BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Blackhouse (Lewis Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you like murder mysteries situated in the northern islands of Europe, this book is for you.

I really love reading murder mysteries located in northern Scotland, Iceland and the Scandanavia area.

First the descriptions of Lewis and the surrounding islands were rich in history and the local characters were beautifully written.

The development of the mu...
I really love reading murder mysteries located in northern Scotland, Iceland and the Scandanavia area.

First the descriptions of Lewis and the surrounding islands were rich in history and the local characters were beautifully written.

The development of the murder mystery was beautifully done and the ending was believable and satisfying.

One item of note. I usually refuse to read any mystery written in the first person. I find that style limiting. This mystery goes back and forth between first person and third person narrators and it worked nicelely, and was necessary for plot development.

One disappointment is not with the book, but Barnes and Noble. This book is book one in a trilogy. Book Two has been published, but not in the US. Book three will be published in February of 2013.

I had to go online to get the second book (also very well written). Barnes and Noble needs get the 2nd and 3rd book write away.

I am also reading another trilogy by the same author and it also is wonderfully written

posted by LioneC on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

so so

I kept reading this book until the end. It jumps from current to past often. Parts are interesting but more of it isn't. It has way too much use of the F bomb for me. The "black house" is a minor issue for the story. I found it just a sad waste of my time.

posted by terpOK on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you like murder mysteries situated in the northern islands of Europe, this book is for you.

    I really love reading murder mysteries located in northern Scotland, Iceland and the Scandanavia area.

    First the descriptions of Lewis and the surrounding islands were rich in history and the local characters were beautifully written.

    The development of the murder mystery was beautifully done and the ending was believable and satisfying.

    One item of note. I usually refuse to read any mystery written in the first person. I find that style limiting. This mystery goes back and forth between first person and third person narrators and it worked nicelely, and was necessary for plot development.

    One disappointment is not with the book, but Barnes and Noble. This book is book one in a trilogy. Book Two has been published, but not in the US. Book three will be published in February of 2013.

    I had to go online to get the second book (also very well written). Barnes and Noble needs get the 2nd and 3rd book write away.

    I am also reading another trilogy by the same author and it also is wonderfully written

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seldom does a book grab and hold me like this one. Once the st

    Seldom does a book grab and hold me like this one.

    Once the story got going, I couldn't put it down. On one memorable night I read straight through until midnight, and finished it the next day.

    The murder mystery aspect of the plot was secondary to me. Far more appealing were the Outer Hebrides setting, great local color and most of all, the subplot between involving the detective and his childhood girlfriend. Anyone who knows regret, missed opportunities and the pull of past relationships will love that aspect of it. I was really glad to learn that a sequel, The Lewis Man, will feature some of the same characters.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Brilliant.

    May is an incredibly gifted writer who possesses the ability to convey the terrible and visceral pain of regretted choices. Without resorting to sentimentality or triteness, he delves into Fin Macloud's complicated, torturous past, and how his actions (and inaction) spun the web of loss and torment in which he is currently caught. Rarely has a book simultaneously captivated and repulsed me; perhaps it is because I reluctantly recognize echoes of my own past self in this excellent novel.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    WOW!

    Really Amazing read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Amazing book - I was sorry to reach the end.

    Amazing book - I was sorry to reach the end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Gratifying read

    Hard book to put down makes you pull up buried memories

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    GREAT MYSTERY!!! Want to read more of his books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I just finished The Black House and am ordering more Peter May b

    I just finished The Black House and am ordering more Peter May books.  I love his writing style!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fresh and bracing as a Heberdean storm

    For me, Peter May is one if the best and most satisfying mystery writers I've ever come across.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    One of the best books that I have read in a long time.I am horri

    One of the best books that I have read in a long time.I am horrified that his other books are not available on Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read somewhere once that, at the very best, a reader can be de

    I read somewhere once that, at the very best, a reader can be devastated that a novel has ended. This is that kind of novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    A very gifted writer pens a great thriller. Very well-written.

    A very gifted writer pens a great thriller. Very well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Vivid, gorgeous descriptions of the Isle of Lewis. Wonderful sen

    Vivid, gorgeous descriptions of the Isle of Lewis. Wonderful sense of place. Interesting complicated relationships. The story moves flawlessly between current day and his memories of his youth on Lewis. His memories are told in first person and present day in the third person. Almost like two stories weaving in and out of each other and coming together in one superb, climatic ending I was not expecting!

    This is a book that will stay with you and might possibly be my favorite book read this year! I can't wait to get onto the next one in the series!

    You just have to go to the author's website click on The Lewis Trilogy to the left and check out all the extra's on this series available there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    This was a wonderful book.  The characters were very real and am

    This was a wonderful book.  The characters were very real and am looking forward to more from this author.  Please do not miss this great read.  Very few books do I give a 5 star rating to, but this book deserves  o less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    One of the best books I've read in a very long time. Great Char

    One of the best books I've read in a very long time. Great Character depiction, great plot, drawn out in a perfect way to lead you right where the author wants you to go. Excellent rea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Deeply emotional complex tale

    This complicated story, told the curent days and flashbacks, will draw you in an hold your attention. The author controls and drives the mood, taking the reader to another place and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous and not finished as yet!

    Still reading this really fabulous book. Mesmerizing detail. Great characters. Real life problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    A solid reader's hook, attention-grabbing as a punch to the jaw,

    A solid reader's hook, attention-grabbing as a punch to the jaw, leads into a solid backdrop of real-life issues and tribulations. An Edinburgh police detective, who had recently lost his young son and whose marriage is subsequently likely to crumble, is sent to his childhood locale, the Isle of Lewis, off the coast of Scotland. A brutal murder has been committed there, nearly matching an earlier murder in Edinburgh. Author Peter May neatly balances the present-day investigation against Fin Macleod' s formative years.In this case, the adage "you can't go home again" doesn't seem to apply.  Apt descriptive imagery and local characterizations make for a fine journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Plaese tap this

    Yes yes and yes do you know why i said yes three times is because my sister is coming today

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A great Celtic book!

    This book is very rich in the background of the culture of Northern Scotland. It is superbly written and is a real page turner. It is dark and tragic, but spellbinding in its detail. Give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2