Customer Reviews for

The Blood Sugar Solution: The UltraHealthy Program for Losing Weight, Preventing Disease, and Feeling Great Now!

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

An Interesting Look

This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesi...
This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesity. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

posted by LibrarianNicoleTilford on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Update - Missing pages are publishing error and NOT unique to my Nook.

Called customer service. They replicated the problem on their own Nook and will contact the publisher. It will take a minimum of 7 - 10m days before the problem is fixed. They offered a refund so I could then drive accross town and pay twice as much in store for the har...
Called customer service. They replicated the problem on their own Nook and will contact the publisher. It will take a minimum of 7 - 10m days before the problem is fixed. They offered a refund so I could then drive accross town and pay twice as much in store for the hardcover version. OR I can call them periodically to see if it has been fixed. OR I can periodically 'archive' and then 'unarchive' the book to check if the problem has been resolved.
I have no confidence that the page skipping issue will even be addressed with the publisher. I raised the issue with the CSR but the only 'ticket' that got written to the publisher was to address the missing pages. The only reliable way I found to deal with the page skipping was to page ahead and then page back to view the second half of the previous page. I assume that changing the font so that pages were not halved might also address this.
My recommendation: Unless you prefer to buy your books either with page sections razored out or glued together in chunks I would suggest purchasing the hardcover until this issue is resolved. Buyer beware.

posted by 9350418 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting Look

    This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesity. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

    87 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great resource and wealth of information for anyone whatever their lifestyle.

    First and foremost, don't let the title of this book fool you. You don't need to be a diabetic to benefit from the information Dr. Hyman provides in this book. Anyone who is looking to change their unhealthy eating habits will benefit from reading The Blood Sugar Solution.

    Not sure if you have unhealthy eating habits? I can promise you will be surprised by all the eye opening information in this book. I thought I already knew everything there was to know about sustaining a healthy lifestyle, so I was really shocked by a lot of the information in this book.

    This book was certainly an eye opening experience. Reading the chapter on inflammation alone, brought to mind certain family members and friends that would really benefit from knowing this information. I learned many things in this book that I have implemented in my own life which are helping me feel and look better.

    I recommend this book to anyone, and not just those trying to lose weight. This book will change the way you look at your food. It gives you the tools and advice that are life changing. With this same information, Dr. Hyman has helped hundreds of people reverse their illness and get off of medication for good. It sounds hard to believe but Dr Hyman is a medical prodigy and one of just a few doctors in the medical field right now who are not following the norm and are actually out to truly help people get off of prescription drugs by implementing a system that truly works.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I purchased this book to read not just for myself but to also he

    I purchased this book to read not just for myself but to also help a friend of mine who has diabetes. I found it to be a wealth of good solid advice and guidelines. I found the quizzes Dr Hyman includes to be very beneficial for me in helping me to pinpoint any potential problems I might be facing. He takes medical information which is very complicated and puts it into laymans terms. I would recommend it to anyone who is concerned about this epidemic in our country. I lost my husband 2 years ago to complications from being diabetic. I watched him suffer tremendously because of this disease. It is nothing to mess around with and I applaud Dr Hyman for taking this on. I also love the way Dr Hyman treats the whole person, digging deeper to find the causes and not just treating the symptoms. Thank you Dr Hyman! Excellent Book!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    There is a flaw in the food plan. If you are poor, you won't be

    There is a flaw in the food plan. If you are poor, you won't be able to follow the plan. There is no way I can afford a food processor nor 
    have I ever heard of many of the spices and foods recommended. This food plan is not for people with a fixed social security income. 
    If you have a decent income, then go for it. But be prepared to pay upwards of $300 for vitamins and  such items. I would have to choose
    between having a place to live and feeling better. I'm choosing to keep a roof over my head and will try and find a less costly plan to 
    follow as I do want to feel better. 

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reduce your health risks - and your waistline!

