Customer Reviews for

The Blood Gospel: The Order of the Sanguines Series

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Must Read for 2013 ¿ An instant favorite! James Rollins and Reb

Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, T...
Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, The Blood Gospel.

This novel introduces a team of warrior, academic, and priest – an unlikely triad who forge a bond that ultimately could save the world. A modern day warrior who has loved and lost and might love again, a brilliant archeologist with deep emotional scars from a troubled religious upbringing, and a priest who is unlike any priest our world has ever known - they are bound together perchance by prophecy to locate the original gospel penned by Christ’s own hand.

Revealing any details from this thriller would be a sin. It is a must read and has earned a prominent spot on my bookshelf of all time favorites. The collaboration of Rollins and Cantrell is a success and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment of the The Order of the Sanguines series. 5 Stars!

posted by Staci_HM on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writi

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in g...
Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!"

I could not agree more. This is a very different style for Rollins and I am very disappointed. I agree it was well written, but I really hope he is not going in this direction. I am not big on this vampire/werewolves story line. Plus, I can definitely tell a woman had a hand in this book. Way too much touchy, feel-y harlequin romance junk. UGH And I am a woman. I have always been an action/adventure/espionage lover. And I always will be.

Rollins, please.....we need more Sigma Force novels!! No more of this Cantrell crap.

posted by Tough_Gal on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Must Read for 2013 ¿ An instant favorite! James Rollins and Reb

    Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

    James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, The Blood Gospel.

    This novel introduces a team of warrior, academic, and priest – an unlikely triad who forge a bond that ultimately could save the world. A modern day warrior who has loved and lost and might love again, a brilliant archeologist with deep emotional scars from a troubled religious upbringing, and a priest who is unlike any priest our world has ever known - they are bound together perchance by prophecy to locate the original gospel penned by Christ’s own hand.

    Revealing any details from this thriller would be a sin. It is a must read and has earned a prominent spot on my bookshelf of all time favorites. The collaboration of Rollins and Cantrell is a success and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment of the The Order of the Sanguines series. 5 Stars!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writi

    Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!"

    I could not agree more. This is a very different style for Rollins and I am very disappointed. I agree it was well written, but I really hope he is not going in this direction. I am not big on this vampire/werewolves story line. Plus, I can definitely tell a woman had a hand in this book. Way too much touchy, feel-y harlequin romance junk. UGH And I am a woman. I have always been an action/adventure/espionage lover. And I always will be.

    Rollins, please.....we need more Sigma Force novels!! No more of this Cantrell crap.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan

    I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan and own all his books. This story is more or less a slap in the face to Christians. Werewolves and other stupid beings that are supposedly part of the Bible? Lazarus a blood eating creature, James go back to the type of writing that made you famous, you also do not need a partner to write a great book.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Vampires? Really? Don't wasre your money if you are looking for a read as good as James Rollins' previous works.

    When I saw that there was a new James Rollins book out, I couldn't wait to read it. Had I known one of the main characters was a vampire, I would never have wasted $12 on it. I have enjoyed everything he has written before, but this book was awful. The premise could have made an enjoyable read, but the finished project seems to be the authors' attempt to cash in on the vampire craze. I was also mystified by the prose, considering Dr. Rollins' previous works have never been forced or "flowery". I'm guessing Ms. Cantrell usually writes books in the "bodice-ripper" genre. I do hope Dr. Rollins hasn't been keeping that "talent" hidden! I also hope he gives up on this particular partnership and direction so he can get back to writing his Sigma Force series and other mystery/susense novels - alone! (Or at least with a more talented partner!)

    I couldn't post this without rating at least one star, but that is more than this particular book deserves.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Where has the old James Rollins gone.

    I have read all of James Rollins books and this was the worst one. You can tell he has stopped writing with his old adventurous swagger and has settled on a profile of audience he is shooting for. Mainly women between 18 and 40. So sad he use to be a great story teller.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Corrupted History

    This was pure junk: Vampires, wearwolves, priests who are vampires, and historical people who are corrupted into things that go bump in the night -- even the Bible is rewritten to fit the storyline. The best thing that could happen is to drive a stake through the heart of this thing and bury in consecrated ground so that it never sees the light of day ever again.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined

    While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Never been a fan of vampire novels but still decided to give thi

    Never been a fan of vampire novels but still decided to give this one a try and it turned out to be better than I expected. I still prefer the Sigma series though. I just hope he finishes this in 2 novels and get back to writing about Gray, Seichan, painter, etc.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great Book!

    Started off fast and never slowed down. Can't wait for the next one!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I wasn't sure I'd enjoy this book, as I'm finding the whole vampire et al thing to be tiresome, but I was pleasantly surprised when reading this novel. Some have said it's a slap in the face to Chrisrianity; I disagree. Nothing can slap down true faith, and one must remember, this is a work of FICTION. That said, I found the book interesting, suspenseful, and I finished it in a day and a half. Dedinitely worth reading!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Not my usual genre so wasn't sure I'd like it, but well written,

    Not my usual genre so wasn't sure I'd like it, but well written, fast paced, intriguing story & characters. Will definitely read the sequel - hope it doesn't disappoint.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish. One of those books you w

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish. One of those books you want to keep plowing through to see what happens but at the same time want to slow down and enjoy the ride. My love affair with Rhun Korza, Erin Granger, and Jordan Stone has begun. I can only hope that James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have started to write book #2.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertaine

    Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertained all the way.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great read!

    A really enjoyable read based in fact. It is a "never put down" book! It would be a heck of a movie! What a ride!,

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Annon

    Great read! Lots of surprising twists and turns! Hope there is a sequel!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Excelent! More twists & turns than a roller coaster. Cannot

    Excelent! More twists & turns than a roller coaster. Cannot wait for the next in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Sorry as much as I admire James Rollins writings this one is jus

    Sorry as much as I admire James Rollins writings this one is just too far fetched. As always the writing is excellent, it is the characters that I cannot handle. I will not be reading the rest of the series but will read the other James Rollins books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Semper-fanatic

    Werewolves, bears, bats, and vampires how could you. I'm all for stoping in the mayhem and smelling someones shampoo, I've even done it myself. I'll not be reading another of her books with his mame on it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Not the typical Rollins Story

    SO much female feelings in this book, makes me wonder how much involvement Rollins really had in it's creation. Vampires ... really in a Rollins novel? Not as good a story as in previous novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Awesome!

    Can't wait for the sequal!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12