Customer Reviews for

The Blood Gospel: The Order of the Sanguines Series

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Must Read for 2013 ¿ An instant favorite! James Rollins and Reb

Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, T...
Must Read for 2013 – An instant favorite!

James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have created an exceptional tale that delivers an explosive combination of history, theology, and mystery mixed with a delightful dose of passion and the paranormal in the recently released, The Blood Gospel.

This novel introduces a team of warrior, academic, and priest – an unlikely triad who forge a bond that ultimately could save the world. A modern day warrior who has loved and lost and might love again, a brilliant archeologist with deep emotional scars from a troubled religious upbringing, and a priest who is unlike any priest our world has ever known - they are bound together perchance by prophecy to locate the original gospel penned by Christ’s own hand.

Revealing any details from this thriller would be a sin. It is a must read and has earned a prominent spot on my bookshelf of all time favorites. The collaboration of Rollins and Cantrell is a success and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment of the The Order of the Sanguines series. 5 Stars!

posted by Staci_HM on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writi

Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in g...
Someone else wrote this in their review -- "While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!"

I could not agree more. This is a very different style for Rollins and I am very disappointed. I agree it was well written, but I really hope he is not going in this direction. I am not big on this vampire/werewolves story line. Plus, I can definitely tell a woman had a hand in this book. Way too much touchy, feel-y harlequin romance junk. UGH And I am a woman. I have always been an action/adventure/espionage lover. And I always will be.

Rollins, please.....we need more Sigma Force novels!! No more of this Cantrell crap.

posted by Tough_Gal on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined

    While the writing is excellent, the history/fantasy is combined well I didn't really enjoy the book. After being a die-hard Rollins fan this is really a departure. I hope this is not a reflection of where his writing in going for the future. Sigma Rules!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish. One of those books you w

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish. One of those books you want to keep plowing through to see what happens but at the same time want to slow down and enjoy the ride. My love affair with Rhun Korza, Erin Granger, and Jordan Stone has begun. I can only hope that James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell have started to write book #2.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great read!

    A really enjoyable read based in fact. It is a "never put down" book! It would be a heck of a movie! What a ride!,

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Canned and formulaic

    This thriller will bring you along for the ride, but it is so canned and formulaic that you can't help looking over your shoulder the whole way wondering if the author is having a good laugh at how gullible american readers are. Throw in a little DaVinci code, a little Twilight, mix it up and you've got a book.... I read it straight through but then felt kind of duped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly entertaining - fast read, will definitely follow the next in the series

    Highly entertaining - fast read, will definitely follow the next in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed the story. This is the first book I've read wri

    I really enjoyed the story. This is the first book I've read written by Rollins so I didn't have any preconceived notions or expectations.  There's an interesting blend of history, religion, disbelief, faith, and the supernatural.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Good Read

    Not exactly what i expected but a good fun read none the less. Will definitely continue reading the series as they come out. And now may look into the authors individually.
    Would make a pretty good movie also....Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    I couldn't put it down and finished it in three days!   I can't

    I couldn't put it down and finished it in three days!  
    I can't wait for the next novel in the series!
    One of Rollins best novels, he found a new fan in me!
    I want to run out and buy up all his novels I've yet to read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I can't wait for the next one, really enjoyed the characters. Fo

    I can't wait for the next one, really enjoyed the characters. Found both them and the storyline intriguing. Unlike some of the reviewers I don't have a problem with an author doing different story lines. I love the Sigma Series as well and can't wait for the next one to come out either. There is more than one flavor of ice cream out there folks, try them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Solid book

    Fast paced world travelling book in the vein of the sigma force style with hints of his james clements alter ego

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    An interesting mix of characters and religious myth, along with

    An interesting mix of characters and religious myth, along with  good and bad vampires. I'm looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    Im a big sigma force fan and will be for this new sanguines series too! True, its not his usual but it just goes to show that he's not a one trick pony. This book was a great read, couldnt put it down, cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book ended with a lot of loose ends. It leaves me waiting fo

    The book ended with a lot of loose ends. It leaves me waiting for the next volume to continue the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Fabulous Read!

    Great book to curl up with during a cold winter night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Love James Rollins. So I was very excited to read this book. Af

    Love James Rollins. So I was very excited to read this book. After reading a few pages, I was hooked. Was not too sure if I would like the vampire twist, but it was tied into the story really well. Never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    You won't be able to put it down!

    This book wasn't what I expected, but was very intriguing. I couldn't put it down and stayed up late for three nights to finish it. Fans of Dan Brown will likely enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I to am a JR fan and have read all of the Sigma books and well a

    I to am a JR fan and have read all of the Sigma books and well as some others.This departure did not disappoint though. To the person who says it's a slap in the face to Christians, I disagree. I'm a cradle cristian and not offended in the least. This book is work of fiction people and very well done. Kudos to James Rollins for inviting RC to collaborate on his work. I would recommend this without reservation and look forward to other any other adventures the three main characters might have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I appreciate the different direction that Rollins took with this

    I appreciate the different direction that Rollins took with this book. It is different than the Sigma books by taking more of a turn to the supernatural. I'm also Christian and don't find it offensive, it's a fiction book and entertaining. If you don't like supernatural elements, then you may not like this book. It is an interesting shift for him and I am very eager for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great thriller

    I read the .99 daily special collaboration between Rollins and Cantrell, so had to give this book a try. I love the way James Rollins weaves historic references and twists throughout his novels, and this collaboration with Rebecca Cantrell is no different. There are surprises throughout. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3