Customer Reviews for

The Black God's War: A Novella Introducing a New Epic Fantasy

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Note from the Author

Until the description is updated via Smashwords, I should clarify: This novella is over 25,000 words and it presents 15 of the early chapters of an epic fantasy novel by the same title (The Black God's War) currently scheduled for release in May 2011. The full novel is ...
Until the description is updated via Smashwords, I should clarify: This novella is over 25,000 words and it presents 15 of the early chapters of an epic fantasy novel by the same title (The Black God's War) currently scheduled for release in May 2011. The full novel is about five times longer than the novella. This novella is a free introduction to the upcoming novel and it's meant to be an enjoyable read on its own. Some people might prefer to wait for the full version, though.

posted by Moses_Siregar_III on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me only!

I hate writting bad reviews so lets just say I couldn't get into it. I'm sure others will.

posted by NooksterBS on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    A Note from the Author

    Until the description is updated via Smashwords, I should clarify: This novella is over 25,000 words and it presents 15 of the early chapters of an epic fantasy novel by the same title (The Black God's War) currently scheduled for release in May 2011. The full novel is about five times longer than the novella. This novella is a free introduction to the upcoming novel and it's meant to be an enjoyable read on its own. Some people might prefer to wait for the full version, though.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written war story

    This was a great read and I anticipate the full novel when it arrives. I love how the author weaves the tale of both sides of the conflict together. It is done seamlessly and the action never stops, only the camera angle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Well written fantasy story. The two factions Rezzia and Paweon h

    Well written fantasy story. The two factions Rezzia and Paweon have been at war for years. Rezzia's savior is now on hand and old enough to join his father and older sister in battle. Mean while the Pawelon's prince has come to help his father with their side of the war. Unbeknowst to the Pawelon, the Rezzian heroes start a quest to the Lord of the underworld to end the war. Excellent battle scenes and flowing story make for a very nice way to spend an afternoon in the sun

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Worth checking out

    This review is for the short stand-alone novella, not the whole book. The story is very interesting and a good read. Moses Siregar's language comes easy, not forced. He is obviously a very capable writer. After reading the short novella, I have made a mental note to myself to read the whole 80 plus chapter book. If you like sweeping sagas with strong elements of mythology, this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Boring to me only!

    I hate writting bad reviews so lets just say I couldn't get into it. I'm sure others will.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    A great novella length read.

    I am looking forward to the full novel. If it as good as the novella, Mr. Siregar III will have a bestseller on his hands.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    So boring!

    It started out with promise but I just couldn't get into it. I made it about halfway through hoping it would get better but it was soooooo boring! The first five chapters of the free version were great so I paid for the full version and I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Love

    Great book! I recommend to people who like action and GREAT books. :) :P

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Interesting

    Def gonna have to read full version

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    What is this? :(

    The cover looks ALMOST EXACTLY like Heir Aparrant (so sorry i forgot how to spell it), by Vivian... someone. Her initials are VVV. Thats three vs, not v w. V W are my initials.

    ~someone

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Great story

    Intesting characters, mysterious gods, tragic romance, explosive magic, epic battles and murderous intrigue!
    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great book

    I really like this fantasy book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book but . . .

    . . . I wish I would have known prior to downloading that it is really only the first fifteen chapters of a 21 chapter book. That's the reason that it got 4 stars instead of five. I gladly would have waited/paid a buck or so to get the whole first book at once had I known.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7