Customer Reviews for

The Black Box (Harry Bosch Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

This newest book by Michael Connelly in the Detective Harry Bosc

This newest book by Michael Connelly in the Detective Harry Bosch series opens in 1992, when LA was in the throes of the civil unrest resulting in over 50 murders that followed the Rodney King police beating trial. Harry is called to the scene of a murder in the heart ...
This newest book by Michael Connelly in the Detective Harry Bosch series opens in 1992, when LA was in the throes of the civil unrest resulting in over 50 murders that followed the Rodney King police beating trial. Harry is called to the scene of a murder in the heart of South –Central LA, 45 miles from the suburban courtroom where the all-white jury had acquitted four LAPD officers accused of excessively beating a black motorist. The victim was a white woman, a 32-year-old blond photojournalist from Denmark. He was able to work the crime scene for less than an hour before being called out to other murders in the ongoing insanity.

Twenty years later, Harry is now working in the cold case squad. Now that “the 20th anniversary of the riots was approaching, the media savvy Chief of Police sent a directive to the lieutenant in charge of the Open-Unsolved Unit ordering a fresh look at all unsolved murders that occurred during the unrest in 1992 . . . The chief wanted to be able to say that all unsold ed murders from the riots were still under active investigation.” His old case has been pulled from the archives is now his to pick up again, and solve if he can.

The case was dubbed “the Snow White murder,” unwittingly putting a racial spin on an horrific act of brutality. Now, years later, the thought that of all the racial tension and countless acts of arson, looting, and murder that had taken place, the one cold case that might actually be solved from those days would be that of a young white woman, does not go over well. To Harry, it is simply a matter of justice, to a victim over whose body he whispered an apology twenty years before, despite the fact that his relentless pursuit of that justice puts his career in jeopardy.

The “black box” of the title has more than one meaning here, but its primary meaning is a reference to the one crucial piece of evidence, analogous to the one thing looked for after a plane mishap, “the one thing that makes it all make sense.“ Slowly but surely, and despite the intervening decades, new leads start to emerge, and Bosch becomes reinvigorated, as does the reader. The book is not a page-turner in the usual sense, i.e., with suspense-driven tension and breath held, but ‘simply’ a terrific story, wonderfully well-told, that grips the reader and keeps him/her anxious to find out what will happen next as the story unfolds. And just when the reader thinks all the pieces of the puzzle are there, the author has one more surprise in store. This is a police procedural in the best sense of the term, and of the genre, and it is highly recommended.

posted by gloriafeit on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Least captivating book by connelly harry bosch seems tired

I am having a hard time staying interested have read every michael connelly book this is the first one i may regret purchasing drags and harry bosch has lost his edginess and the character traits i enjoyed

posted by 6690849 on November 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This newest book by Michael Connelly in the Detective Harry Bosc

    This newest book by Michael Connelly in the Detective Harry Bosch series opens in 1992, when LA was in the throes of the civil unrest resulting in over 50 murders that followed the Rodney King police beating trial. Harry is called to the scene of a murder in the heart of South –Central LA, 45 miles from the suburban courtroom where the all-white jury had acquitted four LAPD officers accused of excessively beating a black motorist. The victim was a white woman, a 32-year-old blond photojournalist from Denmark. He was able to work the crime scene for less than an hour before being called out to other murders in the ongoing insanity.

    Twenty years later, Harry is now working in the cold case squad. Now that “the 20th anniversary of the riots was approaching, the media savvy Chief of Police sent a directive to the lieutenant in charge of the Open-Unsolved Unit ordering a fresh look at all unsolved murders that occurred during the unrest in 1992 . . . The chief wanted to be able to say that all unsold ed murders from the riots were still under active investigation.” His old case has been pulled from the archives is now his to pick up again, and solve if he can.

    The case was dubbed “the Snow White murder,” unwittingly putting a racial spin on an horrific act of brutality. Now, years later, the thought that of all the racial tension and countless acts of arson, looting, and murder that had taken place, the one cold case that might actually be solved from those days would be that of a young white woman, does not go over well. To Harry, it is simply a matter of justice, to a victim over whose body he whispered an apology twenty years before, despite the fact that his relentless pursuit of that justice puts his career in jeopardy.

    The “black box” of the title has more than one meaning here, but its primary meaning is a reference to the one crucial piece of evidence, analogous to the one thing looked for after a plane mishap, “the one thing that makes it all make sense.“ Slowly but surely, and despite the intervening decades, new leads start to emerge, and Bosch becomes reinvigorated, as does the reader. The book is not a page-turner in the usual sense, i.e., with suspense-driven tension and breath held, but ‘simply’ a terrific story, wonderfully well-told, that grips the reader and keeps him/her anxious to find out what will happen next as the story unfolds. And just when the reader thinks all the pieces of the puzzle are there, the author has one more surprise in store. This is a police procedural in the best sense of the term, and of the genre, and it is highly recommended.

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Another Hit

    Well another Bosch story and again Im sad its over. Finished it in a couple of days because I couldnt put it down. Bosch is my favorite character to read and I was happy to be following him along again.
    The conflict of the system against him was a bit tiring again, but thats the point again, isnt it? If Im tired of it imagine how Harry must feel.
    Overall, a good read. Ive read many series and eventually get tired of the repitition. Patterson, Sanford, Kellerman and even Burke. There is a time when finishing the story is a task. Never with Connelly.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Least captivating book by connelly harry bosch seems tired

    I am having a hard time staying interested have read every michael connelly book this is the first one i may regret purchasing drags and harry bosch has lost his edginess and the character traits i enjoyed

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    So dangerous love it

    So dangerous love it

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Mediocre at best

    I just finished the book and realized that this entire story has a shallow feeling to it. The standard battle with authority hasnt any credible logic behind it and the twists and turns of the story feel incredibly contrived.

