Customer Reviews for

The Blood Sugar Solution 10-Day Detox Diet: Activate Your Body's Natural Ability to Burn Fat and Lose Weight Fast

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The wait is over! In ¿The 10-Day Detox Diet," Dr. Hyman off

The wait is over! In “The 10-Day Detox Diet," Dr. Hyman offers a very detailed, yet realistic plan to kick your addiction to sugar, artificial sweeteners and other harmful foods and get on the path to the weight loss and better health. I have been a novice when it ...
The wait is over! In “The 10-Day Detox Diet," Dr. Hyman offers a very detailed, yet realistic plan to kick your addiction to sugar, artificial sweeteners and other harmful foods and get on the path to the weight loss and better health. I have been a novice when it comes to losing weight and eating healthier until I read another great book called “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution.” I first learned about here on Barnes and Nobles from other reviews and gave it a try because I wasn’t just looking to lose weight temporarily. “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution” was promising a life style change and it delivered that and then some.
Since then, I have been on a quest to improve my overall eating habits. “The 10-Day Detox Diet," begins with a solid description of the science behind addictive eating, and an explanation of how sugar, in particular, causes weight gain. If you haven't read Dr. Hyman's previous book, you can probably get away with just reading the summary in this book. I recently saw his special on my local PBS channel. It is a free public broadcast and the program was quite informative. It pushed me to want to read this book.
In this book, Dr. Hyman provides a general approach is to completely eliminate harmful foods, including: anything containing sugar, gluten and all grains, all dairy (milk) products, beans or legumes, processed or refined foods or oils, alcohol, caffeine, any other non-prescribed stimulants of sedatives.  For some people, this might be a struggle because of our addiction to these foods, but given a chance, this book might prove to be very useful. 
Overall, I’d recommend that you buy it. For me, it has been a wave of information. But, I would suggest that you read the sample and see for yourself before you buy it.  Also, take a minute to read the sample of “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution.” I’d wholeheartedly recommend that you buy both books if you can.  As one review said, buy one book and get the other from your local library. Anything that works! By the way, good luck. 

posted by BornToRead75 on February 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

save your money

Don't bother with this book. Basically he says not to eat grains, sweeteners, including artificial ones, or dairy. There are just a few diet menus. They mainly consist of a non-dairy vegetable smoothie for breakfast and chicken or fish with more vegetables for lunch ...
Don't bother with this book. Basically he says not to eat grains, sweeteners, including artificial ones, or dairy. There are just a few diet menus. They mainly consist of a non-dairy vegetable smoothie for breakfast and chicken or fish with more vegetables for lunch and dinner. He does go into a lot of detail about sugar and insulin resistance, which may be interesting to some readers. And he says to avoid dairy because some people have unrecognized food allergies.

posted by NancySOK on March 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    The wait is over! In ¿The 10-Day Detox Diet," Dr. Hyman off

    The wait is over! In “The 10-Day Detox Diet," Dr. Hyman offers a very detailed, yet realistic plan to kick your addiction to sugar, artificial sweeteners and other harmful foods and get on the path to the weight loss and better health. I have been a novice when it comes to losing weight and eating healthier until I read another great book called “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution.” I first learned about here on Barnes and Nobles from other reviews and gave it a try because I wasn’t just looking to lose weight temporarily. “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution” was promising a life style change and it delivered that and then some.
    Since then, I have been on a quest to improve my overall eating habits. “The 10-Day Detox Diet," begins with a solid description of the science behind addictive eating, and an explanation of how sugar, in particular, causes weight gain. If you haven't read Dr. Hyman's previous book, you can probably get away with just reading the summary in this book. I recently saw his special on my local PBS channel. It is a free public broadcast and the program was quite informative. It pushed me to want to read this book.
    In this book, Dr. Hyman provides a general approach is to completely eliminate harmful foods, including: anything containing sugar, gluten and all grains, all dairy (milk) products, beans or legumes, processed or refined foods or oils, alcohol, caffeine, any other non-prescribed stimulants of sedatives.  For some people, this might be a struggle because of our addiction to these foods, but given a chance, this book might prove to be very useful. 
    Overall, I’d recommend that you buy it. For me, it has been a wave of information. But, I would suggest that you read the sample and see for yourself before you buy it.  Also, take a minute to read the sample of “The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution.” I’d wholeheartedly recommend that you buy both books if you can.  As one review said, buy one book and get the other from your local library. Anything that works! By the way, good luck. 