    Review:

    According to Dr. Mark Hyman, Diabesity (diabetes + obesity) occurs when mild to severe cases of diabetes / insulin resistance are triggered by unhealthy eating habits, lack of exercise, and obesity; three out of four Americans are obese/overweight, and one out of two Americans is prediabetic or diabetic. These numbers should scare people, but the problem continues to grow exponentially, increasing along with America's waistline. I admit, I am far from being "in-shape" - I don't go out of my way to do thirty minutes of exercise a day, I indulge in the occasional calorie-filled treat, and although diabetes, heart disease, cancer, dementia, and Alzheimer's run rampant throughout my family history, I often ignore my better judgement's call to be more proactive. That being said, this book could not have come to me at a better time. At fist glance this book does seem imposing - 448 pages with leafy greens on the cover - ugh... but once I started reading, I was intrigued by the overall set-up and non-mechanical tone. The author does an excellent job setting the stage for the reader with an introduction concerning "the American diet" as well as the science behind it. I really enjoyed the more science-based sections, but I do think that they were more drawn out than they should have been, especially since not everyone has a science background. The self-diagnosing quizzes were kind of fun, and I liked how they solidified Hyman's main points and allowed me to delve deeper into my own health issues; though they did seem to get less interesting by quiz eleven. Some of the material was typical of modern diet books, but it was presented differently than most. The flow of the entire plan was nice, allowing for some "stretch", even though there were some aspects of the plan that required more energy, (and funds). By the time I made it through the book, I had a whole new grasp on a healthy relationship with food and exercise; one that wouldn't have me groaning about sit-ups and carrot sticks. I really liked the addition of the two weeks of recipes and the well-planned diet/exercise regimen, which I have started and hope to continue throughout the year. Starting a new "diet" can be tough, and motivation can deplete pretty quickly, but Mark Hyman makes sure that his readers feel supported. There are several websites, videos, chat-rooms, newsletters, and other forms of support detailed in the book that make it easier to stay on track. The author genuinely cares about the readers' health, and his knowledge of the subject is evident, but not perceived as overly superior. Very insightful and disciplined plan, full of strategies to reduce your health risks - and your waistline.

    Rating: On the Run (4.5/5)

    *** I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Diabesity? What is that and what does that mean for you? Are we

    Diabesity? What is that and what does that mean for you? Are we eating our way to sickness?

    Diabesity is the newest term that combines diabetes and obesity and shows the new trend the world is heading to regarding our eating habits and lifestyle choices that will literally be killing us. This term refers to the continuum of health problems ranging from mild insulin resistance and overweight to obesity and diabetes, is the single biggest global threat of our time. It is the leading causes of heart disease, dementia, cancer, and premature death in the world and is almost entirely caused by environmental and lifestyle factors. This means that is is almost 100 percent preventable and curable. The interesting fact is that in the year 2020, 1 in 2 American's affected, 90 percent of who will not be diagnosed.

    Gaining just 11-16 pounds doubles the risk of type 2 diabetes, while gaining 17-24 pounds triples the risk. We are becoming the United States of Diabetes. But there is great news, there is a solution available, one that is accessible and scalable, one that is available to everyone and prevents, treats, and reverses diabesity at a fraction of the cost. The book, Blood Sugar Solution by Mark Hyman, M.D., provides the solution for individuals, communities, and nations and each of us has the power to transform this problem.

    In this book, Dr. Hyman introduces the reader to understanding the new epidemic across the globe, and why our current approaches to the problem don't work. He dispels the medical myths that prevent us from effectively addressing the epidemic such as type 2 diabetes is not reversible. He explores new research on the biology of food addiction and why food cravings and overeating are not your fault. He explores how Big Food, Big Farming and Big Pharma fuel the epidemic of obesity, diabetes, and chronic disease across the blog and explains what we collectively can do about it.

