Customer Reviews for

The Blinding Knife (Lightbringer Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    This book is amazing. Quite honestly, Brent Weeks is one of my f

    This book is amazing. Quite honestly, Brent Weeks is one of my favorite authors in a long time. A friend recommended that I were to read the Night Angel Trilogy and I never stopped reading his work after that. This trilogy he is writing now is quite fantastic and keeps you hooked. The right mix of everything and I am about 2/3rds of the way through this book. It's astounding and I am about to read more. Kip, Teia, Cruxer, Gavin, Dazen, Andross, Karris, Ironfist, the White, The Black. All of these words have meanings to those who read the book. If you haven't read the Black Prism, read it now. You won't regret it and you will never regret reading my current book obsession, this book, The Blinding Knife.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY!

    Brent Weeks is a genius

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Freakin Amazing!!!!!

    Simply a must read for any fantasy lover!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Weeks does it again

    Pure awesomeness. I never thought anything could come close the Night Angel series. Lightbringer is right up there. Can't wait for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I received this book as part of Goodreads Giveaway and super exc

    I received this book as part of Goodreads Giveaway and super excited to be reading the next chapter in The Lightbringer Series. I finished reading this book today and my mind was blown by the ending in so many ways that it makes me hungry for the next installment. Here are my thoughts:

    It's been four months since the events in Garriston and beginnings of another war like False Prism War. Gavin Guile, The Prism, is hiding terrible secrets from everyone about himself along with the fact that he's lost the ability to draft Blue. The Seven Satrapies are so busy fighting each other that they ignore Gavin's warnings until it's too late to do anything about it period. Andross Guile, The Color Red on The Spectrum, is doing his damnest to deny Kip and Gavin whatever they want just because he can. He challenges Kip to a game of Nine Kings for such things as lessons, personal needs, and other little things like Teia becoming his room slave. Kip is determined to beat his grandfather no matter what and eventually he does. Gavin wants Kip to become a Blackguard for his own personal reasons. Kip and Teia are partners in The Blackguard training fighting to become one of the fourteen trained. Both Kip and Teia face fierce opposition despite the fact that Teia is really good enough to be a Blackguard. Karris Whiteoak, Watch Commander in the Blackguard, knows Gavin's secret yet has one of her own. She knows the true identity of the Color Prince~Koios Whiteoak, her older brother. Karris tries to say angry with Gavin for keeping secrets from her. Karris sees that Kip is protected by Samite. The Color Prince wants to see if Liv Danavis is really going to be loyal to him and his cause despite the lies of Chromeria. Liv learns that not everything taught in Chromeria is true. The Color Prince offers Liv something that she wouldn't get in the Chromeria~a true place of belonging. The Color Prince pairs Liv up with Zyum, a young and reckless drafter, as test for both of them. The Color Prince wants to destroy Gavin Guile and the Seven Satrapies all he needs is followers. Meanwhile the refugees of Garriston land on Seers Island much to the dismay of Third Eye. Third Eye gives insight to both Karris and Gavin about what to do next. Gavin names Kip, his son, despite the objections of Andross Guile. The Spectrum and The White fear to name Gavin promachos despite all evidence that it's very much needed. The real Gavin Guile is still imprisoned in color cells and driven mad by his existence there. Dazen as Gavin tells him about life outside of his prison but doesn't understand the depth of hatred Gavin has for Dazen. Kip learns a secret that could destroy everyone he cares about. What is Andross Guile's end game? What secrets does Kip hold? Will Kip and Teia become Blackguard? Will Gavin tell Karris the whole truth? Will Karris accept the truth? Where does Liv stand? What use does the Color Prince have for Liv an Zyum? Will Dazen free Gavin? Your answers await you in The Blinding Knife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Okay so i checked every month for 2 years for the release the and now on The Blinding Knife is released! Woohoo! I am 34 pages in and it is getting so freakin awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Love the it

    Long but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Read it

    It is a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Loved every single minute of these books. Less "sexually i

    Loved every single minute of these books. Less "sexually intense" than the Nightangel series. Great writing, looking forward to the final book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Great read

    Very difficult to put these books down. You might think how something may end, but alas Mr. Weeks shows his wonderful creativity, and proves you wrong. Well written, characters that have been created masterfully. I cannot wait for the next book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NO LET DOWN This sequel to ┬┐The Black Prism┬┐ is just as good as

    NO LET DOWN
    This sequel to “The Black Prism” is just as good as the first book. The characters continue to absorb the reader’s interest as they deal with their own conflicts and problems in the background of an all out war with the forces of the Color Prince. The Prism, Gavin Guile, has more than his share of problems as he appears to be losing his powers and dying, he cannot keep the secrets of his identity, his past associations and his intentions from everyone, his domineering father, Andros Guile, proves even more formidable and insidious than expected, he barely avoids a murder charge, the Color Prince is taking advantage of the Chromeria’s weaknesses, and the Color Prince may not be the most dangerous opponent to be faced. I find that my favorite character in this book may be Kip, nicknamed “Breaker”, as he struggles to overcome his poor self-image, the tendency for his mouth to get him into trouble, and the apparent efforts of his Grandfather to disown and crush him as an embarrassing bastard, as he attempts to not only survive the training and competition but to achieve admission into the Blackguard warrior society. The only let down that I feel is having to wait until the next book is complete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Hk

    The cat she cut has been sewn together and is having problems walking. (Who is nightpaw?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Vexblood

    He gently carried zeldakit back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Bane

    Um Nightpaw left allready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Nightsky

    "Where do I go?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Zeldakit

    Cries i cant remember where camp is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Grayfrost

    Leaped on nightpaws cage and peered inside. What has she done with you?! I saw your post!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Outstanding!! Loved the first book and the second? Even better!

    Outstanding!! Loved the first book and the second? Even better! I could not put it down...I love epic fantasy and magic and adventure but have never encountered the unique take on the genre that Brent Weeks has given this story. It draws you in immediately and never lets go...I find the characters to be funny, flawed, naive, decisive (and not), vulnerable, and fascinating through all the action, twists and turns of this book. I cannot wait for the 3rd book to see what happens next. The author has quickly become one of my favorites and I recommend highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome novel! Great for any hardcore fantsay lovers!

    Awesome novel! Great for any hardcore fantsay lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6