Customer Reviews for

The Blossom Sisters

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Blossom Sisters by Fern Michaels What I like about this book

    The Blossom Sisters by Fern Michaels
    What I like about this book is it's about a male. He was married, and now she's taken everything from him in the divorce.
    He relies on his friend and he comes through for him many times over. He attempts to have his grandmother help him but she and his aunts want no part of him. He had chosen his wife over them.
    He has to prove himself now to them. Love the work they do at the farm and who the workers are-so refreshing to learn of their career choices.
    They do allow Gus to help them in their endeavor and he is on probation. Lots of lawyers and PI's and surveillance from both sides to see who will get what in the settlement.
    Lots of secrets up in the attic and things fall apart even more. Everything falls into place to solve the mysteries...
    Easy to keep track of the characters and I can't wait for another in the series so I can catch up with them further.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    This was an excellent book. It was an easy, fast read with unfor

    This was an excellent book. It was an easy, fast read with unforgettable caracters. I sure hope there will be a sequel. Fern Michaels always does an excellent job and this book proves her unending talent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Heart-Warming

    THE BLOSSOM SISTERS wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but it was a charming story that I enjoyed as it had me laughing at times. Narrator Jeff Crawford does a wonderful job of bringing the various characters to life, including Wilson. His interruption of the emotions draws the listener in. Gus Hollister went against the advice of his grandmother Rose, his Aunts Iris and Violet, and everyone else to marry Elaine. Now he’s paying dearly for it. Elaine has taken the house, his car and is filing for divorce. The only thing she gave him was his clothes and his dog, Wilson. Choosing the gold-digger over his family alienated him from those he loves and they aren’t ready to forgive him yet. Gus is determined to make amends with his grandmother and his aunts with the help of his best friend, Barney. Working to redeem himself in the eyes of his family, Gus becomes the man he should have been. Seeking forgiveness from his family for his mistakes, Gus also discovers new friendships he never expected and that there is true love. THE BLOSSOM SISTERS isn’t just a story about three elderly sisters like I thought it would be. It’s about family, friendship, loyalty, helping others, and finding peace with yourself. Author Fern Michaels has created zany, realistic characters you’d like to know in real life. The sisters are spirited and spunky. They aren’t seniors willing to give up on life or living. The friendship between Gus and Barney is the type we all hope for - friends forever through good and bad. Michaels even brings out the bond between man and his dog. In addition, she gives insight into being productive long after retirement age. The story moves at a steady pace with a few surprises and twists along the way. Michaels shows how someone can be more connected to a person they dislike than they realize. This is what I call a ‘feel-good’ story that will have you laughing at the antics of some of the characters. THE BLOSSOM SISTERS will warm you heart and give you a new perspective on a few things. FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    What a fun read!

    The story is delightful, with twists and turns and so many interesting characters. You will not be disappointed in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    The Blossom Sisters always get their man or woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    so.so

    kind of silly & different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    To blossomkit

    Really?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Would like a refund .....

    Loved the characters, ut Ms. Michaels left several plot lines hanging - #1 - No justice for Elaine's deeds; #2 - Jumped from Gus having dinner with his attorney to marrying her; #3 - No real explaination for Barney's disinterest in his business - very disappointed that these story lines were not developed for a more well rounded story. Sorry, Fern, you missed the "big yellow bus" on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I purchased this for my mother. She loved it - declaredit hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Reading - Funny and at the same time enlighting about the older generation

    Enjoyed it very much. Each character brings their own unique personality to light about the older generation and what they are still cable of doing and enjoying life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I would give this 0 stars.  It was incredibly bad writing.  The

    I would give this 0 stars.  It was incredibly bad writing.  The dialogue was so bad, I couldn't read this book.  Ridiculous plot, unrealistic characters, poor writing (how many times can you say "unring that bell?").  Please save your money.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    I have been reading Fern Michael's work for years and have alway

    I have been reading Fern Michael's work for years and have always enjoyed it. She never fails to write a wonderful story with delightfully compelling characters. The Blossom Sisters is another one of those books with a story that just reaches out and touches your heart. Ms. Michaels has a way of creating characters that our so heartfelt and yet so totally humorous all at the same time. I just love this woman's work and The Blossom Sisters is no exception. I love to be engrossed in a good book and find myself laughing with the characters.




    I absolutely adored Grandma Rose and the 2 aunts. Oh my goodness these women are full of spunk & sass and yet they are strong willed and independent. I would love to meet up with these ladies for tea. The project they have going on is just fabulous. It is such a boost to a bunch of people that need it. I loved their idea and how they were able to implement the whole thing pretty much on their.. I don't want to give to many details away here so I'll you read about their wonderful program.




    Gus was blinded by love (false love) and almost lost his family. Thankfully he quickly found out that his family mattered more to him then his wife that was trying to take him for everything he had and then some. I did not like his wife at all. She just isn't a nice person in anyway shape or form in my opinion. 




    I loved the aspect of the family relationships in this book. This wasn't the romance book that I thought it might be. There is some romance between Gus and his spunky Lawyer Jill. It takes them a while to hit it off but they sure are fun to read about while they are getting the right sparks firing. I loved Jill with her well put together attitude and the  soft side that she was hiding. Jill is one tough firecracker of a lady. 




    I also enjoyed the brotherhood relations between Barney and Gus. They are brothers in every way but blood. I don't think being blood brother could have made them any closer. This is a very special relationship that helps them both get through the rough spots in life. 




    Overall I really enjoyed this book even though it wasn't what I expected to begin with. Of course when I am reading a Fern Michaels' book I never know what story I'm going to get but there is a high chance that I'm going to enjoy it. And let me tell you I really did enjoy this story. If you are looking for a good book with a little mystery, drama, family bonding, and some romance thrown in the mix, I think you'll enjoy The Blossom Sisters.




    I believe this is a stand alone for now but I would be happy by a second book in the series to catch us up a little more. 




    I was lucky enough to get a copy of this book from Netgalley to be able to read and share my thoughts on. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    When I read the Overview on this book, I REALLY LIKED IT. So, I

    When I read the Overview on this book, I REALLY LIKED IT. So, I bought it. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY, NOT TO MENTION, TIME!!! I gave it a star because I liked some of the characters, and I liked the old people and what they were trying to do. But, the story was so "disjointed". For instance, Elaine goes out on a date with her lawyer, Isaac Diamond. Evidently, something terrible happens on the date, but we are not told what it is, only that, afterwards, she wants to kill him! I also did not like the WITCHCRAFT parts. As to Gus & Jill's relationship, the author takes us from first date to Wedding Day, with no development of the characters or their relationship. In the hands of a different author perhaps it would have been an average story. As it is, it's a very simplistic story, with likable characters, but no part is complete. It's like she had time or space restraints and just tied it all together at the end. A quick, but unsatisfying, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2