    $14.99 for this book cannot be justified plus the e-copy has some page glitches that are quite annoying.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Not the best...

    Probably my most disappointed Harry Bosch read. Good buildup and background to the murder, but what a dud at the end. Improbable end. I also don't get or like Harry's love interest, and his daughter's character is quite interesting and probable, but where it that relationship going? I hope she's not taking over for Harry one day in Connelly's books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    Connelly did it again! Could not put it down.can't wait for his next novel!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Skip It

    I have read every book by Michael Connelly. I always loved his books, read them all a few times over. I was so disappointed in Black Box. Can't decide if his writing seemed sub par compared to Lee Child who I had been reading prior to this book. I always loved Harry Bosch, this time he was a bore. Maybe Reacher is just more interesting a charachter? I hope this was just a fluke and the real Harry will be back in the next book. If you skip this one you will be fine. Nothing happens.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Harry is still working on closed cases and he decides to re-open

    Harry is still working on closed cases and he decides to re-open the "Snow White" case. When he was an officer during the 1992 LA riots he came upon a murdered Danish reporter Anneke Jespersen, who was found dead by a National Guardsman. Harry was never able to solve that mystery and it basically went dormant for 20 years. The fact that he never found Jesperson's killer had always gnawed at him and the 20th anniversary sets him to dive back into it.

    In the meantime he has annoyed his new group leader (O'Toole) and pretty soon the PSB (formally Internal Affairs) is investigating Harry for improprieties when he visited his girlfriend"s (Hannah)brother in prison. Harry is no longer a regular detective as he is in his four year DROP period and he could be let go for the merest infraction.

    As Harry starts to investigate the Jesperson case, he gets more blowback from O'Toole making him think that those that sit on the 10th floor are against him and are behind the PSB investigation. This makes Harry more determined to work on the case. Harry learns that a call was made to the police from Modesto, CA on the 10th anniversary of the murder and when Harry looks into that call, it is the clue he needs to really start the case going. His partner Chu had told Harry that every case has a "Black Box" which is the one clue that can break the case wide open.

    Harry has to work the case solo and let Chu work in the background because he is afraid that O'Toole will come after Chu too. Harry is relentless at persuing all clues in his usuall direct manner. The story gets hot and heavy as Harry must quickly solve the case before he is ousted from his job and must go after the bad guys without a partner for backup.

    This book held me from start to finish and Connelly's writing is crisp. The only things that were negative about the book is he does go overboard talking about jazz songs as I am not a jazz aficianado. Also, his daughter Maddy is virtually a non-entity and after his last book, I thought she would have a hand in helping him solve the case. None of these issues prevent me from giving the book a full five stars!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Don't Miss this one! I have read every Harry Bosch novel since T

    Don't Miss this one! I have read every Harry Bosch novel since The Black Echo in 1992. The writing, the characters, the plot all make for good reading. The Black Box pulls you into the story from the opening pages, bringing back memories of 1992 and the riots in LA, the writing so descriptive you feel you are there. Solid police work keeps you right there working with Harry. Tense moments leading to the ending. Michael Connolly is such a good writer and always a pleasure to read. Can't wait for the next one!


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Not quite as good as some of his past works, but still better th

    Not quite as good as some of his past works, but still better than most crime fiction out there. A little contrived at times, and not as emotionally engaging as previous Bosch stories. Very readable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I'm Tired.....

    The Harry Bosch series is always good, but Harry is getting tired. I wish he would get a young "sidekick" that would infuse a bit more action into the stories. Harry would always be there to share his expertise. That way we would still have him with us for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Enjoyed tremendously!

    Always like Harry Bosch but thought this one was very good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I am reading the next one in the series, and again can't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Recommend

    Excellent Michael Connelly thriller, though a little anticipated outcome with unlikely scenerios.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    I love everything Michael writes and this is no exception. But t

    I love everything Michael writes and this is no exception. But this one may me feel as though I knew Harry better. Like I was a friend who understood him. He is relentless and driven to finding the answer and does so briliantly. Sad now that I have to wait for more from Michael, and I have no doubt there will be more

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Another excellent Harry Bosch novel!

    I can't pinpoint which I like more...Michael Connelly or Harry Bosch! If I were a writer, I'd like to pattern myself after Connelly. If I were a homicide detrctive, I'd pattern myself after Bosch. His career has been spent walking a fine line between cop and an avenger for the his victims. Sometimes he crosses ever so slightly over that line, but his motives are always pure and his sense of justice and right and wrong are always spot on. If you like crime/detective novels, I guarantee you'll enjoy this effort by Connelly and Bosch!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Not his best work

    I love Harry Bosch but this was cranked out aft
    er Connely ran out of ideas just to get a nother book on shelf. The first three fourths of the book could be skipped because the only action comes at the end. Borring !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    As you would expect, I've read all of Michael Connelly's books..

    As you would expect, I've read all of Michael Connelly's books...except Black Box!! Grin! Read the reviews and found either 5 stars or bad reviews....duh! I mean, reviews that were bad, useless, uneducated, pointless and obviously to me from readers that don't understand a great read and/or have not read his other books. Or were having a very bad day. Too bad for them! I KNOW it will be good. I love Harry...I have enjoyed every book Connelly has written...keep writing, Michael!!! Keep Bosch going as long as you are able!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16