BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Black Dragon

Average Rating 5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I love this book!

It is so cool, be sure to read the first one! We need book three! Click yes if you agree. :-)

posted by 16139537 on April 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blazestar

This is main camp. Nursery is seperet at result 4. Blazestar

posted by Bonn-ie on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I love this book!

    It is so cool, be sure to read the first one! We need book three! Click yes if you agree. :-)

    38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended with your best interests in mind.

    Hello to all! First of all, "The Black Dragon" is the second book written by W. D. Newman. The first book is called, "The Thirteenth Unicorn," and must be read for one to understand the whole of "The Black Dragon." Now, on to the book itself. It was a pleasure to read. Mr. Newman is very mysterious sometimes, which draws a reader in. I love his dragon inclusion. (This is a fantastical book, by the way, with fairies and elves and dwarves, etc.) It is amazing to imagine the difference between his worlds - the world of the humans, and the world of Camelot. Merlin left so many mysteries there in Camelot, that one can only scratch the surface, which may confuse at first, but, hey, Merlin was a confusing guy! It is unique in its own way, which is hard to do with all of the fantasies out here today. You can only have so many visions of elves, you know! I would recommend this series for kids 10 and up. I am a teen, and I loved this book. I also recommend this for Christian readers whom I know are out there. If you like J. R. R. Tolkien, J. K. Rowling, or Christopher Paolini, then I think you will like this. I think. And I hope. Mr. Newman is very gracious in writing these, and I would recommend his works to all. He does this for little proffit, and all for the reader's enjoyment. It is an easy read, and will fly by, with all the excitement. Please, support Mr. Newman, and pay the $1.06 for it. (That is the final ammount with tax.) And, thanks for reading this review! God bless America! And may He bless you, too!

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read the first one & fell in love! I read this one & fell more in love! I really can't wait for the next one! This is great for all ages! If you love Harry Potter, Narnia! Or Lord of the Rings type tales, you'll like this.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    good read

    This book is not a thousand pages like one person said. The number of pages depends on how big your reader is and how large you have your font set. If the book was paperback, it would have less than 300 pages, so it's really not that big. The story is good though. If you liked the first one, you'll like this one. If you didn't like the first one, you won't like this one either. That's my two cents.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    I love this series - it is the perfect pace for all ages and yet

    I love this series - it is the perfect pace for all ages and yet does
    not have convoluted plots or difficult characters to remember.
    Sincerely hope that the author writes another in this series ASAP!!!!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!! NEED THE NEXT BOOK(: LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!! I NEED THE NEXT BOOK(:

    The two books in this series are awsome and i highly recommend them.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!

    WHO COULD NOT LOVE THIS BOOK? IT IS BOSSLY! WRITE THE THIRD BOOK ASAP! ADD A LITTLE ROMANCE AND YOU COULD BE SEEING THIS SERIES AS A MOVIE SERIES! :D

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Being an author myself, I have a great repect for W.D. Newman.I

    Being an author myself, I have a great repect for W.D. Newman.I love both books. I hope the readers of these books will look for mine on the e-book and paper book shelves. My first book that will come out soon is Blend with the Night. If you want to know more I have pages about my books, and about me. Look for June Harmen, Wolf Story, or Blend with the Night.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    AMAZING

    This is one of the best books ive ever read W.D. Newman is like the worlds best writers i love all his book and i would lve if u wrote a third book! Cause u don tneed to stop on a third one keep it going make a book about were the gnomes revolt or something ill still love it!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    This is sooooooo incredibly awesome! I loved both the books and couldn't put them down. Even while I was reading it a second time. I JUST LOVE IT!!!!!!! I recomend this to everyone. PLEASE WRITE A THIRD BOOK ASAP!!!!!!!! I CAN'T WAIT ANY LONGER!!!!!!! DON'T LEAVE ME HANGING!!!!!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    What is a headline?

    Excellent book. I reckomend it for anyone 8-12years old.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved this series and i cant wait until the third one comes out! I cant believe the series was so cheap!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    It was such a fantastic book! It was even better than the first! Can not wait for the third book to come!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    This book and also the thirteenth unicorn were great booka and very interesting, if yiu like Narnia, the lord of the rings,or harry potter your sure to love this book. I hope that you spend the 1.06 on this boook because its sure worth it, i sure hope the the author continues on in the series because i fell in love with this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    I am a 53 year old grandma and I LOVE this series, and I plan to

    I am a 53 year old grandma and I LOVE this series, and I plan to read them to my grandchildren as I know they will love them too. I am looking forward to more books! As an avid fantasy fan these books have truly moved me.They are full of every emotion as well as characters that you cannot help but love! If you love fantasy, you will love The Thirteenth Unicorn and The Black Dragon and all others yet to be written!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I love this book

    I just adore this book.its funny eye catching and beyond interesting.i strongly incuridge you to read it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!

    I really like all of W.D. Newmans books!!!!!!!!!!!
    They are written for fourth or fifth graders but I read them and I'm in sixth grade.
    I think that anyone older would enjoy them to!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Really good

    Entertaining and fullfilling.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    WAAHHH the second book is out!!!!!!

    Omg i cannot wait to read this i bet its going to be awesome!!!! :D

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    #1 FAN

    I love the Alderman series!!! I have been waiting for this book for a long time!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13