Customer Reviews for

The Birth Partner - Revised 3rd Edition: A Complete Guide to Childbirth for Dads, Doulas, and All Other Labor Companions

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My doula clients love this book.

    I am a birth doula and recommend various books for them to use for preparation for labor and birth. This is by far the most popular and helpful one according to my clients and their partners. It is clear and concise, intelligent and complete in presenting what partners in labor need to help their laboring partners. Thank you, Penny Simkin for writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    HIghly recommended

    Thorough, readable and a much needed antidote to increasingly medicalized childbirth in the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I purchased this book and 4 others. This one is definitely my fa

    I purchased this book and 4 others. This one is definitely my favorite. It explains the birth process in detail and also how to help mom cope and stay focused. It also has chapter outlines that summarize the chapter. It also includes a how-to for an emergency unassisted delivery! My partner won't even read so much as an instruction manual, but he read the outlines and a few other pages I listed for him. With this pregnancy being the first for either of us, I wanted us to be prepared, especially since we're a rather unique case. This is now my birth bible (and I plan on giving it out to all of my friends! I feel more than confident now about my (natural) birth, especially since I can't take any medications due to a kidney disease. Even my partner feels more prepared to do our homebirth! This is the only book I'll ever need for labor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Excellent Read

    This is a great book for the first time dad or significant other. Excellent descriptions and informative information written in layman's terms. A bit dry but not disinteresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    A must-read for anyone involved in the childbirth process!

    I first read this book when my best friend of 18 years and her husband asked me to be their labor coach. It was a great honor and a life-changing experience. To be involved in a miraculous moment where a couple becomes a family was unforgettable, and I will never forget the joy they experienced as they welcomed their daughter into the world. Of course, given I have not yet experience pregnancy (or birth), I had a lot to learn! And this is where I started.

    Penny Simkin's instructive guide, The Birth Partner, is an excellent way for ANYONE to gain insight into the birth process. The book is broken down into 4 parts: Before the Birth, Labor and Birth, The Medical Side of Childbirth, and After the Birth. As a first-timer to the childbirth scene, I found the information in this book easy to understand, yet thorough enough for a detail-oriented person like me.

    The Birth Partner will prepare anyone (spouse, partner, friend or parent) to be the calm, supportive, comforting constant the mother-to-be will need throughout the pregnancy, labor and birth process. You will learn what to expect during this process, including:

    - Explanation of a Birth Plan
    - Supplies you will need for the hospital
    - Signs of labor
    - Timing contractions
    - When you should go to the hospital
    - The stages of labor
    - Different types of labor (slow, fast, emergency)
    - Comfort measures
    - How to relieve backaches
    - Positions and movements for labor
    - Medical procedures, tests, etc.
    - Potential problems
    - Pain medications (labor both with and without)
    - How to handle an emergency delivery if you can't make it to the hospital (a must read!), and much more

    Personally, I was happy to know how to handle things in the emergency "It's too late to make it" situation! I think everyone wants to be prepared for this, and this book clearly outlines what to do, including a bulleted list and high-level first aid advice (my favorite bullet: "Catch the baby.")

    This book provides clear tables and graphics that make it easy to review and prepare. The graphics in this book are primarily illustrations and are not graphic in nature. Simkin also highlights how you, the mother and the caregiver might feel throughout the process, which encourages you to think ahead and begin to imagine the experience.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone who will be involved in the birth of a child. Rest assured, when my husband and I take that next step and start a family of our own, this book will absolutely be required reading!

    (NOTE: My review is based on the second edition of this book.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1