BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Body in the Piazza (Faith Fairchild Series #21)

Average Rating 3
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    slower read than earlier books in the series

    I've read all the Faith Fairchild series. This one was a little harder to get into. I thought there was more people backround than before. I found myself skipping many of the details about Italy and cooking to get to the plot of the mystery. It didn't become a real page turner until the last few chapters. I won't give up on the series. I just didn't feel this was one of the better books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Boring

    Between the Italian phrases and excerpts from literature this was difficult to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Very disappointing. Too much travelogue/food info and not enough

    Very disappointing. Too much travelogue/food info and not enough mystery.
    I had the audio version so I couldn't skip over the endless descriptions
    of food and countryside. Though very expressive, the narrator mispronounced so many
     culinary (and other) words, it became annoying to me. I love this series and I hope the next installment gets back on track.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Very slow-moving

    A 1st for me - a review prior to finishing the book. At the half-way point I am no longer impressed with all the Italian words, history and foods. I find myself craving some story substance. I've met many characters with, you guessed it, Italian names but know very little about any of them. Even the main characters are only superficially known. The "body in the piazza" was found many, many pages ago and was seemingly just a passing backseat incident which snuck into a story of Italian ways and places and menus. Having travelled in some of these same places, I find the descriptions given to be lacking in providing a good mind picture of the true Italian experience. It is a rare occasion for me to toss a book before finishing it and I will give this a few more chapters but, frankly, other than a few nicely put together sentences this is a little too slow-moving for me and does not tempt me to stay up past my bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Another great murder with food adventure!

    Faith and her husband, clergyman Tom,  after years of sermons for him, salads and sauces for her, and sporting events for their children, are finally able to get away by themselves for a relaxing and romantic second honeymoon in Italy.  Faith's former catering helper Francesca has opened an Italian cooking school in the hills of  Tuscany, and has asked Tom and Faith to be among her first guests.

    Naturally, the Fairchilds become embroiled in a murder mystery before they even get out of Rome to head for the hills.  As all of you who have read the series know, Faith can't leave this one alone, but unlike previous stories, the mystery really takes a back seat to the food and Italian scenery.  The recipes while not over-whelming in number are, as always, mouth-watering.  The characters are a rather eclectic assortment of odd-balls who don't always meld as a group. Faith has always known when NOT to try to solve something on her own, but during this story, I often wondered if she had forgotten all about the poor dead Freddie. It took her awhile, but Page finally managed to wrap everything up like a big fat well sauced <i>canneloni</i>.

    Overall, it's another delightful episode in the peripatetic career of Faith Fairchild, girl snoop.  The setting is one that makes the reader want to book a flight to Italy immediately.  If only Francesca's hostel were real and affordable.  In the meantime, we can drift away in a wonderful dream of what might be.

    Would definitely recommend for mystery fans who want some yumyumm without too much blood and gore. I'm not sure there's enough here in this one for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Absolutely loved it!

    Like all Faith Fairchild books, this one was lots of fun and a great read. Read one and you want to ready EVERYONE of Ms. Page's books about Faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Still a good series

    Katherine Hall Page keeps this series interesting with different locale and interesting stories. I often get tired/bored with a long series and abandon many after the first few books. This one has kept me coming back over the years. In addition to stories and recipes, I think I enjoy Ms. Page's thoughtful essays at the end of each book as much as anything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Fun read

    I always look forward to a new Katherine Hall Page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The particular pleasure of a Faith Fairchild novel is that it¿s


    The particular pleasure of a Faith Fairchild novel is that it’s like spending an afternoon or two with an old friend and The Body in the Piazza is no exception. In fact, I’d have to say that any quibble I have with this entry in the series has to do with the setting. Italy is certainly a good place to have a cooking-related mystery but I think I prefer Faith’s adventures in the village of Aleford, Massachusetts, or perhaps in the wider region of New England. Still, I can’t fault Ms. Page for wanting to take Faith to other places occasionally, especially when you consider that this is the 21st book in the series. If she stayed in Aleford all the time, she might be tainted with Cabot Cove Syndrome ;)

    So off Faith and Tom have gone, celebrating their anniversary with a trip to Italy and, while they’re at it, helping some old friends launch their culinary school in Tuscany. Before they get to Tuscany, though, they witness the death of a very different sort of man they’d just met. “Very different” turns out to be a term that they could easily apply to some of the other guests they find at Francesca and Gianni Rossi’s school, especially since a few of them seem to be completely out of place and, when suspicious things start happening, Faith can’t resist getting to the bottom of things, with more than a little help from Tom.

    Besides the characters I already knew, I found myself quite engaged with Olivia, a goth girl who really doesn’t seem to fit in, and with Roderick and Constance Nashe, even though these Brits are very aloof and unpleasant. I wanted to know more about these three just because they were so different and I’m happy to say the author satisfied my curiosity quite nicely.

    When all is said and done, The Body in the Piazza is what I consider a nice, comfortable read with a few surprises (although it wasn’t hard to figure things out) and some recipes, not to mention scrumptious descriptions of the food Francesca has the students make. I could have done with a little less travelogue and a little more puzzle but I’m still a fan of this traditional mystery series and probably always will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Not a mystery

    Too much description of all the surroundings The mystery felt lije an after thought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Disappointing. The actual story could have been told in about 3

    Disappointing. The actual story could have been told in about 30 pages with the rest just food talk filler. Maybe good if you are big time food snob. Not good otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Ms Page outdid herself this time! I've loved every book in this

    Ms Page outdid herself this time! I've loved every book in this series, but this one was outstanding. Besides the mystery, we are treated to Italian cooking (plus recipes) and wonderful but brief descriptions of Italy, city, countryside, restaurants and shops. The murder was cleverly incorporated into the story and I did not figure it out. Will it be two years before the next body book is published. Impatience here can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1