Customer Reviews for

The Big Bad Wolf Romance Compilation

Average Rating 4
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is the one that had me hooked!

This was the very first book I ever read from this author. I didnt think I would enjoy a "werewolf" novel but as soon as I started to read it I couldnt put it down. The next thing I knew I was buying the second, then the third and then the fourth book in the series. Sin...
This was the very first book I ever read from this author. I didnt think I would enjoy a "werewolf" novel but as soon as I started to read it I couldnt put it down. The next thing I knew I was buying the second, then the third and then the fourth book in the series. Since then I have read just about everything she has written and still cant get enough.
HIGHLY recommend this author. She will keep you completely lost in the story with her amazing writing.

MORE PLEASE!!!

posted by JStPeter on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, sadistic, crap!

Book one was not too bad. Book two sort of continued with some characters from book one. Premise Alfa wolves need mates. there are not a ready supply available. Alfa meets supposed mate, she is perfect for not one but two males. First come, first to mark for later retre...
Book one was not too bad. Book two sort of continued with some characters from book one. Premise Alfa wolves need mates. there are not a ready supply available. Alfa meets supposed mate, she is perfect for not one but two males. First come, first to mark for later retreival. Mean time male two finds marked mate. Must torture and torment female into wishing mark from mate one to disappear. Every time the female is kissed, stroked, fondled etc...by a male who's mark she does not bear, she feels extreme pain. Book two is awful! The marked female (spoiler alert!) is strung up by a bunch of males, on orders from the alpha who wants her. Whose mark she does not wear. Nude for all to see. She is whipped, has her nipples bitten,fingers plunged into her, as she screams in pain , and a little lust, cause she shamedly, does like her sex a bit rough! GAG! Sufficed to say unless bondage and pain is your thing Book 2 is not for you. I did not read book 3 or 4. That was enough for me! It also was unbelieveable to me that after such violation, being half wolve, the victim was not really tramitized by any of this... Don't waste your money on this one!!!

posted by read2011 on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    This is the one that had me hooked!

    This was the very first book I ever read from this author. I didnt think I would enjoy a "werewolf" novel but as soon as I started to read it I couldnt put it down. The next thing I knew I was buying the second, then the third and then the fourth book in the series. Since then I have read just about everything she has written and still cant get enough.
    HIGHLY recommend this author. She will keep you completely lost in the story with her amazing writing.

    MORE PLEASE!!!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I really enjoyed reading this. Very hard to put down. Very good story. One of my fav.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Terrible, sadistic, crap!

    Book one was not too bad. Book two sort of continued with some characters from book one. Premise Alfa wolves need mates. there are not a ready supply available. Alfa meets supposed mate, she is perfect for not one but two males. First come, first to mark for later retreival. Mean time male two finds marked mate. Must torture and torment female into wishing mark from mate one to disappear. Every time the female is kissed, stroked, fondled etc...by a male who's mark she does not bear, she feels extreme pain. Book two is awful! The marked female (spoiler alert!) is strung up by a bunch of males, on orders from the alpha who wants her. Whose mark she does not wear. Nude for all to see. She is whipped, has her nipples bitten,fingers plunged into her, as she screams in pain , and a little lust, cause she shamedly, does like her sex a bit rough! GAG! Sufficed to say unless bondage and pain is your thing Book 2 is not for you. I did not read book 3 or 4. That was enough for me! It also was unbelieveable to me that after such violation, being half wolve, the victim was not really tramitized by any of this... Don't waste your money on this one!!!

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Delicious, Sexy.....a MUST read for shapeshifter fans!

    Have you ever read a book that delivered so much....everything - action, romance, SEX, chemistry... that you longed to get back to it, to delve into the pages and devour every morsel that's offered? Well I never had, until this series. These characters inundate your mind while you're away at work or play when you can only imagine what happens next and they also visit your dreams. The sexual tension will leave you panting for more and the author delivers! Malcolm, Kane, Lucas & Byron are strong, sexy men whose kiss can bring unimagineable pleasure and whose bite can take you to ecstasies untold - which may make you wish you had a Big Bad Wolf of your own!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Only so-so cookie cutter stories

    Sorry to write such negative review but please don't waste your money. While Ms. Killough-Walden's stories are BASICALLY good, each book is just the same...wolf meets girl, wolf looses girl, girl gets beaten, girl has more than one smitten man interested in her and then wolf and girl reunite.

    I wish the story revolved more around the two main characters instead there's not much involvement between the two that a reader, like me, would be convinced it's a love story I'm reading.

