Customer Reviews for

The Big Exit

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Smart and surprising!

After reading Knife Music, I couldn’t wait to read David Carnoy’s second book, The Big Exit. It was worth the wait! Once again, Carnoy combines rich and real characters with a quick and surprising plot. Twists, turns, u-turns … this is the kind of book that I found m...
After reading Knife Music, I couldn’t wait to read David Carnoy’s second book, The Big Exit. It was worth the wait! Once again, Carnoy combines rich and real characters with a quick and surprising plot. Twists, turns, u-turns … this is the kind of book that I found myself speeding through because I “had” to know what happened but then, I was super bummed when the book was over, and wished I had let myself enjoy it longer. I guess that’s what re-reads are for! It was also neat to learn more about startups and high tech as the storyline wove through these worlds.

Smart and surprising, this book was a real treat!

posted by DChugh on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Mississippi

Had to quit, too many f-bombs & dislike any 'gd's

posted by 15830874 on October 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    The Big Exit proves Carnoy is no longer a rookie player. His sec

    The Big Exit proves Carnoy is no longer a rookie player. His second book, The Big Exit, places him as a true contender in the crime thriller genre. I rightly looked forward to reading this book. His signature prose is crisp, imbued with wry, witty dialogue sure to keep you entertained and engaged. I found myself comfortably in suspense, laughing out loud with these all too plausible characters. Carnoy is a mixologist of relevant socio-cultural-techno trends and vernacular with criminal-legal bytes. This book is for anyone seeking a fast paced, light, yet intricately woven thriller that will only keep you up at night turning to the last page, not with nightmares. The Big Exit will capture your attention like a crime thriller on TV, if not scripted a notch above the standard fair. Highly recommended for a quick escape.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Good, suspenseful crime thriller

    Enjoyed "The Big Exit" as a suspense thriller in which figuring out whodunit and how/why was a surprise until the end. I really liked the main character, a complex and wronged person, yet a determined survivor, with a sense of humor. Another interesting character was the primary police investigator who let his instincts keep his mind open on the central murder despite substantial evidence. The only negative was that the reveal at the end came hard and fast and was a bit too neat. I felt it should have unfolded more over time and allowed us to understand what all had happened rather than just having it laid out all at once. Still, it was a good read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Convicted of vehicular manslaughter, Richie is released from pri

    Convicted of vehicular manslaughter, Richie is released from prison still claiming his friend actually swapped places and put him behind the wheel. While Richie served his sentence, his friend has gone on to business success and marriage to Richie’s ex-fiance. When that same friend turns up dead, Richie is the obvious suspect. However, while evidence against both Richie and his ex-fiance mounts, not everything is as it seems. Plot twists and intriguing leads kept me reading this one late into the night.

    The atmosphere was by far my favorite part of the book. Despite the modern, Silicon Valley setting, this book felt like a 1940′s noir. Although their are multiple view points, all of the characters voices reminded me of the hard-boiled, dedicated detective featured in mysteries from The Maltese Falcon to the computer game LA Noire. To an extent, I missed having characters with more unique voices, but I also liked and admired them all for their  shared stubborn insistence on finding the truth. As a result, I really enjoyed the narration, despite it’s uniformity.

    The dialogue and the writing did a lot more to flesh out the characters and I very much enjoyed both. The dialogue was funny, but not unbelievably witty or over the top. And the writing was very good, with descriptions of appearances and background stories both worked seamlessly and naturally into the plot. The technical jargon got a little heavy on one or two occasions, deserving of more explanation that was given, but this was rare enough that it didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book. I did appreciate the fact that the author seemed to understand how crime labs work. He certainly gave a much more realistic representation than most stories, especially popular TV shows! I was also constantly intrigued by the plot, especially all the tantalizing clues leading me to re-work my theory about what happened. While this wasn’t the sort of mystery I typically go for, more based on clues and action sequences than an understanding of human nature, I definitely enjoyed the ride.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    highly recommended

    Excellent read! Very convoluted story and excellent entwinning of the characters. I thought I had figured out the ending at least three times and was completely off base. The ending is out of the blue. Good for the serious "Who done it" types.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Lots of twists @ turns great book!!

