Customer Reviews for

The Blood Sugar Solution: The UltraHealthy Program for Losing Weight, Preventing Disease, and Feeling Great Now!

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

An Interesting Look

This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesi...
This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesity. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

posted by LibrarianNicoleTilford on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Update - Missing pages are publishing error and NOT unique to my Nook.

Called customer service. They replicated the problem on their own Nook and will contact the publisher. It will take a minimum of 7 - 10m days before the problem is fixed. They offered a refund so I could then drive accross town and pay twice as much in store for the har...
Called customer service. They replicated the problem on their own Nook and will contact the publisher. It will take a minimum of 7 - 10m days before the problem is fixed. They offered a refund so I could then drive accross town and pay twice as much in store for the hardcover version. OR I can call them periodically to see if it has been fixed. OR I can periodically 'archive' and then 'unarchive' the book to check if the problem has been resolved.
I have no confidence that the page skipping issue will even be addressed with the publisher. I raised the issue with the CSR but the only 'ticket' that got written to the publisher was to address the missing pages. The only reliable way I found to deal with the page skipping was to page ahead and then page back to view the second half of the previous page. I assume that changing the font so that pages were not halved might also address this.
My recommendation: Unless you prefer to buy your books either with page sections razored out or glued together in chunks I would suggest purchasing the hardcover until this issue is resolved. Buyer beware.

posted by 9350418 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting Look

    This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor when it comes to sugar levels, diet, and obesity. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

    87 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reduce your health risks - and your waistline!

    Review:

    According to Dr. Mark Hyman, Diabesity (diabetes + obesity) occurs when mild to severe cases of diabetes / insulin resistance are triggered by unhealthy eating habits, lack of exercise, and obesity; three out of four Americans are obese/overweight, and one out of two Americans is prediabetic or diabetic. These numbers should scare people, but the problem continues to grow exponentially, increasing along with America's waistline. I admit, I am far from being "in-shape" - I don't go out of my way to do thirty minutes of exercise a day, I indulge in the occasional calorie-filled treat, and although diabetes, heart disease, cancer, dementia, and Alzheimer's run rampant throughout my family history, I often ignore my better judgement's call to be more proactive. That being said, this book could not have come to me at a better time. At fist glance this book does seem imposing - 448 pages with leafy greens on the cover - ugh... but once I started reading, I was intrigued by the overall set-up and non-mechanical tone. The author does an excellent job setting the stage for the reader with an introduction concerning "the American diet" as well as the science behind it. I really enjoyed the more science-based sections, but I do think that they were more drawn out than they should have been, especially since not everyone has a science background. The self-diagnosing quizzes were kind of fun, and I liked how they solidified Hyman's main points and allowed me to delve deeper into my own health issues; though they did seem to get less interesting by quiz eleven. Some of the material was typical of modern diet books, but it was presented differently than most. The flow of the entire plan was nice, allowing for some "stretch", even though there were some aspects of the plan that required more energy, (and funds). By the time I made it through the book, I had a whole new grasp on a healthy relationship with food and exercise; one that wouldn't have me groaning about sit-ups and carrot sticks. I really liked the addition of the two weeks of recipes and the well-planned diet/exercise regimen, which I have started and hope to continue throughout the year. Starting a new "diet" can be tough, and motivation can deplete pretty quickly, but Mark Hyman makes sure that his readers feel supported. There are several websites, videos, chat-rooms, newsletters, and other forms of support detailed in the book that make it easier to stay on track. The author genuinely cares about the readers' health, and his knowledge of the subject is evident, but not perceived as overly superior. Very insightful and disciplined plan, full of strategies to reduce your health risks - and your waistline.

    Rating: On the Run (4.5/5)

    *** I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Great information

    I have only just started reading this book and have found it very interesting. I highly recommend this book if you are diabetic and fighting a weight issue

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great information.

    I found this book to be full of information that I have been using. I say get it to those watching their blood sugar numbers. Mine are down! Yippy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Very informative

    My cardiologist recommended that I read this when he learned I am at risk of developing diabetes. He told me that it has helped several of his patients. He also warned me that the author is a supplement pusher. I started reading it that night, and he was right. He recommends all kinds of vitamins and supplements be added to a diet. In his cookbook, many of these supplements are added to the recipes, but finding them was difficult, and very expensive. When I realized what they were (they're found in the vitamin aisle) I skipped buying them because they were very expensive. Another thing he recommends is to take anything with preservatives, sugar of any kind, additives, etc. out of your kitchen and throw them away. I didn't do that either, as it seems a great waste of perfectly good food that the rest of my family could eat. I would recommend this book to learn how to eat better and avoid high carb and junk foods.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    The doctor provides leading edge research as the basis for the b

    The doctor provides leading edge research as the basis for the book, the list of studies is pretty impressive. This is very important. However, another reviewer mentioned difficulty in accessing or affording the suggested food. I think this is a real issue for many people even if they want to eat better, they have limited funds to do so. What we eat matters. The QUALITY of what we eat is just as important. Many of us have to choose between eating well and paying bills. I would also state that the information provided is research-based, despite other reviewers claims.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good information

    I bought this book the day my husband was diagnosed borderline diabetic. It really helped ease my fears. Gives great info on medications and diet. Especially compelling to make some changes as to avoid going on insulin.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Good information!

    Filled with lots of good info a must for diabetics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Nightmsare

    "Yes." She nodded. Gtg! Dinner!"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Nightclaw

    Midnightkit: Glittershine and i really want you back home please think. This is an evil clan. They attack clans for no reason at all plz come home

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Night

    Whats wrong?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Hellstorm

    Padded in

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Darkness

    His spirit floats in, blown by the breeze. "Thanks guys, you dont know how much it means. Ill stop in whn i can. Once a week or so. Have fun, and remember, No Mercy, let the Evil Within guide youm"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2