Customer Reviews for

The Big Bad Wolf Romance Compilation

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is the one that had me hooked!

This was the very first book I ever read from this author. I didnt think I would enjoy a "werewolf" novel but as soon as I started to read it I couldnt put it down. The next thing I knew I was buying the second, then the third and then the fourth book in the series. Sin...
This was the very first book I ever read from this author. I didnt think I would enjoy a "werewolf" novel but as soon as I started to read it I couldnt put it down. The next thing I knew I was buying the second, then the third and then the fourth book in the series. Since then I have read just about everything she has written and still cant get enough.
HIGHLY recommend this author. She will keep you completely lost in the story with her amazing writing.

MORE PLEASE!!!

posted by JStPeter on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, sadistic, crap!

Book one was not too bad. Book two sort of continued with some characters from book one. Premise Alfa wolves need mates. there are not a ready supply available. Alfa meets supposed mate, she is perfect for not one but two males. First come, first to mark for later retre...
Book one was not too bad. Book two sort of continued with some characters from book one. Premise Alfa wolves need mates. there are not a ready supply available. Alfa meets supposed mate, she is perfect for not one but two males. First come, first to mark for later retreival. Mean time male two finds marked mate. Must torture and torment female into wishing mark from mate one to disappear. Every time the female is kissed, stroked, fondled etc...by a male who's mark she does not bear, she feels extreme pain. Book two is awful! The marked female (spoiler alert!) is strung up by a bunch of males, on orders from the alpha who wants her. Whose mark she does not wear. Nude for all to see. She is whipped, has her nipples bitten,fingers plunged into her, as she screams in pain , and a little lust, cause she shamedly, does like her sex a bit rough! GAG! Sufficed to say unless bondage and pain is your thing Book 2 is not for you. I did not read book 3 or 4. That was enough for me! It also was unbelieveable to me that after such violation, being half wolve, the victim was not really tramitized by any of this... Don't waste your money on this one!!!

posted by read2011 on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Only so-so cookie cutter stories

    Sorry to write such negative review but please don't waste your money. While Ms. Killough-Walden's stories are BASICALLY good, each book is just the same...wolf meets girl, wolf looses girl, girl gets beaten, girl has more than one smitten man interested in her and then wolf and girl reunite.

    I wish the story revolved more around the two main characters instead there's not much involvement between the two that a reader, like me, would be convinced it's a love story I'm reading.

    I'm on the third book and I can't keep reading it. Let me guess, the fourth book is the same as the first three...see above for plot.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Just like the name suggests...it bad!

    Now first, I have to say that I was only able to get through the first book in this series. The story, by itself, was not the problem. I love SiFi/Fantasy novels, and this storyline was believable and interesting. However, the writing left much to be desired. The author seemed to jump from section to section without any backstory or explanation.

    For example(spoiler alert), the hero is told that the heroine is in trouble during a phone call from his sister (heroine's best friend). There are no signs that say the heroine is in trouble, only the fact that she wants to meet her favorite author (supposed bad-guy) when he comes to town for a book signing. Yet we, as the reader, must assume that this bad-guy has it out for the heroine just because he is coming to the same town. We are not even told why he is considered a bad-guy until much later. Also, the hero takes drastic, unnecessary action just because he realized she is a "dormant"(very rare mate). When did the sister tell him she was a dormant? The author seems to skip these "minor" details and we are left to catch up as the story progresses.

    Another example is when the heroine find out that werewolves are real. She barely asks any questions. If I woke up and my whole world had turned upside-down, I would at least ask questions. More likely than not, I wouldn't believe what I was told. However, the author doesn't seem to care, or focus, on the reactions of her characters. She is so busy skipping to the "important" parts of her story, she forgets that we need more information. We are not in her brain. We need to know what happens in between the "important" parts.

    Over all, I give this 2 stars. The author has a great imagination, but the books had the feel of a first draft, not a finished work. I truly hope she refines her work, because I think it has the potential to be very interesting.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Good ideas did not a good book make

    I am confused by the great reviews for these books,one previous reviewer even likened this series to Karen Moning's series. Hah! That's like comparing a Monet to paint-by-number. I do think the underlying ideas for the stories were good, and the main characters interesting (although all the women were described exactly the same with long,lean legs and perfect skin, etc. They all sounded like Barbie except hair color and talent). The writing was uninspired (I just feel so much more could have been accomplished here), the plot lines almost copies of the previous book. I skipped through the second book here just to make sure I wasn't missing anything, then only made it into the beginning of the third one, before being disgusted by the same sad plot spreading before me. Glad I only wasted 4 dollars.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have read book one and book two. I've decided to take a break

    I have read book one and book two. I've decided to take a break and read something else before contemplating reading the third book. I have to say I was very disappointed in the lack of love in this romance series (both books lacked romance). I understand these are "animals" but come on, it is too much to ask for our hero/heroine to not only connect on a lust-filled physical way but also come together emotionally? There were several parts (especially in book two) that I thought, geez if not for the sexual bond of the mates, there wouldn't be anything holding them together. And seriously, everytime Lily talks about her mate, it's to complain about him being a bully, etc? Really? I agree with so many of the other reviews, book two was exactly the same story as book one just used different names. I find it hard to go along with the story-line that a female can be kidnapped, humilated, endure mental cruelty, and sexual assualt and then within hours she is falling in the arms of our hero wanting sex. That just doesn't seem to fit into a realistic expectation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Boring......

    Such a boring series!! Couldn't finish this book fast enough!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Like the comments below, i have to agree.. there was not a whole

    Like the comments below, i have to agree.. there was not a whole lot of explanations of the back story.. Then it gets to the end where a character was going to the big guys.. and completely drops and goes straight into the epilogue ???? and even there is was patchy on the story... Next thing I know I was in book two and only got into a few pages. I was completely lost and had no idea these were all new characters. The e-book didn't break the chapters out like most books and there was no separation with a new cover or title for the second book. This really could have been an amazing book(s) if the writer had filled in the blanks and finished out the story lines a little bit more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    So-so

    These books are so so. Interesting take on werewolf and vampire legends. There was a warning that the 2nd book had graphic violence but it did not say that it was graphically violent sex. I do not personally like that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    an ok series

    The series are ok, I loved the first one..thought the second one was ok, and then by the 3rd book I couldn't continue because they were all the same. I felt like the books never changed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1