    I'm on the third book and I can't keep reading it. Let me guess, the fourth book is the same as the first three...see above for plot.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    You have to read these books!!!

    It is an awesome price if you are a fast reader in paranormal world. I just can't put my nook down. The story is both interesting and romantic. There is suspense at every corner. What a wild ride!! It is multiple stories in one. Over 2500 pages of by the fire reading. I love this series and cannot wait to finish it. Well done... Heather.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Just like the name suggests...it bad!

    Now first, I have to say that I was only able to get through the first book in this series. The story, by itself, was not the problem. I love SiFi/Fantasy novels, and this storyline was believable and interesting. However, the writing left much to be desired. The author seemed to jump from section to section without any backstory or explanation.

    For example(spoiler alert), the hero is told that the heroine is in trouble during a phone call from his sister (heroine's best friend). There are no signs that say the heroine is in trouble, only the fact that she wants to meet her favorite author (supposed bad-guy) when he comes to town for a book signing. Yet we, as the reader, must assume that this bad-guy has it out for the heroine just because he is coming to the same town. We are not even told why he is considered a bad-guy until much later. Also, the hero takes drastic, unnecessary action just because he realized she is a "dormant"(very rare mate). When did the sister tell him she was a dormant? The author seems to skip these "minor" details and we are left to catch up as the story progresses.

    Another example is when the heroine find out that werewolves are real. She barely asks any questions. If I woke up and my whole world had turned upside-down, I would at least ask questions. More likely than not, I wouldn't believe what I was told. However, the author doesn't seem to care, or focus, on the reactions of her characters. She is so busy skipping to the "important" parts of her story, she forgets that we need more information. We are not in her brain. We need to know what happens in between the "important" parts.

    Over all, I give this 2 stars. The author has a great imagination, but the books had the feel of a first draft, not a finished work. I truly hope she refines her work, because I think it has the potential to be very interesting.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Series written by an Incredible author

    I highly recommend this book it contains all the books of the big bad wolf series. If you want a set of books full of excitement, lust, love and some kick butt action scenes then this is the series for you. The main male characters are all written in a way that makes you want to drool. The main female characters are strong beautiful passionate women that you can really relate to. So grab the book and curl up with your favorite drink and settle in to be spellbound by the passionate excitement pouring from the pages you wont be dissatisfied.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible series, incredible author

    I have read every one of her books and was thrilled to hear about this bundle. I own the books indivdually for kindle but I am very pleased to have a chance to get all four of her Big Bad Wolf Series for my Nook. Heather is amazingly imaginative and weaves a story with a wonderful world with relatable characters. I am always drawn in to the point where the dishes can wait, sleep would be impossible without knowing the end.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    This is romance?

    I'm sorry but I disagree. I didn't care for the first, though I forced myself to finish it and I closed the second in disgust. I would have tossed this book into my woodstove if it weren't on my nook because the heroes and the villains are completely interchangable. The love stories were superficial at best and really didn't establish anything beyond attraction and there was way too much choking going on in this thing. Even the heroes had trouble keeping their hands off their lady love's windpipe. But when Jesse in book two slipped his leather belt around Charlie's neck like a choke chain and used it to cut off her air before dragging her to the bed to restrain her I thought, this author has an unhealthy view of love and intimacy. It made absolutely no sense that this "hero" was brutalizing and controlling the woman he supposedly cared about while being upset that she allowed it from her abusive personal trainer. Sorry, inconsistencies like that don't wash. The writer tells us these are strong and independent women yet what she gives us are weak submissives who buckle under the control of sadistic men. I wish I'd known what was in this ahead of time, I would have saved my money.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Wow! For a first read by this author, I am seriously hooked!

    These were the first books I've read by Heather Killough-Walden and I have to say after reading these, I bought a bunch of others by her. Well written, lots of action with characters that are well developed and very dimensional! The stories flow from one book to the next so well that it seems like one seamless story. I'm only sorry that I read so fast as I got through them and wanted more! They were very hard to put down once I'd put my nose to them! I highly recommend them! Give her a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Great series

    Loved the series! Book 3 was my favorite! would recommend it. I hope there will be more to come.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I loved how each of the stories flowed smoothly into the next. I also like the fact the author developed the players from the previous story and brought the main characters along as supporting characters throughout the stories. I couldn’t put this one down.
    Yes, it’s the girl meets wolf, fight, trouble and sex….but it’s the way all of the stories flow that make this a great read. At over 2000 pages, I was up a couple of nights till 2:00 am.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Good ideas did not a good book make

