BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Blood Gospel: The Order of the Sanguines Series

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Must Read for 2013 ¿ An instant favorite! James Rollins and Reb

Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, T...
Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, The Blood Gospel.

This novel introduces a team of warrior, academic, and priest – an unlikely triad who forge a bond that ultimately could save the world. A modern day warrior who has loved and lost and might love again, a brilliant archeologist with deep emotional scars from a troubled religious upbringing, and a priest who is unlike any priest our world has ever known - they are bound together perchance by prophecy to locate the original gospel penned by Christ’s own hand.

Revealing any details from this thriller would be a sin. It is a must read and has earned a prominent spot on my bookshelf of all time favorites. The collaboration of Rollins and Cantrell is a success and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment of the The Order of the Sanguines series. 5 Stars!

posted by Staci_HM on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writi

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in g...
Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!"

I could not agree more. This is a very different style for Rollins and I am very disappointed. I agree it was well written, but I really hope he is not going in this direction. I am not big on this vampire/werewolves story line. Plus, I can definitely tell a woman had a hand in this book. Way too much touchy, feel-y harlequin romance junk. UGH And I am a woman. I have always been an action/adventure/espionage lover. And I always will be.

Rollins, please.....we need more Sigma Force novels!! No more of this Cantrell crap.

posted by Tough_Gal on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan

    I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan and own all his books. This story is more or less a slap in the face to Christians. Werewolves and other stupid beings that are supposedly part of the Bible? Lazarus a blood eating creature, James go back to the type of writing that made you famous, you also do not need a partner to write a great book.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Vampires? Really? Don't wasre your money if you are looking for a read as good as James Rollins' previous works.

    When I saw that there was a new James Rollins book out, I couldn't wait to read it. Had I known one of the main characters was a vampire, I would never have wasted $12 on it. I have enjoyed everything he has written before, but this book was awful. The premise could have made an enjoyable read, but the finished project seems to be the authors' attempt to cash in on the vampire craze. I was also mystified by the prose, considering Dr. Rollins' previous works have never been forced or "flowery". I'm guessing Ms. Cantrell usually writes books in the "bodice-ripper" genre. I do hope Dr. Rollins hasn't been keeping that "talent" hidden! I also hope he gives up on this particular partnership and direction so he can get back to writing his Sigma Force series and other mystery/susense novels - alone! (Or at least with a more talented partner!)

    I couldn't post this without rating at least one star, but that is more than this particular book deserves.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Where has the old James Rollins gone.

    I have read all of James Rollins books and this was the worst one. You can tell he has stopped writing with his old adventurous swagger and has settled on a profile of audience he is shooting for. Mainly women between 18 and 40. So sad he use to be a great story teller.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Corrupted History

    This was pure junk: Vampires, wearwolves, priests who are vampires, and historical people who are corrupted into things that go bump in the night -- even the Bible is rewritten to fit the storyline. The best thing that could happen is to drive a stake through the heart of this thing and bury in consecrated ground so that it never sees the light of day ever again.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Anonymous

    What a disappointment. Have been a huge Rollins fan for years. I cannot believe the author of the Sigma Force series wrote this pop culture vampire dreck. Really, the fundamentals of christianity and the Russian revolution are based on vampires? I will not be buying or reading any other books in this series, if there are any more. I look forward to seeing Mr. Rollins OTHER endeavors, however.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Waste of time

    Normally Rollins never disappoints. He did disappoint with this utterly idiotic storyline and poorly developed characters. It was a waste of my precious personal reading time andI regret spending time and money on this "novel".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    While I usually love anything Rollins writes, this book is compl

    While I usually love anything Rollins writes, this book is complete tripe. Vampires? Really? Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Minus stars

    I was, notice i said was, a big james rollins fan, but not anymore after this book. It was blasphemous and sacreligous. I will never read anything by this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    I am a die hard Rollins fan -- love the characters, the adventur

    I am a die hard Rollins fan -- love the characters, the adventure, the intricate plots, even the elements of fantasy. This is NOT a Rollins book in my opinion.

    It seems he was convinced that he needed to jump on the vampire bandwagon so wrote accordingly. The characters are not of the same quality -- ones you can connect with through their ideals, flaws, joys and sorrows. These characters are flat, stereo-typical. This also flows like some combination of romance novel gone slightly rogue.

    I am willing to roll with fantasy -- grendels, ancient lost civilizations, anti-matter -- whatever, but you have to give it to me so it seems logical. This book did not do that. It seems to pander to the current hype of all things vampirical.
    Dull, lifeless, predictable with boring, flat characters. This is a series I will not continue. So disappointed! James! Go back to doing what you do best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    I confess. I am reviewing this book after only finishing 200 pag

    I confess. I am reviewing this book after only finishing 200 pages. But my excuse is, I feel a little cheated. Reading the reviews ahead of time would've avoided my wasted time, I admit, but with an author like James Rollins everything is great, right? Well, not for this reader. The back cover really should say something to let the reader know this is NOT a typical James Rollins. I enjoy all types of fiction, but this was an example of two different styles that, in my opinion, should never have been combined. The result just did not work for me. The beauty of James Rollins is some semblance of plausibility that stays with you afterward. This is mythical nonsense. So, for anyone reading this review, let me leave you with what I wish had been left with: WARNING: VAMPIRES AHEAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Prefer James Rollins ALONE

    This was a waste of his talent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Sucks

    I give this pathetic effort one star only because I couldn't give it zero. It is bloody awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Really rollins??

    Stick to what you do best, writing entertaining novels. Whats with the twilight crap? Twelve year old girls probobly are not a signifigant part of your fan base. And seventeen dollars? Really??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    What a waste

    I have read all of rollins books, been a hugh fan, i stunned he even has his name on this book. It is just poorly written, boring, and just plain bad. I will not get any more of this series, and actually hope there aren't any more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Blood gospel drag

    Frustrating, annoying, disappointing read! A grave departure from what I have come to enjoy so much about Rollins novels. I struggled to even bother to finish this book! It stunk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Unusual

    I have read lots of Rollins book. This was a disappointment! Story was long, drawn out and not his caliber book at all!! The whole vampire scene colliding with Biblical events did nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have all of Rollin's books but I could not even finish this on

    I have all of Rollin's books but I could not even finish this one.  This genre is not his strong suit.  And to piggy-back on the current vampire rage (which I truly do not understand) is just so uneccessary in his case.  Wish I had saved the money - but at least I won't buy any more in this series.
    .   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    not recommended

    while I have long been a James Rollins fan, I will read no more in this series. I guess authors feel the need for new material and new characters these are not up to JR standards. Something similar to the sigma series, but going in a new direction would be better appreciated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    this book sucked

    I have been a James Rollins fan forever and I have got to say this book totally sucked!!!There was to much lovey dovey crap and to many loose ends ....Love you but hated this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Nghtslash

    *nods, then turned on a flashlight and lead echo out of the cave*

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2