Customer Reviews for

The Bills Are Due

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Snore!

    To be honest a very boring book. My expectations for this book were high but after the first chapter it was like reading a text book in high school...found myself daydreaming throughout it and hoping it would end. Nothing new, nothing interesting, it seemed like the sole purpose of this book was to take shots at the old guard of the NFL especially Gene Upshaw. I walked away disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    Author writes his own reviews? Not very ethical.

    I find it interesting how there are 4 recent reviews for this book that were written within 30 minutes of each other by supposedly 4 different people. I think it is deplorable for the author to write fake reviews of his own book just to jack up the ratings. Barnes and Noble should be made aware of this so it doesn't happen. It is misleading people to believe the book is good...it's not. Shame on you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I thought!

    This book was nothing like what I thought it would be. To be honest I found it quite boring. After the first few pages of the author's personal reflection it turned into one long stale interview that quite honestly took no skill at all to write. The players did all the writing. Secondly, I think the only purpose of this book was to whine and complain about how the players in the old days were given poor retirement benefits (welcome to the real world guys). They all took pot shots at Gene Upshaw who had died just previous to the books release. If you want to read a good football book check out Dave Steidel's book on the AFL and avoid this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    Good gift

    It was nice to see non-football related stories from some of the great Bills

    Carl Goodwyn
    Westport CT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Waste!

    Do not waste your time or money on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    very good for new fan

    I enjoyed it as someone who knows nothing about pro-football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring!

    This book was a mess and the author should be a shamed of himself <BR/>for having us waste our money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    Very enjoyable

    Met the author Christmas week, will give it as a gift. Nice man and enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    Entertaining

    A good book for learning about the current situation between the old and new NFL.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Gracious and fun

    My family and I met the author and several former Buffalo Bills this past week, fun stories and a good book for fans. I wasn't aware of the problems faced by the older players but this book tells about it using their words. Donnie Green was particularly interesting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Positive book

    I was shocked by a previous post accusing Mr. Thompson of posting his own reviews. Mr. Thompson spoke to our Rotary Club this past week I found his story and his book heart warming and as many now know he is donating money to former Buffalo Bills who need it from this book. So for all the other disgruntled fans or fellow authors do what he is doing before you accuse anyone.<BR/><BR/>Richard and Pam in Alexander NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I enjoyed it

    It is slow in some spots, overall pretty good. Nice gentleman I met at a recent signing with former Bill.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    Nice work

    I met author and former Bill Walt Patulski at a private signing, great stories, nice that most of royalty will be going to former Bills. Some authors make money off the players names not Thompson.<BR/><BR/>"Jay" Calahan<BR/>Livonia NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    You will like it!

    Great stories, this is not like other Bills books, I have read the cookie cutter ones like Levy or Tasker, who never lifted a finger to write them others like Rockin the Rockpile, a 400 page book, way to much.<BR/><BR/>Donald B.<BR/>Brockport NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    Perfect for women

    I gave it to my grandmother who had no understanding about football. She laughed at the stories and really enjoyed the book, do not waste money on big fancy football books for the new fan. This is the one for ythat job.<BR/><BR/>Ashley Peckham<BR/>Grand Island NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    Nice book

    I bought it at a signing, nice book with stories I hadn't heard before. If you are expecting a lengthy historical, dry statistical book this isn't for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    Great book

    It is what i expected a collection of personal stories by the players themselves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Great book--nice author

    Met him and former Bill Donnie Green--good book and nice gift.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    if you like the Bills....

    I bought this book at the Bills home opener and read it over the next week. great insight into the guys that played for Bills back when i was young. this is a very good book for Bills fans...if you don't like the Bills- you probably wouldn't read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Excellent--Buy this book

    A great book that harkens back to the old school days of football and football players.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2