    He teaches you the Seven Steps to Treating Diabesity by finding out which problems you have through quizzes and personalizing your approach toward healing. You will also learn how to prepare your mind, body and kitchen for the six week program which is a practical six-step, six-week program you can do on your own or with your health care provider. He also discusses the environmental toxins we expose our bodies to and how to reduce our exposure.

    I received The Blood Sugar Solution by Mark Hyman, M.D. compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review. I've always been a huge believer in natural foods and eliminating the exposure to environmental toxins and ingredients because I believe we are eating our way to sickness if we don't. This is a great resource to formulate a plan to get healthy, learn what is making you sick and take control of your health again. I will plan on using the information in this book to help me and my family make smarter choices when it comes to eating, cleaning and staying fit in order to live longer lives. I would easily rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and think it's a perfect resource for anyone looking to get back to a healthier version of you!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Love Dr. Hyman's books. Very simple to read and understand. Amazing information. There are diets to follow at the end and all sorts of instructions. It's all based on eating right. That way you can reverse all chronic illnesses.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Great information

    I have only just started reading this book and have found it very interesting. I highly recommend this book if you are diabetic and fighting a weight issue

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I'm a type 2 diabetic, so I should be the target audience of thi

    I'm a type 2 diabetic, so I should be the target audience of this book. I started it, but couldn't abide Hyman's self-pride that gushes from the book. I finally put it in the book trade box without finishing it. I would love to see a “Cliff Notes” version with ;just the diet advice and none of the self-promotion. For me the book was a waste of money!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Average recommended

    Difficult to get into. Have to read through the rhetoric to get to the point. Sorry, I love to read, but this one is a doozy so far. I can put it down and walk away for days.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Life Changing!!

    This is an amazing book.....so much information! I will never go back to the way I was eating. Thank you Dr. Hyman!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great information.

    I found this book to be full of information that I have been using. I say get it to those watching their blood sugar numbers. Mine are down! Yippy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great book!

    Great information for anyone looking for a natural way to beat "diabesity"! I highly recomemd this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Very informative

    My cardiologist recommended that I read this when he learned I am at risk of developing diabetes. He told me that it has helped several of his patients. He also warned me that the author is a supplement pusher. I started reading it that night, and he was right. He recommends all kinds of vitamins and supplements be added to a diet. In his cookbook, many of these supplements are added to the recipes, but finding them was difficult, and very expensive. When I realized what they were (they're found in the vitamin aisle) I skipped buying them because they were very expensive. Another thing he recommends is to take anything with preservatives, sugar of any kind, additives, etc. out of your kitchen and throw them away. I didn't do that either, as it seems a great waste of perfectly good food that the rest of my family could eat. I would recommend this book to learn how to eat better and avoid high carb and junk foods.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    The doctor provides leading edge research as the basis for the b

    The doctor provides leading edge research as the basis for the book, the list of studies is pretty impressive. This is very important. However, another reviewer mentioned difficulty in accessing or affording the suggested food. I think this is a real issue for many people even if they want to eat better, they have limited funds to do so. What we eat matters. The QUALITY of what we eat is just as important. Many of us have to choose between eating well and paying bills. I would also state that the information provided is research-based, despite other reviewers claims.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very clear, concise book explaining all about the importance of getting your blood sugar levels in check. I am going to start the diet in a couple days but Dr. Hyman has written an easy-to-read guide for an excellent diet plan, vitamin regimen. This book is packed with great information to get healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good information

    I bought this book the day my husband was diagnosed borderline diabetic. It really helped ease my fears. Gives great info on medications and diet. Especially compelling to make some changes as to avoid going on insulin.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Good information!

    Filled with lots of good info a must for diabetics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    One of the best I've read on helath in general.

    I found this book to be extremely informative, easy to read and very motivating. I highly recommend it. Even if you don't have elevated blood sugar levels, you will benefit form reading this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Consider the source.  Review this author's other books and decid

    Consider the source.  Review this author's other books and decide for yourself if this offers new information or is just a regurgitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5