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I won't lie to anyone, I am on day 8 with this 10 day detox and

    I won't lie to anyone, I am on day 8 with this 10 day detox and the first three days were hard. I just couldn't shake my addiction to sugar. I need it. Okay, I thought that I did. But, I am feeling so much better. My advice stick to the big picture. I also want to thank whoever recommended "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." This might be one of the best kept secrets on the planet. People are using it and nobody is talking about it. I found out that my daughter who has struggled with her weight since she was a kid has been using it for the last year. She dropped an amazing 38 pounds and we all noticed the difference at Christmas. I couldn't figure out why she was being so selective about what she ate. She said with "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution" you change your approach to how you eat and why. I also am already using her trick with the plate that she leaned in the book. Now I know. When I finish this book, I am starting that one.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Loved this Book. A must read for anyone trying to get healthier

    I read Dr. Hyman's book and followed the plan to the tee. I lost 6 lbs in 10 days eating real food, without ever feeling hungry. His book explains explicitly the reasons for his practices and what results you can expect and how to deal with any physical discomforts you may experience while detoxing. His recipes are amazing. I learned so much about how to prepare healthy, flavorful and satisfying meals while healing your mind and body. This is a must read for anyone battling with weight and elevated blood sugar issues.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend but tough to follow

    I agree with the principles of this book and did follow through on the detox plan but was unable to match it exactly. It is tough to have absolutely no carbs during the 10 days. However, I think it did a great job of making me realize how much sugar is in things you would not expect it to be in. I am also completely on water as my sole source of fluid just because everything else is so sweet tasting to me now. I encourage people to try this and reduce it by a few days if you can not completely do it but a few days really does help your system. My aching knees have improved and I do feel better all over. Also lost 10 pounds during the process.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    A must read for all over eaters

    Dr. Hyman makes a compelling case that sugar is at the heart of over eating for a lot of folks. And the inclusion of positive feedback from individuals who participated in early trials is very encouraging.

    By the time you reach the execution stage you're more then ready to start. However I found it difficult to gather all the right products that would support the meal plan for the first week. Now that we are several weeks into the new lifestyle we are using less than half of the book's recipes. And are starting to augment with other low sugar meals.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Very helpful information

    I understood the information and I tried very hard to do the Detox but I was not able. I have a family that will not eat anything on the diet so I had to make 2 meals. I could not clean my home of the foods my family had to have on hand. I did use what information I learned to at least cut down on the sugar in my diet. I will try to taper off the sugar in the foods I eat. The supplements were expensive and did not workout for me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Didn't work for me

    I did the 10-Day Detox pretty much by the book. Yes, I lost a few pounds, but not a single inch. The extra supplements are very expensive and some of them are hard to find. They also gave me stomach problems. The recipes ask for a lot of unusual ingredients (at least for me). Not ideal for a one-person household.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    save your money

    Don't bother with this book. Basically he says not to eat grains, sweeteners, including artificial ones, or dairy. There are just a few diet menus. They mainly consist of a non-dairy vegetable smoothie for breakfast and chicken or fish with more vegetables for lunch and dinner. He does go into a lot of detail about sugar and insulin resistance, which may be interesting to some readers. And he says to avoid dairy because some people have unrecognized food allergies.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    ?

    ?

    2 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    You follow it to the tee you will lose weight.  My whole family

    You follow it to the tee you will lose weight.  My whole family did.  My in-laws did.  I just read another review who had 3 stars because they craved sugar the second day.  REALLY!  Then all these anonymous 3 star reviews without any writing.  Barnes and Nobles shouldn't allow that.  Your stomach will go down incredibly if you follow this.  I swear by it.  My sister in law lost 55 pounds!  I did it only up to 20 days but she kept it going and I'm the health freak.  She was super overweight.
    You will notice the difference by the 3rd day..big time!  Buy this, you won't regret it.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    It works!

    If you follow the 10 day plan you will loose the weight and your blood sugar level will come down! But the best part is you stop craving the sugar and carbs. You also stop wanting to snack all the time. After 2 full weeks on the program if you taste a piece of fruit you really taste the sweetness of it and it's true flavor. Whole foods are truly the way to a healthy lifestyle. This book is well written and easy to understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Owl place

    A large, messed up tree with an owl in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    I was very excited to try this plan. Day 2 I had to have sugar.

    I was very excited to try this plan. Day 2 I had to have sugar. My non fasting glucose was 68. I'm not a diabetic. While this book may work for some, it certainly did not for me. I was commited having bought all the supplements. Well my body was unable to absorb them and broke out in a rash. It's unclear in the book to know how large your portions should be based on your size. I'm female 5'6" around 143 pounds. I'm no whimp having lost over 100 pounds on Weight Watchers keeping it off over several years and was just looking to take off the 10+ pounds I've put on recently. I'd say if you're going to buy the book, make sure you don't pay the $28 like I did. It's just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Great book!

    Very informative and even has recipies for those who don't know how to cook. It expplains so much about how our bodies work and process sugar. I did the diet, but did not lose that much. I think I over did it with nuts. So be careful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Highly Recommended -- you must check it out!!

    Excellent read! Highly informative and easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Isn't this PALEO? I have not read the book but I watched the ent

    Isn't this PALEO? I have not read the book but I watched the entire PBS special with the same title, and with the exception of the APX or whatever it is you're supposed to mix with water and drink 15 minutes before each meal, it's basically the same as Paleo. Not that I have a problem with Paleo (I'm on it now), just call a duck a duck! haha OR at least give a shout out to the Paleo creators.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Waste of time.....rating should be 1/4 star.

    Blah, blah, blah. Words, words, words. Not the least bit interesting. Never again buy a Mark Hyman, MD book. Waste of money.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Stewart18@bn.com

    Afd me

    0 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2