    I am confused by the great reviews for these books,one previous reviewer even likened this series to Karen Moning's series. Hah! That's like comparing a Monet to paint-by-number. I do think the underlying ideas for the stories were good, and the main characters interesting (although all the women were described exactly the same with long,lean legs and perfect skin, etc. They all sounded like Barbie except hair color and talent). The writing was uninspired (I just feel so much more could have been accomplished here), the plot lines almost copies of the previous book. I skipped through the second book here just to make sure I wasn't missing anything, then only made it into the beginning of the third one, before being disgusted by the same sad plot spreading before me. Glad I only wasted 4 dollars.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    If u really like this

    So far im on the 3rd book and really enjoy reading these. I love the drama, action and adult content in these novels. My only issue is i wished the plot would have changed a little more from book to book. If u like these try the fever series by karen marie moning AMAZING.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    I can't believe I lucked out the way I did!! I was searching fo

    I can't believe I lucked out the way I did!! I was searching for something new and interesting to read and certainly found that when I purchased the BBW series! All four of these stories kept me completely captivated. I fell in love over and over again with the males and felt a love for the women in the stories as they fought their own battles. I couldn't stop reading even if I wanted to. Delicious sex scenes that even I was getting hot and bothered over, and thrilling chases for freedom and the males rescuing their females that had me on the edge of my seat! I couldn't ask for a better series to wisk me away from reality and leave me in a constant state of waiting for my Alpha with glowing eyes to find me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Romance lovers, get ready to be taken on a ride that you wi

    Dark Romance lovers, get ready to be taken on a ride that you will not soon forget! Heather Killough-Walden has found her place among my favorite authors. This Series is action packed, daring, and dangerously seductive. You have your Dominating alpha men/wolves that are powerful, sexy, and will stop at nothing to protect their mates! Your female made wolves are strong, independent, and loyal. Villains that will do just about anything to get what they want. Together they make for one hell of a steamy read filled with twists and turns at every page.
    The characters are so well thought out; you will feel as if you know them on a personal level. Paranormal Lover's you will not be disappointed! I highly recommend to anyone who loves a dark romance that's deeply sensual.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    LOVE!!!!!!

    I will admit that i bought this bundle because it was cheap but i am so glad i did!!!! I loved all the stories and i didn't even care that they were sometimes predictable because i still could't put my nook down. I had to know what was going to happen next and i never wanted to reach the end. These are an amazing buy and a quick enjoyable read. I'm excited to read more from her!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Good Books

    Although the underlying themes were a bit repetitive, the books were still enjoyable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Heather Killough-Walden is probably one of the most addictive au

    Heather Killough-Walden is probably one of the most addictive authors I’ve ever come across. Her writing style is unique. Her tales are sensational. The fact that she’s not been snatched up by some bigwig corporate publishing house blows my mind. I’ve tried to write reviews for her books before and I’ve always had the same problem. I never feel that I’m able to do them justice. I first found Heather when I came across The Heat (book 1 of the BBW series) while playing around on my new Nook nearly three years ago. I remember reading the first chapter and thinking, “she’s a good writer”, it took a few more chapters before I realized I was wrong. She wasn’t JUST a good writer, she was one of the best I’d ever read. Over the last couple of years, I’ve been reading her books as she releases them and every time I think that her next book can’t possibly live up to the last, I’m once again proven wrong. The fact that she’s able to write about the supernatural (my favorite. genre) and yet keep her books from becoming too dark/violent/gory and still have them turn out as exciting as they are, is a huge plus for me! Heather has to be one of the funniest women on the planet because the witty banter/inner dialogue struggle is laugh out loud funny! The passion and romance is insanely HOT and the action keeps you on the edge of your seat desperate for more. Not to mention the way that every one of the character's stories are so neatly intertwined and the way that it's all brought together in every book is nothing short of brilliant. I am seriously in awe of her writing. I've never cared for novels that have too much going on in the way of characters. Multiple p.o.v drive me crazy when it’s messy back and forth. I do not have this problem with The Big Bad Wolf series or it’s spin off The Kings. In fact I think that her biggest strength is that she can bring so much to the table and yet still make it work as flawlessly and as entertaining as she does. I don't know how you write your books so that they flow so well Heather, but you not only make it work, you make it so damn hard to pick a character to root for! They're ALL so equally amazing and SIZZLING hot! Thank you for going for your dreams and sharing your love of writing with us. I look forward to reading your books for many years to come and sharing them with others every chance I get!!! Thank you for everything, Brittany

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14