    Good story would have enjoyed it better if the use of the "F" word wasn't used to excess!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'The Big Exit' is a thrill-ride of twists and turns t

    4.5 Stars

    'The Big Exit' is a thrill-ride of twists and turns that keeps the reader on their toes throughout the entire novel. There are several layers within the plot that weave seamlessly together to create a web of intricate lies, deception, mystery, and even murder. What starts out looking like a horrible crime - a murder of a wealthy Internet businessman - quickly escalates as evidence connects people from the victim's past and a very public trial to the murder. At the heart of the novel is the victim's wife, Beth, who discovers her husband's body and quickly becomes ensnared in the ensuing investigation. Alongside Beth, we have other intriguing main characters: Richie Foreman, Beth's former fiance and the victim's old friend - who just happens to have been involved with them in the earlier homicide of a young woman and served prison time because of it. There is also Hank Madden, an older homicide detective who is determined to find the connection between these two crimes; Carolyn Dupuy, a lawyer who is representing the victim's wife; and Marty "the DNA Dude" Lowenstein, a local pro bono legend, who is representing Richie. All of these people must come together to uncover the truth about who killed Mark McGregor and why.

    The writing was impeccable and had me captivated from the first paragraph. The plot slides effortlessly from past to present and easily entwines the varying perspectives of the characters as well as the different subplots throughout the book. The characters are very realistic and easy to identify with, but they were also written in a way that made the reader sympathize with them all while being suspicious of the truth. The book is a true mystery and had me guessing and second-guessing until the very end. I loved how there were so many different twists and turns and nothing was really how it seemed. There's tons of action and thrills along with real character interaction and incredible mounting tension until the truth explodes from the pages. Overall, I loved this book. It was a tantalizing thriller wrought with mystery and intrigue. I highly recommend it to lovers of puzzling mysteries and thrillers that keep you eagerly flipping the pages.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Very Good Mystery Thriller !!

    Defintely recommend this book !!! It is a fast read and a page turner.... hard to stop reading. As with this author's first book KNIFE MUSIC ...not all is as it appears to be. Twist and turns up to the end. Look forward to his next book !!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Great Read

    This was a can't put it down book. It really is a mystery that keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    A very good read!

    This book was a very good read keeping my interest throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Good one

    Liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Good read.

    I enjoyed The Big Exit by David Carnoy. It had many of the same characters as in Knife Music which made it easy to remember characters backgrounds. It had an interesting plot and a good overall mystery base. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    fun read

    I enjoyed the twists and turns of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    The Big Exit was the first book we have read by author David Car

    The Big Exit was the first book we have read by author David Carnoy. We had no idea what to expect when we started the book but we have to say, we were delightfully surprised. First, we were drawn in by the rich character development. we felt like each character was incredibly believable and likeable in his/her own way. They were people we could see ourselves having lunch with or working across the hall from. Richie Forman/Frank Sinatra was my favorite character. You can hear Richie’s Sinatra Accent throughout the book. Being a Sinatra fan myself, this made the novel even more enjoyable. One of our first thoughts after reading the synopsis was how Sinatra was going to be incorporated into the novel. We really liked the way the author used Richie’s comfort with Sinatra as a barrier with the police. As his barrier was being broken down he stopped relying as much on it.
    The number of characters names being mentioned was a little confusing at first. There are many cops investigating the scene, neighbors, lawyers to get to know. However, once you do everything makes sense. We loved that blogger Tom Bender was a major part of the story. We can imagine a spin off book from any of these characters.
    The detailed descriptions of the Bay Area were accurate making for a more realistic feel to the storyline. The outcome was unexpected and everything was resolved at the end. Definitely will be purchasing Knife Music and cannot wait for his next book release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Another great read by Carnoy.

    Love the way the author brings characters together. Very well written. Can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2