interactions between Kacey, Jake, Travis and Grandma Nadine. Kacey, Jake and Travis grew up together and Jake and Kacey have always been best friends ... well, until a fateful night a few years ago and then their relationship fell apart. Jake needs Kacey's help and uses Grandma Nadine as blackmail to get her to return home with him and pretend to be his fiance. Travis is the older brother and has always been in love with Kacey. As kids he tried to do heroic things for Kacey but his planned good intentions always backfired. As they all get reunited as adults, Grandma Nadine intervenes and the sparks fly. I had several laugh out loud moments and times where I could picture people I knew doing/saying some of the same things so this felt very real and hones to me. Great book to read and escape with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Must read

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Love

    Love love love this...funny and heartwarming...cant wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10