Customer Reviews for

The Blood Gospel: The Order of the Sanguines Series

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Must Read for 2013 ¿ An instant favorite! James Rollins and Reb

Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, T...
Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, The Blood Gospel.

This novel introduces a team of warrior, academic, and priest – an unlikely triad who forge a bond that ultimately could save the world. A modern day warrior who has loved and lost and might love again, a brilliant archeologist with deep emotional scars from a troubled religious upbringing, and a priest who is unlike any priest our world has ever known - they are bound together perchance by prophecy to locate the original gospel penned by Christ’s own hand.

Revealing any details from this thriller would be a sin. It is a must read and has earned a prominent spot on my bookshelf of all time favorites. The collaboration of Rollins and Cantrell is a success and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment of the The Order of the Sanguines series. 5 Stars!

posted by Staci_HM on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan

I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan and own all his books. This story is more or less a slap in the face to Christians. Werewolves and other stupid beings that are supposedly part of the Bible? Lazarus a blood eating creature, James go back ...
I am very disappointed in this book, Have been James Rollins fan and own all his books. This story is more or less a slap in the face to Christians. Werewolves and other stupid beings that are supposedly part of the Bible? Lazarus a blood eating creature, James go back to the type of writing that made you famous, you also do not need a partner to write a great book.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Never been a fan of vampire novels but still decided to give thi

    Never been a fan of vampire novels but still decided to give this one a try and it turned out to be better than I expected. I still prefer the Sigma series though. I just hope he finishes this in 2 novels and get back to writing about Gray, Seichan, painter, etc.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Not the typical Rollins Story

    SO much female feelings in this book, makes me wonder how much involvement Rollins really had in it's creation. Vampires ... really in a Rollins novel? Not as good a story as in previous novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    A Great Story!

    The story line for this one is one of Rollins' best. Having said that, I found that the romance part of this book for the first 250 pages grew very tiresome. Continue on, though, and it's fast paced and worth the endurance at the end! Would definitely recommend for Rollins fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I'm a real fan of Rollins' Sigma books, so I picked this book up

    I'm a real fan of Rollins' Sigma books, so I picked this book up without giving it much thought.  The involvement of vampire like creatures, which is not really my thing, made it a bit difficult for me to get into this story.  For this kind of book, I did believe it had some very interesting parts.  It revolves a lot around the Catholic Church traditions, saints, faith, and history.




    Beginning with an earthquake at Masada, Israel, a bomb and strange sacrificial remains are found below the mountain.  This space is also occupied by some undead creatures.  Some are evil and some have salvation from the blood of Christ.  They are all searching for the Blood Gospel, supposedly written by Christ himself, which will supposedly reveal magic powers to whomever finds and opens it up.




    Sent by the Vatican, three chosen ones go in search of this book----a brilliant but disillusioned woman archeologist, a military forensic expert, and an undead Vatican Priest.  Of course their search is hindered by those evil ones who want the book for themselves.  Among the undead, is Rasputin in Russia, who blames the Vatican for not caring about the hoards of children who were left to die during the siege of Leningrad. I found these sections connected with history to be some of the most interesting parts.




    This is the first in the Sanguine Series.  The Sanguines being a Vatican sect that was rumored to start in Biblical days, and whose start was depicted in a Rembrandt painting.  Now that I've finished this first book, I do feel driven to continue on with this series to see what happens next.  I think in the long run, I will really like, or really dislike this series.  Sometimes it is hard to read a different kind of a book by an author whose writings you already adore!!




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Loves to read

    I'm giving this book three stars because I like James Rollins as an author. But I won't read anymore of this series, because I don't like vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    It was a great read and the authors have done a great job of kee

    It was a great read and the authors have done a great job of keeping me all sweaty with anticipation for the next installment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed the book. Lot of action and suspence. However, the ending left a little to be desired as it was not to my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    First James rollins

    It was pretty good. I like the story line and the supernatural background. What's the next installment?!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Interesting enough.

    Interesting, fast-paced story line, however, I feel no connection to the characters and therefore will probably not read the rest of the series. Just not on board with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Better written than True Blood...

    Better written than True Blood, with some interesting history of religion. Left open for the next book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommended

    Not as exciting as James Rollins' other books....a clever attempt to
    get on the "vampire" band wagon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Somewhat recommend

    A little far fetched and out there for my taste. Much prefer his own writing and his Sigma Force series. Can't wait for the next book in that series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    not as good as the other rollins books i have read mc

    Mc

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2