Customer Reviews for

The Big Sister's Guide to the World of Work: The Inside Rules Every Working Girl Must Know

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Arrogant, Crass, and Self-Promoting with Heavy Dose of Pop-Cultu

    Arrogant, Crass, and Self-Promoting with Heavy Dose of Pop-Culture References.



    The authors' advice is basic common sense (or in today's society, UNcommon sense); and will probably appeal to college-age readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Piece of Crap

    This woman sounds like she has had no experience in the real world. She sounds like a real loser who is just whining about how women can't get ahead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Can't put this book down...

    I recently graduated with a degree where the work force is mostly female... and guess what? I got a job within a small female lead agency.... so I was nervous about handling all the estrogen in the air... This book really lays down the silent law on behaving, working the office, establishing goals and getting ahead in your career. I believe this book is not marketed enough, therefore underestimated and it needs to be a required read during your last semester in college before pursuing your career. Now I'm looking forward to more books written by these women, because their writing style is not stuffy, and very incouraging for us girls. Perhaps a book on interviewing skills and answering the most common interview questions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    So Insightful, and TRUE

    This book is awesome. I just recently graduated and was nervous about starting my new job. I looked back on the internship I had and realized I made so many of the mistakes that they talk about! I am so glad that I read this book because now I feel more confident that I am more prepared to start my new job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    The best $14 I've spent in a long time!

    This book offers advice on office politics/behaviors, and describes common mistakes made by women at work that prevent them from climbing up. And the best part: the book is written with humor so it's fun to read. I'm only half way through and ready to say it's the best $14 I have spent for a long time! I swear that had I found this book 10 years ago, I would have been in a MUCH different work situation right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    PROfessional instead of confessional

    Wow! This should be required reading for every female college graduate. M and J shoot from the hip, but they hit the bullseye every time! More work wisdom (and wit) in one book than most business school's entire curriculum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    The Best Working Woman's How-to Yet!

    I wish that there had been a book as savvy and yet fun to read as this when I started my career 7 years ago. This how-to gem provides practical advice that any female professional can benefit from. Read it today and apply the techniques tomorrow. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Real advice that can save your career!

    For those of us who toil away in a 'go-in-to-the-office-each-day' professional gig, the often confusing world of work and gender politics can really get a girl down. If you need a little humor and constructive advice to lighten up a recent 'promotion passover,' check out 'The Big Sister's Guide to the World of Work: The Inside Rules Every Working Girl Must Know' co-authored by Marcelle DiFalco and Jocelyn Greenky Herz This book gives solid, strategic advice to women for 'movin' on up' the ladder, even though the rungs may be labelled 'for male personnel only.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    great eye opener

    ok these are the things they don't teach you in college! The book is an easy non-preachy (I'm better than you) book. It beats all of those what color is your parachute type books that bore you to death as you try to figure out what the book is saying without falling asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Fantastic!

    As a mid-twenties assistant to a CEO, there were many offices events and relationships that I did not understand. This book answered many of my questions, and showed me how to change my own behavior to improve my job, surroundings, office relationships, and my career. A must read for any woman starting her career or entering a new office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    UNBELIEVABLE!!

    This book is fabulous! It gives specific and detailed steps women can take to advance their careers at any level. From the most lowly assistant to upper management, you can find ideas and habits that will last you a lifetime! I especially like their advice about networking (a real, honest-to-goodness idea of what to DO with the contacts you make) and about what NOT to do at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1